Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
3,590 ratings
776 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

MA
Jul 27, 2020

It has been a fantastic journey of five weeks. The teaching style is excellent. I Will suggest every graduate student take this course to make a good understanding. Overall it is an excellent course.

PS
Jul 15, 2020

THE COURSE WAS VERY INTRESTING AND LIFETIME USEFULL STUFF BEING TOUGHT. TYANKS TO Dr. WHITEMAN he is really good explainer had a great experience and I'm sure gonna join more courses by Dr. WHITEMAN.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 769 Reviews for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

By D.E.Praven K

Oct 30, 2016

good

By David

Jul 23, 2016

讲得不错

By Dhanasekar S

May 17, 2016

Good

By 任智健

Dec 28, 2015

轻松易懂

By Rohan K

Jun 6, 2020

.

By Sujay C D

May 30, 2020

.

By Inna K

Sep 18, 2017

G

By subhendu k

May 29, 2017

t

By Cameron S

Oct 19, 2020

Thank you Dr. Whiteman! Each module was very methodical and easy to follow, in regard to each theory being laid out step by step. Having only GCSE level physics and AS level maths (and it being 4-5 years since then), I had to go away and re-look at SOH CAH TOA and Integrals; for me the method for finding a force that's at an angle to the x or y plane was glossed over a bit, especially as it became key later on, and ended up tripping me up more than once! The only other down-side was not having any answers to the questions in the Ruina/Pratap textbook, perhaps I just overlooked them? Apart from that, I really enjoyed the course, and would definitely recommend!

By m a

Jul 6, 2020

Great introduction to engineering mechanics. Dr. Whiteman does a tremendous job of teaching this course. He speaks with a clear voice and precise vocabulary. Great teacher. I think the course would benefit greatly from the addition of assigned readings and providing the answers to some or all practice problems (it would go a long way to reducing confusion and the number of questions in the discussion forum). Also i would prefer the suggested practice problems to be given with their corresponding module (it would help progressively cement the concepts learned). Thank you very much for providing this service! i throughly enjoyed taking this course.

By Olomo A D

Jul 13, 2020

I feel for an "Introductory" course; it should be more introductory. There were moments in time where I was lost, and the lecturer just said: "by the laws of geometry, this will be this". Although I know the laws of geometry, I had no idea what he was talking about.

Above all, the course is really good. If you're having issues with mechanics of machines or any mechanical course and you want to touch upon the basics of engineering calculations, this is for you. I gained more exposure and understanding from this course.

By Garrett S

Sep 25, 2015

4.5, Not perfect, but very clear and consistent (I'm only in week 2 and this is my first coursera course) there are some topics that I feel need a little more clarification, but that is my only complaint. Perhaps it would be a good idea for the site to have a FAQ for each individual course. The Professor or course instructor, could answer these questions for future course sessions. Perhaps there's a reason this idea wouldn't work, but it would be nice to see from the student's perspective.

By Thomas P

Sep 25, 2015

Wayne comes across as very enthusiastic and likable. The course material is interesting.

It does feel like the course if artificially stretched out a bit too long, though. The material and exercises seem to get repetitive after week 3, when the pattern has been established to sum up all forces, and then to sum up all cross-products.

Nevertheless, this is an introductory course, so too much depth can not be expected. As an introduction, it was a great experience.

By Vivek D

Jul 15, 2020

The professor explains topics very well. His visual models are very helpful and resourceful in solving problems. Although the course can get a bit slow at times, you always end a module with a newly learned technique or reinforcing previous concepts. I would highly recommend this course to any first-year engineering student either as a review for high school physics or introduction to mechanics from the perspective of an engineer.

By Avril K

Dec 15, 2016

This is a reasonable course, I definitely learned some stuff about mechanics. Things were generally explained well, though there were some things that could have been explained better. The quizzes were very simplistic (the type of multiple-choice questions where you often don't have to actually be able to do the calculations to figure out the answer, you can just look at the options and rule out all but the right one).

By William L

Sep 11, 2015

Besides those interested engineering, those interested in learning how stuff works will love this course. I have been studying calculus and was bored with math problems that do not have real world application. This course provided those applications in spades, although at a beginning level in mechanical engineering. If you love math and love solving problems, this course is a great place to do it.

By Shri H

Apr 5, 2017

Highly useful lectures.The classes can be more effective by active participation of more students simultaneously. A brief insight into derivation of some basic concepts and introduction to fundamental difference between different kinds of members used in engineering applications can be added.

Thanks for the lectures !

Practical demonstration of the problems provides a better clarity.

By Kyle R

Sep 21, 2015

Great introduction to engineering processes. I was hoping, however, to gain a bit more insight on general details of structures and mechanics, such as what types of materials or designs should be used in certain situations and why. This course covered only mathematics, which while essential, are not the only aspect of engineering in real life applications.

By Steven P

Mar 15, 2020

Great course. Well done. Opportunities for improvement: replace videos that have calculation errors, update the online textbook when so it has an index that you can navigate in the PDF. Provide more practice problems with hint/explanations to allow students to check their answers and practice without wondering if they did problems correctly.

By gustavo z

Oct 14, 2015

I finished the course and I think the course is a great first view of what engineering mechanics can offer to the students at the university. I am a mechanical engineer newly graduated at UFRGS and the course was a great experience to recall some of the content learned at the university.

By Rhydian T

Apr 12, 2020

It was very useful and informative, and the instructor was very clear and if mistakes arose they were pointed out in quick fashion. However as a student from Wales, UK, some of the terminology and especially units were sometimes hard to grasp.

By Brock J

Dec 4, 2017

Great introductory course into statics. There are a few errors sprinkled in the lessons which could be cleaned up to make it better. Solutions for the practice problem homework would be much appreciated. Thanks for putting this together.

By Iago A D

Nov 15, 2015

Great course, I like short videos where concepts are well explained and the quizzes are not tiresome at all but I consider than the pdf of the power point documents could be better, the complete solution does not appear in most of them

By Sarthak R

Sep 3, 2020

well the course was absolute fantastic and even you can get detailed solution of all the assignments after completing the test

but the only reason i gave 4 stars is that for quiz there is only 1 attempt per 7 days and its irritating

By Sai S S

Jun 22, 2020

This course is really a good one! The instructors involvement is really amazing! However, if you could change the number of attempts to at least one per day, it will be very helpful to complete the course in time.