Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.9
stars
2,246 ratings
655 reviews

About the Course

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

Top reviews

LH
Apr 19, 2018

Incredible course with an engaging professor who makes you want to learn more with every lesson.\n\nThe best course I saw on Coursera and exactly what I would appreciate in any course, online or not.

MS
Jun 2, 2020

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 654 Reviews for Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy

By SOUMYADEEP G

Sep 10, 2021

nice

By PUNEET K M

Aug 26, 2021

good

By Rohit R J

Apr 12, 2021

Good

By Kirimanjeswara A

Sep 20, 2020

GOOD

By Jainam P

Sep 17, 2020

Good

By BHARATH A J E

Sep 16, 2020

Best

By Shoba J

Aug 1, 2020

good

By SINHA P C

Jul 29, 2020

GOOD

By GLORIYA V

Jul 20, 2020

Good

By Ameer H

Jul 4, 2020

Good

By Mona A A

Jun 3, 2020

GOOD

By Vidya M

May 17, 2020

Good

By Mohsen L G

Oct 11, 2016

good

By Justin G M

May 19, 2016

Good

By 18eucv035 R P

Jun 23, 2021

by

By John G

Feb 15, 2017

W

By Vasileios C

May 27, 2016

-

By Pat D

Jan 2, 2016

E

By Natàlia B P

May 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I think it's great to learn about the perspectives and approaches used in environmental law and policy to address and/or solve the issues that we have, do and will face in terms of human and environmental health. I really liked how it was structured (the 6 weeks), the 1-min lawyer, reading the case and the full-length lesson, and of course I really enjoyed how Prof. Hornstein expressed himself. He made it really fun and interesting. I'm not from the US so I would have appreciated a little bit more of an international perspective, but I knew what to expect given that the course is taught by a US university. All in all, great experience.

By Jhonatan L

Sep 20, 2015

I thought the course was a fantastic introduction to environmental law and policy. I especially enjoyed the structure of each lesson (reading -> video) and the entire course. I thought the Prof did a great job of being enthusiastic and was mostly clear when explaining, analyzing and discussing each case. Perhaps, an aspect that could be improved in the future is to ask more in-video question to challenge the student to think critically while watching the videos. However, where there is most room for improvement is to have much better management of the discussion section. There was no authority answering any questions whatsoever, not content related nor operational.

By Felix K K

Nov 6, 2020

Excellent course with very useful re-introduction to environmental law and policy from both an international and national perspective. However, there is need for the course content to be updated as a lot has happened with regard to the jurisprudence and legal framework for international environmental law and also the need to expand the course content to provide more comparative jurisprudence from other countries especially countries making prorgressive jurisprudential developments in this area such as Canada, Colombia, Sweden, South Africa, India and Kenya

By Kirsten A

May 9, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The plan flowed well, covering a range of different types of law and discussing the economics and policy that influence all aspects. Professor Hornstein is very knowledgeable, engaged with his topic and takes to heart his role as teacher. His lectures are full of information and infected with his enthusiasm. The activities were interesting and promoted learning. The only distraction is that the course was first recorded in 2013. A lot has changed in Environmental law since then.

By Kylie P

Jan 22, 2018

I've learned an incredible amount from this course. There is a LOT of information to process. I'm very happy that I took it. The professor is entertaining and passionate. My only issue is that the videos must have been created2013- which isn't itself a problem. However, one of the videos mentions that new information will be coming in 2015... I'd like for that information to be included in the course- even as a short side video or link to a relevant article! Otherwise, fantastic!! would recommend!!

By Harry G

Jul 1, 2018

Interesting and well presented; covers development of US law but the principles and concepts (nuisance, regulation, endangered species, clean air, clean water, political economy of environmental law, risk distribution, climate change, and others) are common across other systems of environmental law. Unfortunately, the content is now out of date with regards to climate change as the recording seems to be from 2013, well before the Paris Climate Agreement.

By Yugesh P

Mar 27, 2017

The material was exceptional, but as I came to found out, that the assignments were watered down with respect to the earlier version of the course that was available in 2014. Please work to get back peer-reviewed assignments. Also, Prof. Hornstein's informal manner and way of teaching greatly helped in understanding the concepts. Thank you University of North Carolina and Prof. Hornstein for this wonderful primer on Environmental law.