Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
3,572 ratings
773 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

MA
Jul 27, 2020

It has been a fantastic journey of five weeks. The teaching style is excellent. I Will suggest every graduate student take this course to make a good understanding. Overall it is an excellent course.

PS
Jul 15, 2020

THE COURSE WAS VERY INTRESTING AND LIFETIME USEFULL STUFF BEING TOUGHT. TYANKS TO Dr. WHITEMAN he is really good explainer had a great experience and I'm sure gonna join more courses by Dr. WHITEMAN.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 764 Reviews for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

By Priyanshu R

Jul 18, 2020

Dr. Wayne Whiteman Sir presented the topics in a very simplified way and it was very easy to understand. A well curated content with a great set of assignments and practice problems.

By Tanvir H R

May 7, 2020

this course provides you the fundamentals and knowledge you need to dive into the realm of mechanics. Also, the problems and books referred here are very standard and helpful

By Jack D

Nov 9, 2020

Practice problems need to be put into their own document rather than having this scroll through endless pages of a document where it is difficult to even find the problems.

By Zhao Z

Apr 15, 2020

The teacher may provide solution for practical exercise of the textbook, and explain more on basic concepts, (e.g. how to define tension and compression on diagram)

By Michael V

Sep 21, 2020

Well-expressed. Enthusiastic teaching. There could be more questions in the weekly assessments just to make sure that all/more areas are more broadly understood.

By Dhruv G

Nov 4, 2017

Nice Course, everything was taught practically and the mentor is very conveying. But there is much higher level of this in Indian Syllabus in first year.

By Benjamin S

Nov 2, 2015

Good overview of engineering statics. However, I wish the homework and/or practice problems were built into the coursera platform like the quizzes.

By abdul a

May 27, 2016

It is a good online courses. I like the way Mr. Whitney present to us, he is using a tools to show us the phenomenon. Overall I like this course!

By Manogna R

Sep 30, 2016

very good learnt a lot but , a small suggestion is that please work out even more problems it helps us strengthen concepts . Thank you

By Carlos V

Mar 4, 2018

great course to introduction to classical mechanics, statics. The online reference book is one of the best i read in this subject

By Edgar J P

Oct 28, 2016

It is a good course, however it is less demanding that the one I had in the second year of my engineering education in the 1950s.

By Kareem A

Mar 18, 2016

it was a great thing to refresh my knowledge and remember a lot of ways i had forget, thanks Dr.Wayne a lot, hope you the best

By Ellen K

Aug 11, 2017

Good overview of mechanical mathematics but I felt that some of the information could have been explained in a simpler way.

By Erik d Z

Sep 2, 2015

Very good course, even better if the homework exercises would be provided with the possibility to check your own answers.

By mohamed s

May 22, 2017

great effort i understand a lot of conceptual matters that i didn't know before it's a really mental satisfaction

By 一峰 谢

Nov 2, 2020

This is a very good beginning course. The textbook provides more content and deserves a detail reading.

By BOYA R B

May 30, 2020

the whole course was awesome. the assignments questions were tricky. but i seemed to love solving them.

By Mohamed ُ

Jun 27, 2020

the content is very useful and the explanation is magnificent but the volume of sound need to higher

By Fares E S Q

Aug 23, 2017

This course really helped me understand the concepts of Statics and improved my understanding of it,

By V R

May 31, 2020

The way explanation is really good and very useful to learn new techniques in solving the problems

By AJAY C

Jul 25, 2020

I liked the concepts used, easy to understand and learn. Looking further to learn more. Thank You!

By Moulasaheb M

Sep 30, 2019

The course is good but the number of trails is really less and time of each attempt is really bad

By Jeetu B

Aug 26, 2019

i learnt beautiful aspects of the subject and the way of teaching was awesome to a next level.

By Jack D

Sep 11, 2015

Hard work but very well explained, lots of exercises and good content from a great university.

By KALIMUTHU M

May 30, 2020

Hi this course is very useful my career and I know about new thinks about this subject

Thanks