Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
6,546 ratings
1,494 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,477 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By chekuri s s v

Sep 01, 2020

this is best start for data analysis course .the course is well aligned from basics to advanced methods.

clear explanation with best examples made this course more beautiful and productive.

By Krishti J

Jul 30, 2020

I was never so much comfortable with either excel or analysis or statistics. I am feeling so much confident and hence continuing with course 2 of this specilization. Thank you Prof. Borle.

By Manish S

Apr 21, 2020

This course is beneficial to every student,mangers or worker of any firm. It can enhance their knowledge toward excel. By completing this course they will able to operate the excel easily.

By Richard S

Jul 26, 2018

It would be nice to be able to go back and review past lessons after not being able to log in for a week or two. I was only able to work on this course in between my other duties at work.

By Qianxian W

Jul 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. It is not very hard but is very useful in terms of learning the Excel functions that help analyse data. I really like the teaching style of the instructor.

By Tim W

Apr 05, 2020

A good introduction. Starts off very basic. But it's also a good recap on some essentials that can be easily forgotten. The data analysis with histograms part at the end was very useful.

By Gautham K K

Mar 22, 2020

Excellent course for a beginner. One can learn from scratch and cover all the important topics with ease. Everything is explained so well. My only suggestion is to include Macros as well

By Vigneshwaran N

Jan 08, 2019

Good course provides a basic basis for data analysis! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel to systematically learn excellent files from each lecture is very helpful.

By Giovanni V

Jul 26, 2020

The instructor explains things clearly, the examples are great and the little quiz at the end of each week are great to practice what you have learned. The course has a great structure.

By kaila v d r

Jun 11, 2017

Excellent way to learn Basic EXCEL from this COURSE. Teaching methods are easy to understand and the practice quiz after every lesson will make you to prepare for the FINAL WEEK QUIZ.

By Leonel G

Apr 26, 2020

Good course, it provides the basis for the rest of the specialization. It is basic, and it may be boring if you already know Excel, but it is necessary as part of the specialization.

By Yanjun X

Oct 08, 2019

The steps are easy to follow and the course pace is just right. However, the sentences are sometimes hard to understand because of the accent and I have to look at the scripts often.

By Sanjhal S

Jan 08, 2017

The course gives a good understanding of basics of Excel. Using various important elements of Excel it successfully shows how data analysis can be performed using this powerful tool.

By Logan R

Aug 16, 2020

Exceptionally easy to follow along, and consequentially easy to remember. Thank you for talking slowly enough for me to understand what you are doing as you do it. Highly recommend.

By Shubham

May 20, 2018

This course gave me a very basic understanding about excel.It started with basic level and went to advanced level gradually.The course will help me to do data analysis much better.

By Ben S

Jan 27, 2017

This course will give you a great foundation in Excel if you have no previous experience. I now feel confident enough in my abilities to try higher level courses involving Excel.

By MANISH K

Aug 19, 2020

There are many courses on excel on Coursera but this course is compact and teaches directly to the point and there is no time waste by harping over too basic unnecessary things.

By Paritosh D

Aug 31, 2018

This course opens your eyes to the potential which Excel offers! A highly recommended introductory course to "see" the big data picture. Many thanks to the Rice University team!

By Sofia L

Jun 06, 2018

I'm using excel for a while but it's good this course refresh you knowledge to ensure you will successfully succeed and accomplish the whole specialization. Thumbs up Coursera.

By beata

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent introduction to Excel. I could revise my knowledge and I learned some new formulas. Videos are very helpful and explanation is clear. I strognly recommend this course!

By Victor A

Mar 04, 2020

This course opened my eyes to the working of Excel as it concerns data analysis. I am glad I took this course and a big thank you to Dr Borle for making the course interesting.

By Sudhan B

Feb 07, 2020

Extremely beautiful course. I was pleased to get learned from the professor. The teaching was efficient. Detailed learning within a short period with excellent teaching method.

By Saurabh P

Dec 15, 2018

A great course! Would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to explore the field of Datascience or data analytics. All the topics in this course are covered very well.

By Nandana C

Jul 24, 2020

Course runs smoothly and slowly..clearly understandable..Practice assignments are also nicely framed to check if we have grasped the skills. Highly recommended for beginners.

By Justin B

Apr 28, 2020

An excellent introduction to Excel. In most workplaces having a basic grasp of Pivot Tables, V-Lookups, and IF commands is essential. This course will provide those skills.