Chevron Left
Back to Applications of Everyday Leadership

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applications of Everyday Leadership by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
1,957 ratings
384 reviews

About the Course

This course builds upon a conceptual knowledge of leadership by considering applications for more effective negotiation, feedback and coaching, conflict management, and change leadership. By applying a leadership framework to these realistic situations faced by businesses, you will be prepared to lead teams towards solutions in your own business challenges. You will be able to: - Negotiate effectively and influence others through effective leadership - Provide feedback and coaching that is strategically appropriate and influential - Manage conflict and lead change in business This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

SR
May 19, 2017

Excellent learning. These kind of courses really help an individual learn and implement what leaders in organizations do. The best part of this was the Emotional Intelligence and the Negotiation part.

AP
May 23, 2020

This Course was very informative and some of the concepts I learned will stay with me forever. For sure, application of concepts of this course is not only in professional lives but personal as well.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 374 Reviews for Applications of Everyday Leadership

By Abhay S

Jun 20, 2020

The best part of this course is that it is really well structured, right from lectures to assignments and quiz everything connects well and makes sense. It actually feels like during the creation of this course the head and heart of leadership were used and implemented really well. The suggested read does complement the lectures and does even help in deeper understanding. The only point I would suggest for improvement is to make quizzes a bit more challenging and more practically applicable. It can be down by adding some more questions in the quiz like a minimum of 10.

By Derick W J O

Nov 7, 2019

The course really stretched me and helped me to develop skills needed to lead in everyday life. The case studies reflected how difficult the problems leaders face in the real world are. However, the DTI case study stood out for me as it depicted what corporate leaders often have to contend with in their work. After completing this course, I feel more confident in my ability to lead.

By Erik R

Jan 20, 2017

The course itself contains interesting material. However, identical to the course one of the specialization, the writing assignments of the modules focus too much whether the student can name all learned phrases from the module rather than letting them express the answer in their own words in order to show that they understood the content.

By Zaw Z O

Sep 18, 2018

This research based specialization has provided the fundamental knowledge and essential skills in from daily strategic leadership to Managing organization effectively; you will see how the course is precise and concise that leads the potential leverage for achieving your organization’s goals and sustaining its long-term success.

By Anton F

Sep 26, 2016

great course. Fantastic. The only thing that could be improved is collaboration part, that feels a bit under-thought. Description of case studies could be better in terms of what students should do.

By Curtis N

Jan 28, 2019

The grading criteria for the peer-reviewed writing should be made available before submission. Some of the criteria were not always obvious from the lectures alone. Very informative course.

By Fares S

Jun 13, 2020

Material is really good but then it would be great if we can link theory to practical examples or real examples happen and how these were solves or not solved due to the principals followed.

By Nicola M

Mar 7, 2017

All the concepts you need, to manage the everyday leadership, either at work or in your private life.

Professor Gregory Northcraft goes always straight to the point, very clear and effective

By Sreenivas V

Mar 27, 2017

Very interesting and very much useful course - I really liked it. Very easy to implement in your daily leadership roles.

By Cardo M

Jun 13, 2016

Very much enjoyed the class. Articulated ideas in a clear manner allowing one to reflect and best approach problems.

By SHAKET K

Feb 1, 2021

Must Course for Team leader and managers, for better management understanding and managing the team.

By Tom W

Aug 29, 2016

Very nicely put together course with straight forward examples and well thought out assignments.

By Thaer D

Jun 2, 2020

it's really useful course, I got learned many things that could help me in my future career.

By Brandon L

Aug 7, 2016

A little light in terms of depth but very well structured and clearly presented.

By Jennifer N

Feb 26, 2018

Great class. Provides a wealth of practical knowledge for leading people.

By Carlos A L O

Jun 22, 2020

It shows the complex reality of applying leadership in the workplace.

By Rajat G

Feb 27, 2019

Great course on negotiation and conflict resolution for team leaders

By Vinit M

Dec 26, 2020

It was wonderful course about leadership and conflict management.

By Simon E

Feb 14, 2017

Good conceptual insight. Basic but thought provoking assignments.

By Andrea R

Mar 4, 2016

Very good & useful information that can be easily implemented.

By josphat g

Dec 7, 2020

Detailed course that has what 21st century leader needs

By shane p

Nov 28, 2016

very good course, very informative will teach you alot

By Chris M

Mar 5, 2018

First course was better, but this wasn't too bad

By Rosario A T

Sep 8, 2021

All perfect a part the peer review

By Jie C

Aug 5, 2019

Overall is great and helpful.