Chevron Left
Back to Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach by University of London

4.8
stars
369 ratings
134 reviews

About the Course

This course explores ways of teaching reading skills in English as Second and Foreign Language (ESL/EFL) using a task-based approach. You will be introduced to the concept of task and the key principles of task-based language teaching (TBLT) and learning. TBLT uses communicative tasks as the key unit for creating language learning activities. You will also examine the role of reading in real-life and in second and foreign language teaching and current thinking about the interface between TBLT and second language reading. You will explore how TBLT and teaching second language reading can be successfully integrated in practice through analysing task-based reading materials. The course culminates in creating task-based materials for teaching reading in your own language teaching contexts. After completing the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the main components and tenets of a task-based approach to teaching language; 2. Explain the main issues involved in teaching reading; 3. Illustrate connections between TBLT approaches and the teaching of reading; 4. Integrate tasks into your own teaching; 5. Identify reading texts that are suitable for the construction of tasks; and 6. Construct reading tasks and sequences for use in your own classroom....

Top reviews

RY
Dec 19, 2018

The course has refreshed me on how to do Task based teaching in my classroom. The professors and guest speakers are all very helpful in giving new ideas for lesson plan. I really enjoy the lesson.

DA
Nov 20, 2018

An exceptional course which brings up really interesting, thought-provoking ideas about pedagogy and ELT. Well-researched, easy to understand, and has some great assignment topics. Loved it.

Filter by:

126 - 136 of 136 Reviews for Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

By AIDA N

Apr 19, 2020

good

By Marco A C

Aug 2, 2019

I

By Elizabeth J S

Jan 29, 2021

The course was a great refresher on how to teach reading through a task-supported approach. Much of the content and many of the resources were helpful to my own lesson preparation. The lectures were generally helpful guidance for the assignments. The only disappointment was the lack of feedback from other participants in the peer-graded assignments. It wasn't apparent what features of my submissions merited the grades I received. I spent a lot of time writing feedback to other participants but received nothing. Is this a problem on Coursera's platform, or is there something the course runners can do to encourage feedback on peer-graded assignments?

By saira b

Nov 14, 2016

an eye-opening course for teachers who want to develop their knowledge in communicative approach in teaching English language. Thoroughly enjoyed each module as it was very thought provoking and detailed. It was a great experience to peer assess too.

By Kristen M

Jul 19, 2021

It's very constructed and very easy to follow. The assignments give plenty of opportunity to develop your skill. The only down side is I would have liked to see more examples of the kinds of tasks they presented in the course.

By Chitra W

Mar 19, 2018

The concepts related to Task Based Approach are explained very well, using very simple language. This makes learning easy and effective.

By joseph d

May 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It was well taught and I learned a lot about how to construct and teach a "task-based" lesson.

By Maria V C

Oct 24, 2020

It was very interesting and I got many ideas. Thank you.

By Superfluous A

Sep 30, 2020

I have mixed feelings and I often let the negative get the best of me, unfortunately. These are stressful times. So, I do apologize for the previous emotionalism in my reviews or comments . But...I have to say, that this course did not provide a world-wide context of applicability. I think even Stephen Krashen would agree with me....people learn different, in different parts of the world and this course seems to make an assumption that their way is a one-size-fits-all. I can tell you ,confidently, that is not a reality.

Other than that, I was able to "pick the meat of the bone) in terms of what I think would be valuable in the classroom.

By Omid

Aug 2, 2020

It was a good course but the course contents and lectures should be abbreviated.

By Barbara R

Dec 8, 2020

Not what I expected at all. Very boring. Made me decide that I probably don't want to pursue this line of work. I unenrolled after the first module.