Chevron Left
Back to Excel Basics for Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Basics for Data Analysis by IBM

4.7
stars
1,485 ratings
273 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide you with basic working knowledge for using Excel spreadsheets for Data Analysis. It covers some of the first steps for working with spreadsheets and their usage in the process of analyzing data. It includes plenty of videos, demos, and examples for you to learn, followed by step-by-step instructions for you to apply and practice on a live spreadsheet. Excel is an essential tool for working with data - whether for business, marketing, data analytics, or research. This course is suitable for those aspiring to take up Data Analysis or Data Science as a profession, as well as those who just want to use Excel for data analysis in their own domains. You will gain valuable experience in cleansing and wrangling data using functions and then analyze your data using techniques like filtering, sorting and creating pivot tables. This course starts with an introduction to spreadsheets like Microsoft Excel and Google Sheets and loading data from multiple formats. With this introduction you will then learn to perform some basic level data wrangling and cleansing tasks and continue to expand your knowledge of analyzing data through the use of filtering, sorting, and using pivot tables within the spreadsheet. By performing these tasks throughout the course, it will give you an understanding of how spreadsheets can be used as a data analysis tool and understand its limitations. There is a strong focus on practice and applied learning in this course. With each lab, you will gain hands-on experience in manipulating data and begin to understand the important role of spreadsheets. Clean and analyze your data faster by understanding functions in the formatting of data. You will then convert your data to a pivot table and learn its features to make your data organized and readable. The final project enables you to show off your newly acquired data analysis skills. By the end of this course you will have worked with several data sets and spreadsheets and demonstrated the basics of cleaning and analyzing data all without having to learn any code. Getting started with Excel is made easy in this course. It does not require any prior experience with spreadsheets or coding. Nor does it require downloads or installation of any software. All you need is a device with a modern web browser, and ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel online at no-cost. However if you already have a desktop version of Excel, you can follow along quite easily as well....

Top reviews

IO
Apr 4, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The lessons are very easy to follow. I completed the hands-on labs and that further solidified the skills taught in the lessons. It's a fantastic course.

AG
Jul 31, 2021

The course has really helped me become familiar with using Excel for data analysis. i recommend it for anyone who has no knowledge about how to use Excel and also for amateur Excel users.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 286 Reviews for Excel Basics for Data Analysis

By Aigiun G

Sep 16, 2021

Great course to learn the basics of analyzing the data in tools like Excel. Instructors did a good job in providing clear explanations and hands on study materials.

By Wanda H

Jul 21, 2021

Excellent course! It not only reviewed and sometimes enhanced what I know about Excel but this course enlightened me to the new functions that I did not know about.

By Chebo C

Apr 30, 2021

Great Course, I have been an Excel user for some time and after after completing this course I now understand deeply why Excel is so important for Data Analysis.

By PAMELA S

Aug 15, 2021

Actually enjoyed this course and found it very informative and well thought out. Something for everyone regardless of a person's level of Excel expertise.

By Lim H Y

Jun 18, 2021

This is a great course that will provide a good undestanding of Excel and it's functions, but there are still a vast knowledge of Excel yet to be explored.

By Ivan L

Mar 25, 2021

I knew 95% of that already as daily working with Excel, however I've learned some new functions e.g. xlookup. Thank you for the course. Best regards, Ivan

By Md A R

Sep 17, 2021

Very well structured and well define in terms of course design. Learn a lot of new skilled and gain a great deal of knowledge regarding data analysis.

By Adib B

Jul 31, 2021

Thanks Coursera for providing this condition for all Enthusiasts

Special thanks to IBM for providing this course in the best possible way

By Valeria S M S

Sep 7, 2021

This course was built for real learning. I loved the way it was structured to provide knowledge and help students put it into practice.

By Katherine M K

Jun 26, 2021

A good summary and refresher on pivot tables. I liked learning how to use FLASH FILL and REMOVE ALL DUPLICATES, FIND & REPLACE spacing

By Khanh T

May 26, 2021

Even though I have been using Excel on a daily basis, there are many new useful functions I could have learned from this program.

By Aaron H

Apr 12, 2021

Great introduction to Excel for Data Analysis. I use excel on a daily basis, and I still found value from this course. Nice Work!

By Tatiana C

Sep 15, 2021

I found for myself that course was a great and very helpful addition to Everyday Excel, Part 1.

Thank you so much!

By Ladislao C S

Jun 30, 2021

Aunque conozco a MS Excel toda mi vida si capté varios tips para poder manejar mejor las tablas pivote o dinámicas

By Brandon J

May 17, 2021

Very informative course that allowed me to implement what I learned in my work setting to improve quality of work.

By ibliz

Jul 27, 2021

Excelente curso, ofrece una buena visión de las funciones de Excel especialmente orientadas al análisis de datos

By Pavan k

Jun 1, 2021

covers all the basics of Excel in the most understanding way and provides projects regarding every procedure.

By Steve R G

Jun 2, 2021

Presenta una excelente introducción al manejo de Excel como herramienta de apoyo en el análisis de datos.

By Kondwani B

Aug 18, 2021

I learnt so many new things, considering I have used Excell for the past 10 years since university.

By Ghulam M A

May 4, 2021

very much thankful to the team of Coursera for providing the best opportunity to skilled ourselves.

By HJ C

May 4, 2021

pretty clear content! The practice is too easy. Can add more gif in hands-on lab to help students

By Ajith B

Apr 29, 2021

Really a fantastic course.. learnt new skills such as pivot tables, data preparation and analysis

By Haris I

May 30, 2021

IT WAS FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE IN COURSERA I JUST LOVE IT I HAVE LEARNED ALOT OF THINGS FROM IT.

By Tùng T L

Jun 8, 2021

The course provides necessary knowledge to work with excel for analysis in fundamental maner

By Martin A L H

Mar 22, 2021

INTERESANTE, EXCELENCIA Y REFUERZO PARA APRENDER Y HACER ANALISIS DE DATOS GRACIAS SALUDOS