Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Essentials by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
45,726 ratings

About the Course

In this first course of the specialization Excel Skills for Business, you will learn the essentials of Microsoft Excel. Within six weeks, you will be able to expertly navigate the Excel user interface, perform basic calculations with formulas and functions, professionally format spreadsheets, and create visualizations of data through charts and graphs. Whether you are self-taught and want to fill in the gaps for better efficiency and productivity, or whether you have never used Excel before, this course will set you up with a solid foundation to become a confident user and develop more advanced skills in later courses. The best way to learn Excel is to use Excel. In this course, learners will solve a broad range of business problems as they apply the Excel skills and techniques they learn along the way. This course uses downloadable Excel workbooks and full data sets with applied examples and practical challenge exercises. This provides learners with countless opportunities to practice their Excel skills while discovering new and useful productivity features of Excel for a variety of business contexts. Spreadsheet software is one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, make sure to position yourself ahead of the rest by adding Excel skills to your employment portfolio....

Top reviews

KG

Jun 8, 2020

Very good teaching of fundamentals. Everything was explained in a really structured manner. Final assessment was like cherry on the cake as it helped in revisiting what has been taught over the weeks.

DT

Feb 8, 2021

Really well done! You kept me interested and motivated, and that's not easy to do!

I enjoyed the balance of instructional videos and hands-on exercises, and I'm excited to try the Intermediate now.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 10,000 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

By 2K19/PE/035 M

Nov 1, 2022

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organised and focused on practical situations. I particularly enjoyed the bits of psychological research shared in the content. This course was short but very informative and very helpful for an aspiring leader like myself

By Sriram P

Nov 8, 2020

Excellent Teaching by Nicky Mam Prashan Sir, I really loved the slow pace in which they taught all the essential concepts, and some important tips and shortcuts that they gave in between the lesson came in really handy!

Thank You Nicky Mam and Prashan Sir, You made my excel experience easy.

By Brittney W

Aug 15, 2020

This course is exceptional. The subject matter is presented in a logical and practical manner. The practice quizzes are very helpful in determining if you've understood the various lessons taught. I cannot wait to take the other related courses! I've learned so many new things about Excel!

By Peter K

Jul 14, 2020

This course really helped me out, it cleared up many of the issues I faced when working with Excel. It is obvious that the instructors know what they're talking about.

I can wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone who want to turn Excel frustration into Excel with strong confidence.

By Shubham T

Jun 12, 2020

A very nice course that slowly takes you through the most essential Excel skills. Perfect for a beginner. Would recommend to get yourself also used to the other Excel tools during and after the course, since the course only explores the most useful options. Thank you, Prashan and Niki _/\_

By AYUSH K M

May 28, 2020

I have learnt Excel from many other platforms and then my friends recommended me Coursera, when I started doing this course, it seemed overwhelming but when you actually pull through is when you learn it. And you learn it for lifetime. Amazing course, Kudos to team. #practicemakespermanent

By Sergio A M O

May 9, 2020

Really useful content. I had experience using excel before, but as they said, I was self taught. Now I have filled many lacks of knowledge that I had about Excel basics. Thank you so much, I recommend this course 100%. I am going for the intermediate 1 to keep learning and filling my gaps.

By Jilianne C

May 4, 2020

Though have been using Excel as an undergrad before, I realized that I missed out a lot in Excel. Taking this Excel Skills for Business: Essentials really helped me to be more confident in Excel and to fill in lapses in knowledge about the software. Thank you Coursera for this opportunity!

By Loo Z Y

Mar 23, 2022

This course provide good materials for basic Excel knowledge.

If you are new to Excel, it is good for you to start here.

But if you already have basic knowledge, this course will only give you some good knowledge about shortcuts or specific function, you should go for the next level course.

By Ruslan K

Dec 13, 2020

I very like this course! I've got new knowledge of Excel. But I am not saying that I am not familiar with it. Very like the format of education. I think it is the best way to educate in Coursera. Very impressed. I am going further on the next steps of that specialization. Great thunk you!

By Lorrany A S

Aug 26, 2020

I am very satisfied with this course, it's very didatic and doesn't leave no one behind. If you speak English you can learn all... We practiced a lot, and that's really important. It was a soft, fun and essential course. Congrats to team in the back scenes, I'm moving forward now, thanks.

By Asikur R

Jul 29, 2020

This course just gave me the opportunity to learn a lot about excel and it makes me feeling more confident in future. Instructors Nicki and Prashan was just awesome throughout the whole course. Thanks a lot to Macquire University for offering this course. Its just an extraordinary course.

By Michael F

May 3, 2020

Thank you for such an engaging experience with this course and that I really enjoyed Prashan and Nicky inspirational talks. The final test was definitely challenging but it made it even more rewarding passing. I will recommend this to my friends in the future. Thanks again.

Sincerely, Mike

By Nidal H

May 2, 2020

This course includes the basic essential knowledge to use Microsoft Excel with keyboard shortcuts. The best part I liked about this course is the quiz. They are of mostly practical questions than theoretical. You have to workout the given questions in Excel and find out the answer for it.

By Jayant V

Aug 30, 2020

This is a very Knowledge gaining platform the videos are the best and the teachers were very best and the quiz and every this thing in the course was very great and the best part is the reset the deadline of the course which is the best option .

i love this course and the teaching style .

By Jeryl Y S

Jul 20, 2020

Very good foundational Microsoft Excel course. Instructors were engaging and thought really useful stuff, thought I was decent at Excel till I took this course and realised I was missing out so many functions. Really recommend this, never felt the content was boring/useless at any point.

By Pelesa M

Jan 6, 2023

For the most of us who self-taught Excel, we think we know Excel until you take this course then you realise maybe you don't really know Excel.

This course gives those "ohhh!" moments, it equips you with proper jargon and shows you all the easy and right ways to do things you self-taugh.

By Ekin C Y

Aug 13, 2021

I have no idea about Excel before taking this course ,but now I am confident about using program. This course was very beneficial for me. I am so excited for other parts of this course. I am insistently recommend you to join this course if you want to learn Excel efficiently and easily.

By Chi N L

Jun 28, 2021

Thank you for everything. I have successfully completed the "Excel Skills for Business: Essentials" taught by a talented team at Macquarie University. It really improved my skills and make my job easier. Therefore, I am willing to recommend it to anyone ready to learn new useful skills!

By Ebby J

Jun 17, 2021

The introduction by the tutors and explanation on each topic, the videos , work sheets, quizzes and Ninja points are all great. Its a very good starting course with most topics covered for my daily work, tabulating, creating charts, and all the necessary information in there. Thank you!

By V.Vijay M B T C

Sep 10, 2020

I have been using Excel for a very long time. Being autodidactic, I have picked up enough at my own, to carry on my office job. Going through the course in a systematic manner made me even more confident. Thank You Prashan and Nicky from Macquarie University for making it easy to learn.

By T.

Aug 5, 2020

I really like the way they demonstrate every action then immediately have a test on the knowledge I just learned. There are lots of things that I thought I already knew, but my knowledge was not thorough. The course has truly given me a foundation and solidified what I've already known.

By Sajol K M

Jun 22, 2020

At first i would like to thanks the Coursera team to give such a wonderful opportunity. I also thanks to MACQUARIE University team for learn a wonderful think just like Excel. Its really need for me. I learn a lot of about excel. I think it really help me in the near future. Thank you.

By Sagar C

Jun 21, 2020

To be honest, the best course to try your hand at as a beginner. At each and every step you give a test of your understanding. The practice tests during the course and final assessments at the end of every week have been structured in a way to make you learn every excel skill perfectly!

By Theodore P

Jan 31, 2019

Brilliant primer on the basics of Excel. Most online courses teaching excel usually gloss over the topic. Thankfully this course gets to the nitty and gritty of Excel basics. Even a seasoned pro user can learn something. I give it 5+ stars!! Can't wait to complete the other 3 courses