Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
13,520 ratings
3,126 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In the United States alone, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. Research by Burning Glass Technologies and Capital One shows that digitals skills lead to higher income and better employment opportunities at a time when digital skills job are growing much faster than non-digital jobs. In this second course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the Essentials course. Intermediate Skills I will expand your Excel knowledge to new horizons. You are going to discover a whole range of skills and techniques that will become a standard component of your everyday use of Excel. In this course, you will build a solid layer of more advanced skills so you can manage large datasets and create meaningful reports. These key techniques and tools will allow you to add a sophisticated layer of automation and efficiency to your everyday tasks in Excel. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Prashan and Nicky will guide you through each week (and I am even going to make a guest appearance in Week 5 to help you learn about my favourite tool in Excel - shh, no spoilers!). Work through each new challenge step-by-step and in no time you will surprise yourself by how far you have come. This time around, we are going to follow Uma's trials and tribulations as she is trying to find her feet in a new position in the fictitious company PushPin. For those of you who have done the Essentials course, you will already be familiar with the company. Working through her challenges which are all too common ones that we encounter everyday, will help you to more easily relate to the skills and techniques learned in each week and apply them to familiar and new contexts....

Top reviews

RZ
Jun 5, 2020

Wow, I have no word to say about this course. Its video content, Structure is awesome. The tutor is good. Week assignments and quizzes are always ready to make our practice and make concept permanent.

CM
Aug 22, 2020

I love this course a lot! Thank you very much for this course. It is easy to understand and follow. The practice challenges are so fun to do. Looking forward to the next course in this specialization.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 3,139 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

By Brahmesh J

Feb 26, 2021

Where are 10 stars? No? I can give only 5 at max out of 5? Well... Okay. :( I'll give 5. This course and overall methodology of the instructions is so superb, I don't have words. The assignments and workbooks are so superbly designed - Hats off to you professors!

By Phokoane A K

Jan 7, 2021

Great course content. Enjoyed the videos because I prefer watching videos over reading. The practice quizzes and assessments that come with workbooks are also a great way to consolidate each week's content and give the learner a chance to practice with real data.

By Md M T

Jul 18, 2020

For a clear understanding of 3D formulas, Named Ranges, Pivot Tables, Pivot chart this course will definitely help you. I have learnt a lot through this course and will complete this specialization for sure. Thanks a lot to Coursera and the honorable Instructors.

By Tetiana I

May 12, 2018

Great course, but it seems to be more for beginners, going to check next courses. How ever the information and examples on subject as well as quizzes, practice exercises and assessments are interesting and structured. Everything works smooth on Mac. Thanks a lot.

By Lorraine A B B

Dec 18, 2020

Tough but you'll learn a lot, requires more practice and memorization before finishing the final assessment. I guess the only problem i see is it has many videos for i believe topics that can be covered in fewer video lectures. Overall highly recommended course!

By Emrah S

Jun 5, 2020

This course is above my expectations. Easy to understand. Well built step by step explanations. Clear and clever information is given very briefly but effectively. Really good workbooks for training yourself.

Thank you to everyone who has efforts in this course.

By Charissa B

Dec 5, 2020

I love the course and the structure - it was very well thought through, including the assignments and exercises, which were very helpful in practicing everything. I really appreciate the explanations and the walk-through of the useful functionalities of Excel.

By Yanqiong C

Aug 3, 2020

Thank you Nicky, thank you Prashan! This is the best excel course I have ever had! I love the setup, training videos combined with practice in each step, I agree with Prashan "Practice make it permanent". I will definitely continue learning with your courses,

By Luis C

Mar 26, 2018

This is an absolutely brilliant course. Thank you all for the effort put into this, I was as you mentioned a self taught Excel user and this really allowed me to get a grasp on tools that I did not even know existed. Looking forward to Intermediate II soon! :)

By Prathamesh P K

Jul 11, 2020

The course was really nice, thorough explanatory and surely added up new things like 3D Formulas, Pivot tables, etc. in my knowledge of excel. Also, the course instructors were really helpful throughout the journey.

Hope to complete the rest courses as well :)

By NAVPREET S

Sep 30, 2020

Excel is a great pillar of manage large data calculation. Linking multiple worksheets and workbooks to manage a large amount of data, 3D formulas, math and text functions make this much easier to do.. I'm glad I'm part of this learning..

Thanks Excel Team...

By MD. M H

Jul 1, 2020

It's a great course to learn Excel for intermediate level. Actually, in business sector more data so that linking , consolidation and pivot table are so important to learn. we can get more than those , so i suggest you all, make a hover over this course. :-)

By Στράτος Κ

May 3, 2020

Very good course! Really useful tools in order to refresh your knowledge or learn new features of Excel. I must admit that all these skills are a must have for daily activities in any organization. I can't wait to see what follows in Intermediate 2 course...

By Ma. L J C D V

Jan 16, 2021

Very challenging and honestly I did not know that there is so much about Excel more than Pivottables. Thank you very much for this class because I learned additional and useful knowledge. Hopefully I can apply it to my present work and for future endeavors.

By Joel B

Dec 2, 2020

It was a great course. I learnt a lot of things about Excel through this course which I was never aware of. I want to thank Macquarie University, all the professors involved in teaching and creation of this course and Coursera for this wonderful opportunity

By Masnoena N

Aug 7, 2020

This course is so well set out and it covers everything step by step. I would suggest that if you are pursuing this course to go through it with the videos and also complete the Practice. I can honestly say that I have learnt a lot in this course.

Thank you.

By Taylor P

Jul 12, 2020

The format of this class is incredible. Students are given the opportunity to practice every skill and function that they learn, with the motto "practice makes permanence" echoed in each lesson. Instruction is clear and thorough. Would highly recommend it!

By Olaniran S O

Apr 20, 2020

i am so blessed to be associated with cousera, this course has taught me things i could never know on my own, i am grateful. i am looking forward to starting a new career with this new skill and knowledge and taking more of other series of excel. Thank you

By Chris G

Oct 30, 2019

This was a great course - text functions were tricky but the lessons on Named Ranges, Tables and Pivot tables were fantastic. I had never used Tables or even named ranges before and wasted untold hours selecting ranges and using slow sort/filter processes.

By Areo D

Dec 9, 2020

I would like to thank the course instructors, DR Pranshant and Dr Nicki for this oppurtunity the way this course was instructed was very easy broken down to even the smallest bits and I enjoyed every bit of it. Thank you to the team and Thank you Coursera

By MANSI A

May 29, 2019

With the help of this course I have now a command over excel. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone who wants to organise their data effectvely and efficiently. Also, I would like to thanks the faculty for such great lessons on the subject.

By Maryna M

Oct 12, 2020

This course is so worth every minute and every penny. Very informative, well structured with plenty of opportunities to practice. Highly recommended for people who wish to develop their Excel skills thus enhancing their performance and saving their time.

By Melissa G P

May 24, 2021

While in college I struggled so so much to understand how to use a pivot table and I even thought they had no real use. However, after completing this course I have learned so much about how useful and powerful they can be! Highly recommend this course.

By Kunal K

Nov 23, 2020

It was a great course, I got to learn everything from the basics and got an idea as to how important and how essential excel is and what is its real potential. It was a wonderfully carved course which taught me a lot of skills and made Excel easy for me

By Nicolas Y S d P

Aug 28, 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot! There was only a small problem with the files from week 4 , because there was an argument for a function "(...."yyyy") that in the portuguese version had to be replaced by (..."aaaa") to represent the year correctly.