Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced by Macquarie University

4.7
stars
3,922 ratings
998 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces around the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. Across the globe, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, completing this course will position you ahead of others, so keep reading. In this last course of our Specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the first three courses: Essentials, Intermediate I + II. In the Advanced course, we will prepare you to become a power user of Excel - this is your last step before specializing at a professional level. The topics we have prepared will challenge you as you learn how to use advanced formula techniques and sophisticated lookups. You will clean and prepare data for analysis, and learn how to work with dates and financial functions. An in-depth look at spreadsheet design and documentation will prepare you for our big finale, where you will learn how to build professional dashboards in Excel....

Top reviews

JR
Sep 22, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course, as well as all the courses in the Specialization. The instructors do an excellent job of breaking down each subject in an easy to understand logical progression.

SR
May 20, 2020

Thank you for everything. The course is amazing! It really improved my skills, and actually I've made some great analysis at work thanks to this, so it's more than useful.\n\nThank you once again.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 997 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

By Mohammad O B S

Jul 25, 2020

I have to admit that this is actually one of the most essential course on coursera. This gives an total insight view of how Excel work. I myself was a novice on this topic. Now i can confidently say how familiar i am with all the functions of excel. I would like to thank all of the instructors of this course for breaking down the concepts to such extend for the ease of understanding. I will always be in-debt to you. Finally, Thanks to Allah for giving me the patience on being in track with this course throughout.

By Gowthamraj B

Dec 29, 2020

A very useful course with interesting insights. Course assignments are not only based on the practice sessions and it is making us to learn much more things than the practice sessions to get the solution. Overall very interesting and useful experience and learning.

Though all the areas won't be helpful in everyone's working styles, one can definitely use the relevant functions in their working environment and complete the tasks in smarter and easier way.

Thanks to the Team Coursera for this wonderful course.!

By Dinara T

Jan 24, 2021

The whole course (specialization) was a real challenge for me. Especially the last module (Excel Skills for Business:Advanced"). There were confusing questions and topics that unfortunately weren't discussed as detailed as the rest of the specialization. I always thought that I know enough, but through the modules I learned so much! I would like to thank instructors! You all put so much effort. Your videos are amazing! I will definitely use it. And will use excel worksheets as memory card.

By Angelica T R

May 18, 2020

It was a very interesting course, can't wait to put in practice all the learned skills in this courses.

I made all the courses for Excel Skills for Business. In the beginning of the courses the Excel workbooks provided had a lot of attention to detail. In this last course some of the Excel workbooks provided had some mistakes in them. Nothing mayor that prevents you from learning and working with them, but that's the reason I give 4 stars instead of 5.

By Heehyun J

Jul 4, 2019

I started with Excel Skills for Business: Essentials and finally arrived here! Very proud of myself. I did not know anything about Excel before this specialization program and now I am fairly confident with my Excel skills. The Advanced course though, was a bit challenging. I didn't really like the visualization/dashboard lecture at the end but liked learning about advanced functions and stuff. Huge thanks to Macquarie Uni and the program managers!

By Arpit A

May 7, 2020

A challenging, yet highly rewarding course. This specialisation has made me significantly improve my Excel skills. However, in this particular course, I feel, there were some modules where some additional practice was required, as the videos weren't sufficient. Critical thinking is involved, and it took some time and effort, but in the end, I could successfully complete the specialisation. Hope to use these skills effectively in business someday.

By Jahranga B

Feb 11, 2021

Generally good, ups the anti in the last few weeks. To the organizers: Please review and revise based on participant comments. There needs to be more cohesion between the video content, practice material and testing applied. To often the video content was basic while practice and testing occurred at advance and expert. This is disheartening especially given the challenges of MOOC Learning even for the most determined and dedicated student.

By Florian C

Jan 5, 2018

Great course to improve or refresh/complement your knowledge on Excel and how to deal with row data in order to get something out of it.

I would say that the weekly practice test may included to much hints but i truly appreciate that sometimes you provided us with intermediate results, which were not the answers to the question, to check that our own results where corrects.

I wish I was able to see the correction of the Final assessment.

By Veronica P

Aug 3, 2020

The videos, files and explanations were amazing and very easy to follow. Personally I found the instructions and explanations provided by Nikky to be very helpful, clear and detailed, needed for a slow learner like me. The files were easy to follow and helpful to review when I needed to refresh my memory on a newly learned skill. Thank you for offering such a great course to help me improve my excel skills in my day to day use at work.

By Iris W

Jun 21, 2020

Greatly designed course. But Dr. Yvonne Breyer is a much better lecturer than the other. When Dr. Breyer is not teaching, the materials become not clear at all. Also, it will be much better if the TAs can maintain the discussion sections. Even though it is online, maintenance will be more effective for students and help avoid plagiarism. Otherwise, students will find given answers without actually passing and understanding this course.

By Paul J B

Feb 6, 2019

While this was a great course, I'm giving it 4 stars instead of the 5 I gave for Essentials, Intermediate I, and Intermediate II because I didn't feel there were enough practice exercises, and many of the exercises did not come with solutions. Some of the videos were not as clear as in previous courses also. It was still a great course, however, one I recommend. I just think it could be improved some with a little revision.

By SABRIOUS

Nov 13, 2020

I love these specializations. I have learned a lot.

the first 3 courses are great.I learned how to manipulate and clean and visualize and analyze data with excel. I highly recommended this for anyone who interested to learn excel and used to analyze data.

but week 4 in the last course it should be separate with a new specialization In finance.

because it's not fair to talk about finance in just one week.

By Maëlanne B

Aug 26, 2019

This course was very challenging and dense, I really learnt a lot and had fun, thank you very much for the instructors for this great specialization!

If I had to express one regret, t would be that all of the weekly practice challenges announced in the introduction videos where not always there. It would have been really helpful to have these extra exercises before the final assignments.

By Luis A

Sep 17, 2020

I loved the whole specialization but I definitely have to say that the Final Assessment of Week 5 was a lot harder than any other week of the course. The modules didn't cover the topics thoroughly enough to deal with the complexity of the assessment. Spent a lot of time checking material from youtube in order to deal with the questions.

By ali

Feb 3, 2021

Probably because the content is more difficult and less relevant to my daily work, I found it much harder for me keep up in Course 4. Some teaching video clips could have offered a little more details to smooth out the learning curve.

But it is overall an excellent course designed with great care and dedication.

By Matías E Z P

Oct 12, 2020

No fue tan bueno como los 3 previos, uno o dos cuestionarios fueron mal hechos, con textos larguísimos y poco aprendizaje, considerando las diferencias de idiomas a algunas personas pudo haberlas dejado sin poder resolverlo.

El resto bien, cosas relativamente avanzadas y en general útiles.

Muchas gracias.

By Reka F

Oct 16, 2020

Like the first three courses in the specialization, the videos are great and the material is useful, but the lack of practice challenges (available for only 2 out of the 6 weeks) make the final assignments really frustrating. The videos reference the practice challenges each week, so where did they go?

By Asante C

Dec 12, 2020

This course is a good point to improve any skill one has in Excel, the videos are brief but interesting. The course assignments and other resources such as the practice Challenge gets the best out of your studies and help cement the skills in the various videos. I love this course and its content

By Sid A H

Jun 28, 2020

I really liked the specialization, however I have two feedbacks :

1) I am a Mac user, and in a lot of time I found it hard to find the shortcut or the features, please consider more tips for Mac Users.

2) I would have loved to learn more shortcut in the practice videos and not only on the toolbox.

By Harsh U

Apr 10, 2020

The questions in the weekly assessments and the final assessment are designed such that everyone can take the instructions and the hints and solve them, which is a good thing actually and makes this course suitable to be taken up by everyone. However, they could be made a little more challenging.

By Amit S

May 17, 2020

It is wonderful to complete this course of excel provided by Macquarie University. This course was really helpful for data analysis. Finally i have completed.

Another here a discussion panel should be available live teacher available, so student can interact where he/she stuck with problems.

By Nguyễn L H N

Jun 28, 2019

The final assessment is tough, hope that you can offer the solution after we submit the answer, so that we can check and learn from our mistakes. Now I have completed the course, but it still troubles me. However, all in all, thank you very much for these knowledge. I get many from it.

By Dolores N P R

Oct 6, 2020

Some Tasks from the final assignments were too hard and didn't co-relate with the practice spreadsheets (specially in week 5). Besides this, I can say I learned A LOT about advanced functions and dashboards. The explanations of the tutors were very clear and the videos very concise.

By RAHUL Y

Oct 13, 2020

Absolute awsome course in the area of finance as you will gain multiple excel skills like data representation, dashboard , Financial modeling and much more. The courses is 90 percent partical. The teachers are the best as they explain each and every thing in a systematic way.

By xuru M

Feb 19, 2021

I would not recommend this course if you have not register Essential , intermediate i and ii, cos they are all connect with each course and you would not understand in advance if have no fundamental for previous courses. may just intermedia level is enough.