Chevron Left
Back to Electric Power Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Electric Power Systems by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
7,128 ratings

About the Course

This course familiarizes you with standards and policies of the electric utility industry, and provides you with basic vocabulary used in the business. It introduces the electric power system, from generation of the electricity all the way to the wall plug. You will learn about the segments of the system, and common components like power cables and transformers. This course is for individuals considering a career in the energy field (who have a high school diploma, at minimum, and basic knowledge of mathematics), and existing energy sector employees with less than three years of experience who have not completed similar training and would benefit from a course of foundational industry concepts. The course is a combination of online lectures, videos, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Energy Production, Distribution & Safety specialization that explores various facets of the power sector, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established, energy-related professional goal. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Yh9qIYiUDk....

Top reviews

RS

May 9, 2020

The course was very easily explained including all the minor details it's like a journey of powers system where you get to know about all the key elements required to have the knowledge in this field.

MM

Jan 17, 2020

What an Extraordinary Course, I really appreciate meeting with such a skilled professor and a tutor too.

Though his main focus was on the USA and quiz were mainly focusing on the USA not globally.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,766 Reviews for Electric Power Systems

By Siddhi R

Jun 14, 2020

really goof course. Very helpful for me as I want to pursue masters in power electronics. This course lay down the basic structure and general overview. Definately suggest for the beginners.

By Dr. K A J

Jun 3, 2020

Excellent really improved my knowledge in power system basics. Thanks for your opportunities given to teaching community and students. Thanks for offering free of cost and quality materials.

By Harshil K S

Jul 15, 2020

This Electrical power system course is very informative and helpful and very useful for the future... And I gain more knowledge about Power system ..So thank you so much for this course..

By Md. S S B

Jun 8, 2020

It helps me to know different sector and works of electricity. I think the students who wants to study in electrical engineering should do this course to know the basic of electricity.

By Jayesh s s

Jun 2, 2020

This Course is quite beneficial and easy to understand for students who are just starting and people who want to learn basic and have general information about electric power system.

By Ibrahim A

Mar 17, 2020

Very interesting course and I have enhanced my knowledge related to topics like Switch gear and protection system, Transmission lines, Transformers and very best topic is Smart Grid.

By MD. M R

May 26, 2020

This course provides basic idea about "Electrical Power Systems". Learning from coursera is interesting . This was my first course from coursera. I enjoyed this course very much .

By NAVEENTHEERTHAN S S

Apr 13, 2020

The faculty was good and the course was interesting as well offered a great amount of information on smart grids and the various protection stuff for the electrical power systems

By Vijay G

Nov 22, 2020

Thanks Coursera for creating this opportunity to study this course at free of cost with certificate. This helps a lot of who cannot afford to get thought by Prof. Ilya Grinberg.

By Reşat t

Jan 1, 2021

That was the my first experience about the certificate program.I am really grateful about that. Professor Ilya Grinberg did excellent job for the introduction to power systems.

By EnGR M

May 17, 2020

There always something you miss in the classes. But here there is the pause and redo option. The course has insights that can helped me get interest to go deep and understand.

By Rospopchuk M

Mar 30, 2020

This course provided a basic knowledge and general understanding of the generation, transmission and distribution of electricity. I find the course very useful for beginners.

By Sameera W

Jan 1, 2020

Got a great high level understanding of the electric grid. A slight improvement would be changing to metric units and give a more global perspective than limiting to US grid.

By Rehab a a h

Aug 3, 2020

Good course, it is exciting course. I have inquire how I can get the certificate because already I complete all the assignments and Just I want to print out the certificate

By SURIYA V

Jun 13, 2020

Thank you Mr.Ilya Grinberg for teaching me through this course journey, the instructor refreshed my knowledge in electrical systems, finally i enjoyed the smart grid topic.

By Neeraj K

Jun 25, 2020

It was worth learning this course

It gave me basic idea of how electrical energy is important.

i will recommend this to basic learners so they get basic idea of electricity.

By vikram k

Sep 19, 2020

it was great experience to learn basic of electrical energy power system and to be aware of new and smart technologies which are being adopted by many advanced countries

By Erdem C A

Dec 3, 2019

Statics and graphs could be updated and It should give information not only for USA but Europe as well. Overall Great course. I learned some much gain and info. Thanks

By Rio B S

Dec 28, 2022

in our experience, we suggest you enroll in electric power systems courses and gain some new skill from professionals completely free and we assure you will be worth it

By Orchi G

Aug 16, 2020

The road map to success part which is given in the end of the course is very informative and helpful. The key takeaways are very good as a summary of the whole course.

By Muhammad A J

Apr 16, 2020

its all wonderful course. I enjoyed it and learn many new things in this course. i want to suggest you please provide also animation and explained in detail. thank you

By Himanshu B

Jul 17, 2020

The course is great . It covers all the aspects of power system with an approach to give the practical idea. The side resources are also very informative and helpful.

By NISHANTHY J

Aug 19, 2020

Very useful course ...The professors are all taught lessons very motivative...I got many things.Thank you so much for gave encouraging me and for do some assignments

By Pavan P

Jul 6, 2020

Love the simplicity of the course. It is explained in a very detailed and statistical way. I wish there was more theory to the components of a substation. Thank You!

By MRS. S P

May 3, 2020

Thank you Professor for the wonderful lecture. starting from the basics of electricity to the current smart grid technology, the lecture videos are very informative.