Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,645 ratings
990 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A
May 30, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 975 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By Foster N

Oct 16, 2015

I thought this was a good basic level introduction course. One suggestion is to update the quiz section to be able to click on the questions that were answered incorrectly and see the correct answer with explanation (after passing).

By Laura D S B

Jun 15, 2020

Los cuestionarios llegan a ser un poco tediosos, los recursos como lecturas son MUY útiles y fáciles de leer, los videos tienen ejemplos claros. Me sirvió mucho para reforzar términos y medidas que había estudiado previamente.

By Anupama J

Jul 23, 2017

Well-conducted course with clear and crisp explanations. At the end of the course at least, we should be given the list of the questions answered wrongly and the right answers, so that, one understands the mistakes committed.

By Betzaide C M

Feb 10, 2019

I really like this course, it clears me a lot of doubts and easy to understand many concepts, also it was useful to remember what I have learned before. Thanks for the couse.

I´m interested in taking more cuorses like this.

By ABBA B

Sep 14, 2017

Je trouve ce Module de cours très intéressant car, il est flexible, compréhensif et descriptif et également il m'a permis de comprendre certains termes que je n'ai pas appris pendant ma période de formation universitaire.

By Sean S

Jan 4, 2016

An excellent introduction to epidemiology. The reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is because I would have liked to see more statistics e.g. one or two statistical tests and maybe a prac on experimental/survey deisgn.

By Noel M M

Jun 7, 2020

Very intricate making it comprehensive for six weeks of learning! Very informative. Would be even better if the presentation was simplified and more examples used so as to promote better understanding of the concepts!

By R. R

Sep 1, 2020

This course is one of the most valuable course I have ever done because the knowledge within this course is much needed to learn and to apply for this pandemic. I will recommend it to all those who may be interested.

By Nehleen A

Nov 28, 2017

Excellent beginner level course. I learned a lot. Great lectures. However, quizzes are not easy and the answers are always intuitive to the people who are new to this field, even when you listen to the lecture

By Li C

Mar 18, 2018

I think the program is a little bit too easy and someone can only get an introduction of the public health and the epidemiology, I hope there are more difficult class and take me deeper to the epidemiology.

By Dilnur K

Jul 5, 2019

I thought that the course was good. The only thing I wished to have was the course presentation slides. I contacted the Coursera admin people on that also. Hope to see more courses on epidemiology from UNC.

By Danah A

Aug 20, 2020

The information is very interesting especially with the current global pandemic. In addition, the course is simplified and explained gracefully in a way that anyone with any background can understand it.

By Igbemo A A

Jan 25, 2021

A very interesting course. An eye opener to what epidemiology entails. I like the course instructors, they made it simple, even though the test are tough. Its interesting from beginning to the end.

By Omar C

Jan 29, 2021

Great introduction to the area, focusing on key principles and definitions. Some more practice on calculations would be helpful to reinforce the difference between studies, and measures. Thanks!

By Himanshu A

May 24, 2020

Thanks for giving us such a good learning experience. Although there is lot of content in Public Health but arranging it a bit more properly would help students to learn and enjoy the mooc.

By Dr.Suguna D

Oct 2, 2016

Great course. May be expanded a bit with more examples from both developed and developing countries. Thank you all very much for giving me the opportunity to learn from you all

By Ching M J M (

May 14, 2020

This course has taught me a lot. However, as a new learner that just started going into public health, the contents that were taught on Week 4 were pretty confusing.

By Drew O

Oct 30, 2015

I liked that the quizzes were not easy, it made me feel the class was worth it. It is a good intro to study design and basic statistics. Definitely a gateway course.

By Md R H

Aug 31, 2017

It was very interesting for a newbie like, those who are interested in public health, i must say that it can be the beginning of the journey in public health.

By Jasmine

Jan 6, 2019

Great refresher course for those of us who have been away from their MPH programs for a while. But one suggestion -- eliminate the all or nothing questions.

By Mohammad H

Nov 12, 2015

Nice course, highly effective for other background. I suggest to improve the course content of week 4 & 5 which may be expanded with some other topics.

By Mona G

Apr 13, 2020

Clear, concise lectures and reading material. Would appreciate more explanations from the quiz answers. Otherwise, great introduction to epidemiology.