Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization in Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization in Excel by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
454 ratings
115 reviews

About the Course

In an age now driven by "big data", we need to cut through the noise and present key information in a way that can be quickly consumed and acted upon making data visualization an increasingly important skill. Visualizations need to not only present data in an easy to understand and attractive way, but they must also provide context for the data, tell a story, achieving that fine balance between form and function. Excel has many rivals in this space, but it is still an excellent choice, particularly if it's where your data resides. It offers a wealth of tools for creating visualizations other than charts and the chart options available are constantly increasing and improving, so the newer versions now include waterfall charts, sunburst diagrams and even map charts. But what sets Excel apart is its flexibility, it gives us total creative control over our designs so if needed we could produce our own animated custom chart to tell the right story for our data. Over five weeks we will explore Excel's rich selection of visualization tools using practical case studies as seen through the eyes of Rohan, an environmental analyst. Rohan is required to produce visualizations that will show trends, forecasts, breakdowns and comparisons for a large variety of environmental data sets. As well as utilising the usual chart types he wants to use conditional formats, sparklines, specialised charts and even create his own animated charts and infographics. In some cases, he will also need to prepare the data using pivot tables to drill down and answer very specific questions. We are going to help him achieve all this and present our finished visualizations in attractive reports and dashboards that use tools like slicers and macros for automation and interactivity. These are the topics we will cover: Week 1: Dynamic visualizations with conditional formatting, custom number formatting, sparklines and macros Week 2: Charting techniques for telling the right story Week 3: Creating specialised and custom charts Week 4: Summarising and filtering data with pivot tables and pivot charts Week 5: Creating interactive dashboards in Excel This is the second course in our Specialization on Data Analytics and Visualization. The first course: Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis, covers data preparation and cleaning but also teaches some of the prerequisites for this course like tables and named ranges as well as text, lookup and logical functions. To get the most out of this course we would recommend you do the first course or have experience with these topics. In this course we focus on Data Visualization in Excel, join us for this exciting journey....

Top reviews

AR

Nov 26, 2021

Excellent course, all the videos and material on point, a lot to practice, i did many courses and specializations and this one is excellent in so many aspects, i put it like a role model.

GB

Feb 4, 2022

Absolutely fantastic course! I've been using Excel for nearly 20 years and I cannot tell you how many times I STILL found myself saying "Oh, that's neat!" Definitely worth your time!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 128 Reviews for Data Visualization in Excel

By Andrés G M

Nov 24, 2021

Covers all the basics of Excel data visualization, all the topics are super usefull and it's very easy to follow along. The course gives you a full view of the available tools and also shows some interesting tricks. Excellent content! Thanks!

By Carlos G D O

Apr 9, 2022

Es un curso muy completo, trabajas tablas dinámicas, macros y dashboards, todo orientado a tener una salida atractiva e interactiva de los datos, sientan las bases sobre buenas prácticas para contar una historia con los datos.

By Sahil k

Apr 3, 2022

I can't thank enough to the teachers for sharing their valueable insights in this course. They did a great job.

This world needs more courses like this; perfect blend of theoratical and practical knowledge.

Thank you once again

By Arushi G

May 6, 2021

It was a wonderful course, teaching me how to visualize data in Excel. The concepts were explained easily and in a beautiful manner and the assignments were designed in such a way that can test your knowledge in the best way.

By Chase W

Jul 12, 2021

This course (and series) has been very eye opening! I thought I was good with excel but not only have I learned how to do certain tasks much more efficiently, I have learned several new tricks. Highly Recommend.

By Luis S

Apr 15, 2022

Muy buen curso, amplía mucho el horizonte de qué tipo de gráficas existen y podemos usar, y cómo utilizar de manera diferente y creativa las gráficas que ya conocemos. Recomiendo este curso para todo el mundo

By André L C d R S

Apr 4, 2021

I'm not able to express all my gratitude to Professors Nicky and Prashan. They were so nice as tutors and explained everything in such a great way. Thank you very much for that! Greetings from Brazil!

By Asdrúbal C R

Nov 27, 2021

Excellent course, all the videos and material on point, a lot to practice, i did many courses and specializations and this one is excellent in so many aspects, i put it like a role model.

By Juanmi R

Apr 14, 2021

Magnífico curso para dominar gráficos e interactividad en Excel. Es imprescindible si quieres aprender a tener muy bien organizados tus datos y a exponerlos de la forma más apropiada!

By Greg B

Feb 5, 2022

Absolutely fantastic course! I've been using Excel for nearly 20 years and I cannot tell you how many times I STILL found myself saying "Oh, that's neat!" Definitely worth your time!

By Andrea M

Jun 7, 2022

Even if some of the topics were already touched upon in the other Excel specialisation, there are very good tips and insights on creating pivot tables and dashboards.

By Prinvia P

Jul 10, 2021

Highly recommended! Course videos are well-paced and have very clear explanation. Each topics are taught deep and detailed, with a step-by-step process. Thank you!

By Jibrael J S o S | L

Feb 16, 2022

Very well made content. Good assignment and assesment. As a Professor I found the course very useful for my students and also to help me become a better teacher

By Bilal I

Apr 25, 2021

Macquarie University courses are very helpful. I learned a lot from this course. I will recommend it any anyone who wants to learn data visualization in excel.

By César C

Aug 18, 2021

No se si se podría agregar algo mas, es excelente, y lo mejor son las evaluaciones, donde pones en practica todo lo aprendido y te hace esforzar. Gracias

By Muskan k

Oct 25, 2021

The best thing about this course it's took your less time and gave you best knowledge, I am very thankful to coursera and also my college (MIT WPU)

By Augustin N

Mar 24, 2021

Un excellent cours qui vaut vraiment la peine d'être suivi. Je me croyais spécialiste en EXCEL mais j'avoue que j'ai beaucoup appris dans ce cours.

By Leren V

Nov 26, 2021

This course is very well structured and would be useful to anyone who wants to create Excel dashboards efficiently using many of Excels features.

By Marc T

Jun 29, 2021

Hello! I really appreciate the content and the teaching strategy! This is one more skill that is added to my list of skills. Thank you

By Marco A L Z

May 18, 2022

Muy buen curso para recordar temas, recibir tips y sobre todo prácticar diferentes escenarios para tener mas herramientas creativas

By Binoy G

Sep 17, 2021

Excellent; I've never seen such a method for visualising data with Excel in any other course. I learned something new here. Thanks.

By XUAN, X

Jul 7, 2021

I learned a lot of very useful tools in data visualization and the easy to follow practices are great reference for future usage.

By Karen R

Sep 30, 2021

I learned so much from this course! Ready to take what I've learned and start building some handy-dandy dashboards for work. :)

By Islam A A M I E

Apr 23, 2022

The way of teaching and how the material and the assessments are presented are so nice and convenient. Recommended for sure!!

By Mareeya P

Jan 30, 2022

I love this course so much!! it has got tips and tricks which you can tweak your dashboard to make it looks more interesting!