Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced by Macquarie University

4.7
stars
5,769 ratings

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces around the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. Across the globe, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, completing this course will position you ahead of others, so keep reading. In this last course of our Specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the first three courses: Essentials, Intermediate I + II. In the Advanced course, we will prepare you to become a power user of Excel - this is your last step before specializing at a professional level. The topics we have prepared will challenge you as you learn how to use advanced formula techniques and sophisticated lookups. You will clean and prepare data for analysis, and learn how to work with dates and financial functions. An in-depth look at spreadsheet design and documentation will prepare you for our big finale, where you will learn how to build professional dashboards in Excel....

Top reviews

JR

Sep 22, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course, as well as all the courses in the Specialization. The instructors do an excellent job of breaking down each subject in an easy to understand logical progression.

D

Apr 15, 2021

I enjoyed this course so much. I learned a lot about how I can become a better learner. This course was very interesting and useful. I have some tools that I can use to optimize my learning potential.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,421 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

By Heike S

Apr 8, 2019

The course was exactly what I wanted. Very well-explained and clear. Also fun, and I learnt a lot of information which will be really useful.

The structure, the order in which material is given, the difficulty of the course are very thought over. And the most important, I feel that the course is very effective. I really enjoyed all the quizzes and assignments of the course.

The creation of a dashboard was a lot of fun and brings me many benefits in the company.

BUT ... this part of the specialization was a challenge. And I was happy when I did it. Giving up was not an option.

By Vanessa C U M

Oct 2, 2020

EXCELLENT !!! I am amazed of all the WONDERFUL things I just learned with this course. I have made many courses, but this, is actually the greatest course ever, REALLY!! I have studies everything from finance to marketing, but I think this is a course that EVERYBODY should do. You will never dare to imagine all the amazing things excel has, and how efficient your job will be from now on. Excel is used in every company, I think this course would change your life. Super recommended. 100% Btw teachers are very good too. Thank you for everything. Amazing course!!!!!!!!! EXCELLENT.

By Ka K C C

Jun 23, 2021

Absolutely love this course. It's well structured, informative, detailed, crystal clear, easy to follow along, and so much fun! I've enjoyed the learning process thoroughly every step of the way. Highly recommended to anyone who use Excel, you would definitely learned some practical techniques which would be useful next time you use Excel. It's exhilarating to be able to learn better ways to do thing efficiently. Wish there are more Excel related courses to come, as there are still so much more to learn! Many thanks to Nicky, Prashan, and Yvonne.

By Deleted A

Jan 16, 2021

Just wow! Best course on MS Excel not just on Coursera, but on all the E-learning platforms. I never imagined one can teach how to use a software without sucking the life out of the learner. 20 on 10 for the efforts the team made while designing this course. No matter what part of the course it is (videos, practice exercises or quizzes), you will always be engaged and that surely would help in better assimilation of concepts.

Didn't know till now that Excel really has so many features to facilitate working with large chunk of data. Loved it!

By Cynthia D

Nov 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The lessons were explained beautifully and very clearly in the videos. I learned many new things on using MS Excel - functions, formula (that I've seen before but don't know what they actually do), ways to check errors, all three what-if analysis tools, how to use combo box and slider. The weekly assessments are also enjoyable and challenging, sometimes I'm proud when I get the formula right, sometimes I'm frustrated when I answered wrong and later on learned that the formula is so short and simple.

By Ander D A

Apr 2, 2019

Great course to enhance your knowledge in Excel. I can only but recommend it, it went beyond my expectations, and boasts many features that online courses should have: Entertaining, modular so it's easy to follow, well made, high quality videos, full of examples, with active discussion forums... I went through all the Excel Skills for Business specialization and I have been delighted with the quality of the contents. I would also like to take advantage of this review to congratulate the teachers for a well-made job. Keep it up!

By Nandan R

Aug 1, 2021

Nice Course

By Samantha-Anne M

Dec 9, 2023

Could pick up that some of the formulas even though exactly done as explained in the video's didn't work, with 1 instance I could pick the formula was indeed incorrect as per the Interactive Dashboard where the original formula entered changed after enter was press. Also, why can we not get a complete book of the working and formulas after the certificate is obtained in order to see where mistakes were made and to actually learn from them, where now we only now we had the answers wrong, but we don't know what we did wrong or how to fix this, which is not really learning anything. I also feel that there was a lot of questions asked on work that wasn't discussed in the Video's. And the Certificate does not even have my name on it even though after every assessments I had to fill my name in??? Why is that

By Daniel F C

Jul 31, 2020

Disappointed. After having greatly enjoyed the other three courses. This is irregular in its content, there are very useful things and others that I think are totally expendable and extremely complex. It is not impossible to do, much less, but the effort / results ratio makes it very tedious.

By ANKIT A

May 26, 2021

Every course in this specialization other than this is awesome but I didn't know what happened to the team for this course. The video explanations wasn't up to the mark, the practice challenges was absent. Disappointed by this course. Rest all courses is way above average.

By Giovanni T

Dec 1, 2020

I felt that the OFFSET, ADDRESS and INDIRECT functions were very badly explained. It took me hours before I understood them, and even now I feel like I didn't exactly get them fully!

By Veekshith N

Jul 14, 2023

The way this course was hurried up with simple explanations compared to the difficult to comprehend assessments was very poor from the faculty. It was as if they were least bothered about the students taking up this course. Previous 3 courses of Essentials, Intermediate 1 & 2 was taught decently, but in this, questions asked in assessments were having a daylight difference between what was taught. It was as if students had to waste their valuable time on understanding the questions first. Even most of the questions in all the assessments in this course was way difficult as they were no where taught in the videos. Week 5 in Advanced was poorly taught. The meaning of teaching is to make a student understand. But here in week 5 the tutor is not evening helping a bit by not explaining why these functions are used. It was so frustrating I had to turn my laptop off. Week 5 did not even help me 1%.

This is a bad experience to have as a student who joined this paid course to learn valuable skills. Now this leaves me with a skeptical thought if to choose Coursera or not again.

By Umer N

Apr 30, 2023

I am happy to share my thoughts on the Coursera course "Excel Skills for Business: Advanced". The course was an excellent resource for advancing my Excel skills, and I found it to be very effective in helping me improve my knowledge and abilities in the program.

The course was well-structured and easy to follow, with clear explanations and examples of advanced Excel functions and techniques. The hands-on exercises and quizzes helped me to reinforce my understanding of the material, and the real-world scenarios presented in the course were helpful in showing me how to apply the skills I learned in practical situations.

Additionally, I appreciate the financial assistance provided by Coursera, which made the course accessible to me despite my financial constraints. It is great to know that Coursera is committed to making quality education available to everyone, regardless of their financial situation.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their Excel skills, whether for personal or professional purposes. The course is an excellent investment in your professional development, and the skills you will learn will be useful in a wide range of industries and job roles. Thank you, Coursera, for providing such an excellent course!

By Ronny D

Nov 14, 2021

I have really enjoyed this course and the Specialization. The instructors are incredibly good to explain complex topics and to make them easy to digest. They cover a lot of ground and the lessons you will learn can be immediately used on your day-to-day job. When you forget a technique/formula, because you do not use it often, a simple look to a previous exercise will do the trick.

This course is the advanced one. As you are reaching its end, around week 5, the philosophy will change a little bit. You will be less pointed toward the answer. In consequence, you might feel frustrated at times because you will not be able to identify in which exact lesson/video you can find the answer. I personally think it is done on purpose. This is indeed a way to encourage us to learn how to find our own answers. Not all the problems we will face are the same as the one explained during the lessons. Be ready to embrace the challenge and have fun!

By Tanzeel U R

Feb 7, 2023

I recently completed the Excel Skills for Business: Advanced course on Coursera and I was thoroughly impressed with the level of instruction and the quality of the course material. The instructor was knowledgeable and expertly explained complex Excel concepts and features, making them easy to understand and apply. The course covered advanced Excel techniques that are essential for business professionals and the hands-on approach of the course allowed me to put my newfound knowledge into practice. The assignments were challenging and helped me further develop my skills. This course was a valuable addition to the Excel Skills for Business Intermediate Part One and Part Two courses and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to take their Excel skills to the highest level. I would rate this course a 5 out of 5.

By Ubaid u R

Sep 18, 2023

Absolutely, I can't emphasize enough how crucial Excel is for one's career. This course is truly outstanding and stands as the best option on the internet. I strongly recommend enrolling in the full specialization rather than individual courses, as it surpasses any other available options. What's even better is that you can access it through Financial Aid. Coursera is an incredibly generous platform, especially for individuals like me who may not afford hefty monthly subscription fees. However, I must highlight the 'Excel Skills for Business Specialization,' which is taught by the amazing instructors Ma'am Nicky Bull and Sir Dr. Prashan S. M. Karunaratne. Their teaching style is not only informative but also engaging and enjoyable, making learning a daily delight.

By Jeffrey S

Apr 1, 2022

I have a Ph.D. in Mathematics, have been a data scientist for 10+ years, have been an Excel power-user for 20+ years, and have authored books that incorporate mdoeling and simulation using Excel. However, I learned so much in this course and its prerequisites that I am dumfounded to explain, except to say I'have already applied some of this new knowledge in my daily work.

My work for US Space Force entails testing space systems by collecting and analyzing data and training other analysts to do the same. We have at our disposal, JMP, Python, RStudio, MATLAB, Databricks, etc. Yet, I have been engaged in analysis in which the sole analysis tool on a particular system was Excel. You'll never know when you'll need to use the skills provided by this course.

By Herman A M R

Mar 25, 2021

Es un curso muy bien diseñado y desarrollado, con CALIDAD. Desde el contenido, la calidad de los instructores, y los materiales de aprendizaje, que hacen que el aprendiz se sienta motivado para seguir aprendiendo con más interés, en cada módulo de aprendizaje. El proceso de evaluación, de cada semana, muy bien elaborado, otorgándole al estudiante, la posibilidad de mejorar su calificación. Y todo en su conjunto, logran que el alumno se sienta satisfecho, por lo aprendido.

Es un curso muy recomendable. F E L I C I D A D E S!!

By Rodolfo P L

Jul 29, 2020

After taking some courses on Excel, I can say that this specialization covers every subject one needs to know to excel at work using Excel. I recommend taking all the courses in the specialization because at some point you will need to use tools/tips/functions/etc. from previous courses to complete the final assignments. Also, do not skip the weekly practice challenges since they are very useful to put in practice everything reviewed during the week from another perspective.Thanks for creating this specialization.

By Teyash A

Mar 4, 2021

What an amazing course! I managed to learn the skills at a rapid rate given my 6 years of Excel experience and using it extensively in the Engineering industry but now I feel more confident to do business related work. An excellent course which I must say I am very proud to be a part and a huge thank you goes to those at Macquarie University for making it so awesome! Sincerest thanks towards Coursera too for being the platform that allowed for skills such as these to be learnt in such an organized manner.

By Asish B

Oct 24, 2020

when i sign up for coursera,this course that i have been first enrolled.I have many courses enrolled.But this course i think most probably the best course in coursera platform.All the assignment,quizzes and videos ,notes and all the things are nicely organized..I have a Youtube Channel where i upload new video.This channel name is keypoints link is:-

https://youtu.be/M1-t23oGqfo

.You can watch here how i solve this quizzes and final assignment.you can find solution.have a look in this channel.Thank You.

By Talal F

Jan 2, 2022

I have gone through all the way from beginner to specialization and my opinion is as under:

- Course content is very informative.

- The instructors gives a scenario based learning, which helps to understand the concept and purpose of formulas and different calculations to be performed in excel.

- Those who are new to excel, i would recommend them to complete this specialization from course 1 (essential) to course 4 (advance).

This was a very good course. Thank you Coursera for this great course!

By PRAMOD R

Feb 4, 2020

This course has made learning excel functions very interesting backed with very good explanations with examples and loads of practice sessions to understand the concepts. It has certainly made me more confident in developing syntax in a logical way , which I was grappling with all this while. I am sure with regular practice and application of functions from this course I will be able to handle the data in more effective and efficient manner and explore the other functions confidently.

By KOWCIKA M

Jan 17, 2021

I chose this course as Excel is a versatile program with varied applications in so many different fields. It is hard to think of a business that does not rely on Excel. Mastering excel can be an invaluable professional skill.

I benefited learning advanced functions and data structures form this carefully tailored course.

The instructors did a great job at keeping the participants engaged throughout.

I must also appreciate the convenience and flexibility of learning on Coursera.

By Isabel R R

Nov 25, 2019

An excellent course!

Although I had difficulties in some parts (I am a Spanish student, so I have an ES version of this software and it doesn't help too much...), I would like to congratulate the teachers for all their hard work preparing this amazing content :) I have learned a lot and I am actually applying all this knowledge at work.

I feel that, maybe, these courses have been the most complete and well-prepared I have ever taken, and I have done a lot.

Thank you very much!!