Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
10,254 ratings
3,682 reviews

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors
(331 Reviews)
Interactive content
(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

PT
Mar 12, 2021

I had fun enrolling on this course and it's very insightful. And Keep the great work, Dr Shane Dixon. I can't wait to complete the rest of the courses so that I get my professional certificate. Thanks

CR
May 12, 2020

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

Filter by:

3526 - 3550 of 3,663 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Daniela G d S

Dec 7, 2015

This course is really good for the ones, who, like me, want to learn more about teaching English for basic learners.

By Dangelo D V G

Sep 1, 2020

It really helped me to understand the principles of teaching a language even thought I have not a teaching career.

By LeapingFrog E

Jan 24, 2017

Course was good but I thought more could of been added to the content to make more understandable. For ex. videos

By Hari K K

Jun 27, 2018

The course is simply awesome. The content is perfectly suitable for the foundation of this course actual vision.

By Awder A

Nov 28, 2016

It was a very useful course. The ideas were simplified by giving simple examples which are not easily forgotten!

By Tran Q

Mar 3, 2021

In this course, I learned basic spirit of teaching. In other words, you'll know what is essential in teaching.

By Osman A U

May 24, 2020

A great program, easy to follow and interesting. A great program for those interested in teaching as a career.

By Ayaat E

Jul 17, 2018

This course is very useful and important to anyone who cares about teaching the language.

Thanks Shane Dixon.

By Alex Z

Jun 12, 2020

The course was really amazing and has taught me a lot of things regarding teaching and learning as a whole.

By Julie G

Aug 14, 2021

​It was amazing way to fresh up my knowledge and look at teaching throught different perception. Thank you

By Maria F Z

Aug 5, 2018

I recommend this informative and interesting course, I have been learning more than I had thought I would.

By Michael J S

Mar 14, 2016

The previous Coursera forum format was far more useful than the current, new, format used in this course.

By Oriana G

Jun 24, 2017

Great content!

Love the dynamic of every lesson.

Really happy and thankfull for all the knowledge shared.

By Okoye I N

Mar 6, 2019

I totally enjoyed taking this course and unreservedly recommend to every English teacher, old and new.

By Bilal Ç

Oct 5, 2018

I get a lot of teaching technic, teacher behaviour, helping student with different ways. Great course.

By P Z C

Apr 9, 2021

The assignment review could be more detailed e.g. more objectives should be offered to give points.

By Jessica

Nov 24, 2015

Almost lost me on the first week but so glad I stayed because this course contains some real gems.

By MILDRED S G L

Nov 2, 2020

I think this course was good... but I think that our classmates mustn't evaluate our assignments.

By Angella 2

Feb 15, 2021

I got new knowledge about teaching techniques. The Instructions are very clear and effective.

By Noam D W

Apr 9, 2016

The only thing is I would have liked to have the chance to give more detailed peer reviews.

By Obashola O

Sep 24, 2020

This course has been quite impactful and is highly recommended for all language teachers.

By sahil s

Aug 2, 2017

It was a great learning experience! I'm looking forward to finishing rest of the modules.

By Cynthia B

Jan 9, 2017

I really enjoyed the class. The videos were interesting, entertaining, and educational.

By Gyorgy D

Sep 24, 2019

Good course. I would have preferred some more depth on the topics covered for 5 stars.

By Matthew C

Aug 20, 2018

Well presented and useful information. I look forward to the next module in the series