Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
3,938 ratings
843 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

MA
Jul 27, 2020

It has been a fantastic journey of five weeks. The teaching style is excellent. I Will suggest every graduate student take this course to make a good understanding. Overall it is an excellent course.

PS
Jul 15, 2020

THE COURSE WAS VERY INTRESTING AND LIFETIME USEFULL STUFF BEING TOUGHT. TYANKS TO Dr. WHITEMAN he is really good explainer had a great experience and I'm sure gonna join more courses by Dr. WHITEMAN.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 834 Reviews for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

By MUTHYALA P G

May 28, 2020

Good

By Kalyan C A

May 12, 2020

good

By CHRISTY V V

Apr 29, 2020

Good

By Ramkumar V

Dec 24, 2019

good

By Mohamed S

Mar 6, 2019

GOOD

By Anubhav R

Feb 2, 2019

nice

By Jobing

Mar 25, 2018

very

By Harikrishnan

Dec 16, 2017

Good

By Jan N

Jul 14, 2017

good

By MANIVEL S

Jan 25, 2017

good

By M.PRAKASH

Nov 27, 2016

good

By D.E.Praven K

Oct 30, 2016

good

By David

Jul 23, 2016

讲得不错

By Dhanasekar S

May 17, 2016

Good

By 任智健

Dec 28, 2015

轻松易懂

By John M V

May 22, 2021

nc

By Rohan K

Jun 6, 2020

.

By Sujay C D

May 30, 2020

.

By Inna K

Sep 18, 2017

G

By subhendu k

May 29, 2017

t

By Cameron S

Oct 19, 2020

Thank you Dr. Whiteman! Each module was very methodical and easy to follow, in regard to each theory being laid out step by step. Having only GCSE level physics and AS level maths (and it being 4-5 years since then), I had to go away and re-look at SOH CAH TOA and Integrals; for me the method for finding a force that's at an angle to the x or y plane was glossed over a bit, especially as it became key later on, and ended up tripping me up more than once! The only other down-side was not having any answers to the questions in the Ruina/Pratap textbook, perhaps I just overlooked them? Apart from that, I really enjoyed the course, and would definitely recommend!

By Abdul

Jul 6, 2020

Great introduction to engineering mechanics. Dr. Whiteman does a tremendous job of teaching this course. He speaks with a clear voice and precise vocabulary. Great teacher. I think the course would benefit greatly from the addition of assigned readings and providing the answers to some or all practice problems (it would go a long way to reducing confusion and the number of questions in the discussion forum). Also i would prefer the suggested practice problems to be given with their corresponding module (it would help progressively cement the concepts learned). Thank you very much for providing this service! i throughly enjoyed taking this course.

By Ayooluwaposi D O

Jul 13, 2020

I feel for an "Introductory" course; it should be more introductory. There were moments in time where I was lost, and the lecturer just said: "by the laws of geometry, this will be this". Although I know the laws of geometry, I had no idea what he was talking about.

Above all, the course is really good. If you're having issues with mechanics of machines or any mechanical course and you want to touch upon the basics of engineering calculations, this is for you. I gained more exposure and understanding from this course.

By Garrett S

Sep 25, 2015

4.5, Not perfect, but very clear and consistent (I'm only in week 2 and this is my first coursera course) there are some topics that I feel need a little more clarification, but that is my only complaint. Perhaps it would be a good idea for the site to have a FAQ for each individual course. The Professor or course instructor, could answer these questions for future course sessions. Perhaps there's a reason this idea wouldn't work, but it would be nice to see from the student's perspective.

By Thomas P

Sep 25, 2015

Wayne comes across as very enthusiastic and likable. The course material is interesting.

It does feel like the course if artificially stretched out a bit too long, though. The material and exercises seem to get repetitive after week 3, when the pattern has been established to sum up all forces, and then to sum up all cross-products.

Nevertheless, this is an introductory course, so too much depth can not be expected. As an introduction, it was a great experience.