Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity by Stanford University

4.9
stars
2,564 ratings
888 reviews

About the Course

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top reviews

AP
Aug 11, 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

SS
Dec 8, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 881 Reviews for Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

By Navneet J

Jun 5, 2017

Awesome course!! Professor explained the concepts in a very simple manner and yet explained them in great details....

By Preeti M

Jun 29, 2021

T​he best Special Theory of Relativity classes I have ever attended. Very informative and easy to understand course.

By DMcAllister

Jul 23, 2020

The instructor for this class has a way of making the material very understandable and enjoyable. Excellent course!

By Natarajan D

Jul 21, 2017

one of the best courses I have attended. Have explained complex concepts well enough to understand and think about !

By lui l

Jul 15, 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. Very accessible,enjoyable and taught superbly. I can't recommend it enough.

By Tingna W

Aug 15, 2020

contents are interesting. the explanation is clear. really a good introduction on the special theory of relativity.

By Mark K

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent. With just a little bit of Algebra I now feel comfortable with Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity.

By Deleted A

Oct 5, 2017

Very good course and great teacher, he really does his best to make things easy to understand but still with humor.

By Yaron K

Apr 10, 2020

A step by step explanation of Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity from the basic concepts, with many examples.

By Jyoti C

Dec 21, 2017

This course is good enough but so lengthy content and sometimes is is difficult to recall and answer the question.

By Sakthi A

May 28, 2020

This is the best course I've seen , the professor teaches such a difficult in an understandable way!! Hats off...

By Roberto C

Aug 18, 2021

I warmly thank Prof. Larry Randles Lagerstrom for his exposition of the theory of relativity. Sincerely. Roberto

By Ezequiel M J

Mar 28, 2021

(BR) Um dos melhores cursos que eu fiz na minha vida!!! // (US) One of the best courses that I did in my life!!!

By Timothy S D

Aug 27, 2020

One of the best online courses I've ever taken! Loved it. Prof. Larry Randles Lagerstrom's lectures are awesome.

By Élyse L

Apr 3, 2018

Love this. Everything is so clear and extremely well organized, I like the fact that sheets are available to us.

By Pauline F

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you Professor Lagerstrom for the very interesting course on the Special and General Theory of Relativity!

By Taya P

Apr 9, 2020

Отличный курс! Я очень плаваю в физике и геометрии, но, приложив усилия, смогла осилить и понять каждый урок :)

By Tomaz K

Aug 20, 2019

Understandable for one with fair skills in mathematics and physics.

Simple explanation of non-intuitive reality.

By Andre D

Nov 10, 2017

A bit tedious sometimes but quite rewarding once completed, especially topics covered during last week (Week 8)

By Akash S

Dec 11, 2016

Amazing course! If you're looking to broaden you're knowledge in Physics then this course won't disappoint you.

By Matthew G

Aug 23, 2017

This course provides a clear and accessible introduction to a theory that can otherwise be difficult to grasp.

By Federica C

Dec 18, 2016

An interesting course, the special theory of relativity easy for anyone to understand and very well explained.

By Martha G

May 1, 2021

I was finally able to understand the special theory of Relativity. I am very happy to have taken this course.

By Ahad A

Apr 11, 2020

This course was great and I finally can understand the concepts of the special theory of relativity! Thanks!

By Shubham S D

Feb 25, 2018

Good material and great Tutors. Response from the moderators and mentors on discussion forum is very helpful