Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Excel, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Excel, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,077 ratings
721 reviews

About the Course

"Everyday Excel, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to learn Excel from the ground up. No experience with Excel is necessary. While this course is meant for beginners of Excel, advanced users will undoubtedly pick up new skills and tools. This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on teaching introductory through very advanced techniques and tools in Excel. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) learn how to effectively navigate around the Excel environment; 2) edit and format Excel worksheets; 3) implement basic to advanced Excel functions (including financial, logical, and text functions); 4) learn how to manage data sets (filter, remove duplicates, consolidate data, sort data, and validate data); and 5) learn how to effectively visualize data through scatterplots, column charts, and pie charts. New to Excel? That is entirely fine! This course is meant to be fun, thought-provoking, and appeal to a wide audience. No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary. The course is organized into 5 Weeks (modules). To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MH
Apr 28, 2021

That was extremely helpful, I liked it so much, I liked everything about it from the breaking down of new subjects, literally someone with zero experience in excel can understand and use these things

GF
Apr 7, 2021

Great course!. It covers very basis tools to more complex features like vlookups function. I have learned new things and definitely very useful for the workday task. Looking forward for the Part 2.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 737 Reviews for Everyday Excel, Part 1

By Sabry Y S E

Aug 22, 2020

..

By Sujit A D

Aug 28, 2021

By Teri T

Feb 20, 2021

The instructor clearly put a lot of time and effort into making a detailed course with a lot of guidance and good screencasts. The course was surprisingly difficult for me, and in retrospect, I would have liked a simpler course with more repetition on simpler tasks. This would have allowed more success, less frustration, and better mastery of more straightforward tasks. Instead, I felt I was doing anything I could to somehow finagle the right answer/formula, but I would not be able to do it again. At one point, I did sort of cry. However, I think there are those for whom this course would be perfect and very fun. Perhaps the course description could be tailored to help learners know better what to expect. There were many comments from learners who were clearly enjoying the course very much, and I'm sure many of them are going on to complete the specialization. The instructor is commended for putting together a thorough course.

By Joleen T

Jan 21, 2021

I have taken many Excel courses and this one is by far my favorite. I have a lot of experience with the basic functions of Excel, but I was really struggling with understanding the formulas. I knew there was an easier way to do a lot of the calculations I was doing before. I enjoyed learning the different formulas and how they were built, what the different arguments were and how to use them. The only reason I did not give this course 5 stars is that it was hard to follow along at times and I would have to continuously pause the video to complete the step, therefore it took much longer than the time of the video to complete.

By Jason L

Aug 17, 2021

Learned a lot from the class. He uses good examples and some humor. He covers a lot and I think a lot is quite useful. The assignments weren't easy. I think to improve either slow down the pace of the lessons so the information can sink in better and we can do the assignments more easily (Which would entail either a longer course or less content covered) or to simplify the assignments. If so much content is to be covered in so short of time, it does help us to see a wide array of stuff, but simpler assignments would then be in order.

By Varner, J

Dec 27, 2020

Mr. Nuttelman is extremely knowledgeable on the functions in Excel and how to use them. I highly recommend this instructor. There were some things available in Microsoft Office 365 that I couldn't use in Excel 2019, so there are some challenging areas if you don't have the latest and greatest... Also, the time needed to complete the course was not accurate for me. The screencasts go through the content quickly, so I was constantly pausing and rewinding to see what he was doing and follow along.

By Trina C

Jan 9, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It was difficult, but that's what I'm looking for. The streams were nicely presented, the questions & quizzes were challenging and I really enjoyed the interactive worksheets at the end of each week. I'm going to see if I can push myself through Part 2, and hopefully Part 3. I took this corse during the pandemic, since I lost my job. I really appreciate Coursera giving me this opportunity to build up my skillset so I can find another good job. Thanks!

By Ricardo C

Nov 4, 2021

T​his course was incredibly interesting. I definitely came out knowing a lot about how excel and how to work it. The course starts off easy but gets progressively harder, sometimes too hard for my liking. However, everything that you need to complete assignments and quizzes are right there in their respectives week schedules, all you need to do is find the info you're looking for. Cant wait to get started on Everyday Excel Part 2! 9/10 would definitely recommend

By Manish S K

May 11, 2020

This course is very informative. Going through this course, a good understanding of the use of the functions can be developed. Although some terms need to be properly defined like VBAs, some functions like XLOOKUP, etc,. these can have more uses than defined in this course. Otherwise, this course is very beneficial for beginners who use Excel in their daily life.

By Claire P

Mar 4, 2021

A lot of knowledge in here and set out really well. I found some of the assignments a tad confusing as you expect them to relate to the week's learning whereas some of the answers are from previous week's information. There are also some slight errors here and there which can throw you off. Other than that, great course and I learned a lot from it!

By Kyle R

Aug 16, 2020

This was a very good course and the instructor is very knowledgeable when it comes to all of the things Excel can do. At some times, it did seem a bit advanced for a know nothing about Excel beginner. Some of the examples used in quizzes or assignments could be simplified and not as complex when dealing with beginners.

By Robert S

Feb 21, 2021

Very good course. It was a bit tricky at times, but with enough work and focus, I was able to complete everything. I found myself constantly starting and stopping the videos to update a worksheet I had going all the time. That is how I was able to figure out what the lesson was about and learn the content.

By james j

Mar 18, 2021

A really great course and I highly recommend for those who use Excel everyday. This course does assume you have some basic knowledge of Excel already so may not be suited for a "true" beginner. Class is well throughout, great teaching tools and Prof does a great job leading the way. Thanks!

By Anders W

Mar 14, 2021

Think there could have been written documentation like a workbook. Also on the quiz there is something wrong making it near impossible to scroll the multiple choice questions. Finally, the assignments were hard. My suggestion would be an option to unlock hints against grade deductions.

By Julia S R

Apr 11, 2021

It would be very important to answear your students or assist the ones with doubts. I almost dropped the course because I wasn't abble to finish the first assigment. After many weeks I tried again and was abble to do it, but I imagine that there's a lot of people who just give up.

By Alexa L

Apr 15, 2021

Relevant content.

Nice to follow and a teacher that seems very passionate.

I would just prefer a bit more of practical examples.

Also as a French on Mac and windows 2018 it can be challenging sometimes to keep up ;)

Overall I recommend this class and thank yuo to Mr.Nuttelman

By Indrajit M

Aug 18, 2020

Course Contents are excellent. The faculty is good. Assignments covered in this course really tests your ability to understand the concepts learned and its application. Overall I enjoyed the learning process and looking forward to enrolling the Part 2 course.

By Jossy M

Apr 15, 2021

Charlie is a go0d instructor and has an easy going approach to teaching this course. The assignments were a bit tricky and it won't be as easy as you think it will be. However, Charlie shows concepts, functions and formulas to help make excel easier to use.

By Erazem Š

May 2, 2021

I am very satisfied with the course. It was a bit more challenging than I thought it would be, but that made it more interesting. I found some room for improvement in the written tasks, where the instructions are sometimes not accurate or even misleading.

By Benoit V

Oct 4, 2021

Really good online course, specially on functions and the progressive learning. Though intensive.

It would help to know where you can find each function in each video.

Sharing solutions to assignments would also help as there are several options sometimes.

By Joycelyn K

Aug 23, 2020

The videos are quite educational and informative. They are also quite great to work alongside. My main issue is the disorganisation in the discussion forum. It is filled to the brim with unanswered questions on how to go about the assignments given.

By Melissa O

Feb 8, 2021

I could've used more practice during the lessons. In general I feel like Excel is something you learn mostly from practice. The instructor was great, the videos were a good pace, it helped me get going on my Excel knowledge!

By Asad R B

Aug 13, 2020

Course covers all the basic excel work an individual need to know about without consuming too much time on conventional limited knowledge of excel. But do practice with Charlie during screen casts to make your grip stronger.

By Tracey H

Jun 28, 2021

Good learning for an absolute beginner. Some areas were much more difficult than others, but worth the time to complete all 5 weeks. Instructor has a good teaching voice and style. Only 4 stars due to the difficulty.

By Nour S

Mar 12, 2021

There was a bit of difficulty to understand how some things work but the assignments are worth trying! This course is helpful for beginners at excel and the instructor provides you numerous ways to work around excel!