Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,544 ratings
973 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A
May 30, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 959 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By marcela c

Apr 17, 2017

El curso es muy bueno, tiene bases excelentes par ala epidemiologia, y los documentos de Eric notebook son muy bueno, algunos un poco dificiles de entender pero en general muy ¨digeribles¨. En mi caso me demoraba mas del tiempo estipulado a dedicar cada semana pero eso dependerá de cada persona.

By Sampada A

Jul 2, 2020

Engaging! Super cool, great overview into epidemiology. Only complaint is that the lectures were a bit monotonous, but it is what it is. Would recommend for anyone who wants to learn more about public health or is just intrigued by COVID-19! Thank you Professors Alexander and Yeatts!!!

By Cantillep

Jul 28, 2020

The lectures were easy to understand. However, I would like to comment on the questions of the exams. Some were not worded appropriately and some were quite irrelevant to the material discussed. Questions could have focused more on the topic itself, rather than the examples cited.

By Hildegard M

May 10, 2020

This has been a great introduction to the history and basic concepts of epidemiology. The lecturers explained it in an easy to understand and comprehensive manner and I really enjoyed from them. It encourages to delve a bit deeper into epidemiology and public health. THANK YOU !

By William F

Sep 5, 2020

Good coverage of important and interesting topics. In some videos the audio volume was a bit low, making it difficult to hear on some computers. Also, reading is not the best way to present information if you want to capture people’s interest and concentration.

By Aamena A

Jul 30, 2020

It was a little bit tough for me especially because it had formulas and math. Overall, I would recommend the course to anyone who wants to learn and understand epidemiology. It's a good way to supplement your public health studies if you're in a med school.

By André C T

Dec 27, 2020

I understand this course is supposed to be for beginners. However, I think some very important questions were not addressed here. The course as a whole was realy not challanging. Study designs were ver poorly addressed. Bias was not even mentioned!

By Lim Y H X

Apr 28, 2020

A sufficient introductory preview into epidemiology, although some concepts were taught at the rather intermediate level. Also, some contents covered in the quiz were ill-structured and not otherwise captured in lectures and/or additional readings.

By Becky B

Apr 14, 2021

I thought the instructors did a great job. It was harder than I thought but I stayed positive and worked very hard on learning and took away everything I could from this course. To be honest I did better than I thought I would. Pleased. Thank-you

By Laverne D

Aug 6, 2019

The information on measures of association was somewhat confusing. Sometimes the narrator would say either risk or rate, but I thought she meant the other. Statistical data gathering I find very challenging, though I recognize its importance.

By Frank B

May 12, 2020

I like this as a broad overview of research methods in epidemiology. I found this stimulating prior knowledge from my Psychological Science degree, so it was a good refresher before I head into health informatics and clinical classification.

By Nada K

Mar 13, 2021

Well prepared course, providing good overview of the basic principles of public health. Especially, I liked the part about statistics. Some quizzes (week 3 and 2) were kind of difficult. Additional literature very clear and useful. Thanks!

By Comfort O B

Sep 3, 2020

The course is really enjoyable! It clearly demonstrated life events and causality issue. Earlier, I have trouble understanding Confidence interval, but now I understand it clearly! Kudos to the two wonderful teachers. Thank you so much!

By Gwendolen M H

Aug 3, 2017

I am considering getting my master's in PH and I think this course will be a great foundational course!! Thank you Dr Alexander, Dr Yeatts, and UNC Gillings School of Global PH for a course that was interesting and easy to understand.

By Foster N

Oct 16, 2015

I thought this was a good basic level introduction course. One suggestion is to update the quiz section to be able to click on the questions that were answered incorrectly and see the correct answer with explanation (after passing).

By Laura D S B

Jun 15, 2020

Los cuestionarios llegan a ser un poco tediosos, los recursos como lecturas son MUY útiles y fáciles de leer, los videos tienen ejemplos claros. Me sirvió mucho para reforzar términos y medidas que había estudiado previamente.

By Anupama J

Jul 23, 2017

Well-conducted course with clear and crisp explanations. At the end of the course at least, we should be given the list of the questions answered wrongly and the right answers, so that, one understands the mistakes committed.

By Betzaide C M

Feb 10, 2019

I really like this course, it clears me a lot of doubts and easy to understand many concepts, also it was useful to remember what I have learned before. Thanks for the couse.

I´m interested in taking more cuorses like this.

By ABBA B

Sep 14, 2017

Je trouve ce Module de cours très intéressant car, il est flexible, compréhensif et descriptif et également il m'a permis de comprendre certains termes que je n'ai pas appris pendant ma période de formation universitaire.

By Sean S

Jan 4, 2016

An excellent introduction to epidemiology. The reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is because I would have liked to see more statistics e.g. one or two statistical tests and maybe a prac on experimental/survey deisgn.

By Noel M M

Jun 7, 2020

Very intricate making it comprehensive for six weeks of learning! Very informative. Would be even better if the presentation was simplified and more examples used so as to promote better understanding of the concepts!

By R. R

Sep 1, 2020

This course is one of the most valuable course I have ever done because the knowledge within this course is much needed to learn and to apply for this pandemic. I will recommend it to all those who may be interested.

By Nehleen A

Nov 28, 2017

Excellent beginner level course. I learned a lot. Great lectures. However, quizzes are not easy and the answers are always intuitive to the people who are new to this field, even when you listen to the lecture

By Li C

Mar 18, 2018

I think the program is a little bit too easy and someone can only get an introduction of the public health and the epidemiology, I hope there are more difficult class and take me deeper to the epidemiology.

By Dilnur K

Jul 5, 2019

I thought that the course was good. The only thing I wished to have was the course presentation slides. I contacted the Coursera admin people on that also. Hope to see more courses on epidemiology from UNC.