Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,764 ratings
1,016 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

TW
Jun 17, 2021

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 1,013 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By Chinenye A

Oct 23, 2017

Quite interesting and informative. A good place to begin learning about basics of epidemiology, but one must read additional materials to have a better flow/understanding of the course.

By Clio H

Jun 1, 2020

Informative but boring lecture videos and very little exciting updates to the world of epidemiology (only touches on public health problems and solutions from 20th century).

By Kathy C

Nov 30, 2020

It would have been helpful to have a reference section apart from the weeks that would list some key terms and the multiple formulas for calculating ratios, odds, etc.

By BARAIYA D H 1

Apr 29, 2020

It was very informative. But few things were difficult to understand in week 2 and 3 could you simplify so that it would be easy for future students.

By Saskia A

May 18, 2021

Good introduction to epidemiology. Quizzes are useless, however, If the quizzes were simply re-done, then the whole course would be better.

By Jackson N

May 27, 2020

Very educational but a little hard to follow. Also these tests are too hard for beginners. Overall though it was OK, I rate it 3.5 stars.

By Jeremiah N

Apr 19, 2020

Quizzes are difficult especially week 2 quiz. The flow of the discussion and topics are good. Professors were great! I learned a lot!

By Tomás G G

Apr 28, 2020

It was nice, but nothing incredible. A standard introduction course, it sets basic tools for getting started with the subject

By Suzi

Sep 14, 2016

Although the content was informational, the presenters were uninteresting and made watching the videos hard to do.

By MARYAM H

Jan 15, 2019

It was informational and started with the basics. It was overall a good course but needs to be more interactive.

By Nikita S

Sep 12, 2017

I wish we went in depth a bit. The overview was a bit vague and didn't instruct very well.

By Vivek S

Jul 25, 2020

Very Slow and highly information-only course. It could've been more enthusiastic and fun.

By Ibrahim B

Jun 13, 2018

The quiz questions were tricky and the modules were not as easy to follow as I thought.

By Brent A

Aug 11, 2015

It was a good basic intro into the statistical methods of epidemiology. Quite basic.

By Ignacio R

Jan 25, 2016

It is an interesting course, as a first contact with epidemiology and public health

By Sezin E

May 17, 2020

Lectures are taught very fast, but still informative if you pay attention

By Susan G D

Aug 7, 2019

This MOOC was quite detailed and i enjoyed every bit of the subject.

By XIANGYU S

Nov 12, 2020

No bad. But the quiz are too difficult for me .

By MODUPE O

Oct 12, 2020

Some of the content was not clearly explained.

By Aryan S

Jun 22, 2020

dWdAWdAWdAWdAWdAWdawdawwa I cant unenrollllll

By Taiwo I

Apr 24, 2020

Great learning opportunity

By David c

Apr 2, 2020

content did not match test

By Wei T H

May 22, 2020

In the earlier weeks terminology was introduced that were unexplained (the measures of association) even though it was stated in the lecture that these were "previously covered". This prompted me to search back desperately to see what I have missed to no avail, finally culminating in me simply looking up the terminology online. As it turns out, these terminology were explained in a subsequent week. Had this been conveyed or structured better, the course would have been easier to understand. Also the material was pretty surface level when discussing causality. In terms of presentation skills, it would help if the lecturers fumbled less with their scripts structured the content better. However, it is good effort and the content is fairly important, especially during these times where fake medical information is rife.

By Victoria D

May 8, 2018

Lectures start from irritating music and book-ended by unnecessary summary of what will be and was studied. Lots of complicated language without explanation such as "osteoclast reabsorbtion reduction". Tests are impossible to pass. They ask questions not covered in lectures, lots of multiple choices where one incorrect tick shoots down the whole question. I can see from forums that some questions are contradictory - there is no correct answer. A missed opportunity.

By Emine O

May 11, 2021

Quiz questions were really hard and tricky.