Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
14,958 ratings

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In the United States alone, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. Research by Burning Glass Technologies and Capital One shows that digitals skills lead to higher income and better employment opportunities at a time when digital skills job are growing much faster than non-digital jobs. In this second course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the Essentials course. Intermediate Skills I will expand your Excel knowledge to new horizons. You are going to discover a whole range of skills and techniques that will become a standard component of your everyday use of Excel. In this course, you will build a solid layer of more advanced skills so you can manage large datasets and create meaningful reports. These key techniques and tools will allow you to add a sophisticated layer of automation and efficiency to your everyday tasks in Excel. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Prashan and Nicky will guide you through each week (and I am even going to make a guest appearance in Week 5 to help you learn about my favourite tool in Excel - shh, no spoilers!). Work through each new challenge step-by-step and in no time you will surprise yourself by how far you have come. This time around, we are going to follow Uma's trials and tribulations as she is trying to find her feet in a new position in the fictitious company PushPin. For those of you who have done the Essentials course, you will already be familiar with the company. Working through her challenges which are all too common ones that we encounter everyday, will help you to more easily relate to the skills and techniques learned in each week and apply them to familiar and new contexts....

Top reviews

OD

Jul 28, 2020

The length of the video lectures are just right and the numbers of exercises or quizzes are just right. Learned a lot of new things about Excel's functionality. A huge step from the Essentials course.

RZ

Jun 5, 2020

Wow, I have no word to say about this course. Its video content, Structure is awesome. The tutor is good. Week assignments and quizzes are always ready to make our practice and make concept permanent.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,442 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

By Laura R

Mar 25, 2019

As part of the Specialization, this course builds upon the foundations of the previous course to introduce some of the most useful and indispensable concepts to gain advanced Excel skills: named ranges, tables and pivot tables and charts. The course is well structured and the explanations are clear, moreover practice challenges and exercises are really helpful to practice. Highly recommended.

By Denise C I

Dec 12, 2020

I love this course. You can see they're aware that a lot of people are new to some concepts, so the lessons are divided into small chunks to not overwhelm you. Then before you know it, you know how to do some spiffy data analysis! I like all the professors here-they are very clear and concise with the way they teach and the learning-while-doing thing is super helpful. On to the next course!

By Nehal A

May 2, 2020

The course is very useful . There are many short cut (Tool Box) which when used quickens the calculation beside makes it more convenient. The course covers the basics of many things we already use but never knew the logic behind it. Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Be it the discussions videos, practice excels or the tests . Prof Prashan is inimitable in his 'practice makes permanent' style.

By Nathan H G

Nov 30, 2018

Amazing course! I recommended this course to anyone who wants to ground their understanding of relativity advanced Excel Skills. The subjects taught in this course will fill in all the gaps in knowledge and give you a broad set of tools to use and the reasoning skills to know which tools to use and when. It has built a fearlessness in me for managing data and creating brilliant reports.

By Borges, A

Nov 29, 2020

This is a great course. I've enjoyed the other Excel courses offered by Macquarie University. As an avid Excel user, I found that I learned lots of tips and tricks that will enhance my productivity. Highly recommend! The videos are easy to follow, instructors are great, practice exercises help to solidify the concepts, and the Toolbox provides great Excel shortcuts and highlights.

By George j k b

Jun 15, 2019

Thanks to the University. And for the distinguished professors who have prepared such an examination so that people like me can further refine their accounting information by Excel. I hope to pass the examination stages of certificate 3 and 4 to prove to the party I want to work then I am able to complete my work in an excellent manner. God willing, I find suitable work. Thank you .

By Marija K

Aug 2, 2020

I had to leave a review for this course, although only halfway through with it. The way it was designed, presented, detailed, structured... every single aspect of it raises the bar of what an online course should be.

A massive thank you to the creators, amazing content, exercises and explanations, I am grateful I chose it and will be exploring other courses from the same publishers.

By Mohamed A E A

Dec 20, 2020

This specialization is a must for every person that uses Excel: no matter how long he's been using Excel during his career, no matter how much high a person thinks his level in Excel is, and no matter what his domain of work is (no need to be the business domain), This specialization teaches you how to master Excel with an amazingly simple but extremely efficient way of teaching.

By Michael A

May 2, 2021

This course is *not* as easy as *pie*, but it is unbelievably motivational due to its structure. Short videos, short and long challenges, and assessments are *hopefully* prone to internalize Excel skills to a good degree. Last not least the encouraging and friendly attitude of the instructors served me well and the last thing to say is: Thank you, this is well-prepared training.

By Angela S

Dec 20, 2020

This course was really challenging. I did not pass some of the assessments, but I stayed the course and persevered. Now I have my certificate. I am happy and relieved. Thanks to the presenters for delivering such a wonderful and relevant course at this time. Thanks also to the other participants who shared their knowledge, because I learnt some stuff from the discussions.

By Mamdouh F

Jul 26, 2020

Studying this course was really an amazing experience of learning and practice. The topics covered during the six week were comprehensive and challenging. I would undoubtedly recommend this course to everyone looking to learn Excel in such a professional and academic way. The team at Macquarie University has done an outstanding effort to present such an elaborate material.

By rambabu u

May 17, 2020

I feel very happy to choose this course , first of all thanks to faculty members to create a excellent course to the students as well as other members . and convey my gratitude toward bottom of the heart both the faculty members . in this course each and every week is interesting at the same time practical sessions are so good . it helped me lot to improve excel skills

By Candice S

Jan 28, 2019

Best Coursera course I've taken, with the following reasons: 1/ easy to digest, 2/ great demo, 3/ thoughtful practice (application of knowledge), 4/ clear narration with great visual support (the videos aren't only showing you a screenshot of the instructor's screen but actually zooming in here and there, student's can see clearly where they should click on). Just great!

By Oluwasola A E

Apr 21, 2022

While undergoing this course, I learnt a whole lot. I'm more confident about my Excel Skills. I was wowed by the amazing things I found out I could do with Excel through this course. I want to thank the instructors who led me throughout the duration of the course, Prashan and Nicky. Kudos to you guys. I can't wait to dive into the next course in this specialization.

By Rohan D

Jul 8, 2021

Yet another great course by Dr. Prashan and Nicky. No wonder it is one of the highest rated courses on Coursera. Fabulously explained all the new functions and got my hands into Pivot table and charts. I am excited to learn the new challenges awaiting me in the third course of this specialization. I highly recommend this specialization course to all excel learners.

By Fiona R

Nov 30, 2018

Outstanding course. This cleared up a lot about pivot tables for me, and although I have more questions, I will be able to work with pivot charts (new to me) and pivot tables with FAR more confidence. Thank you to the incredible professors and staff who compiled this course and to the TAs who furnished guidance - and the students who asked questions before I did. ; )

By Nataliya M

Jan 8, 2019

This a great continuation of the previous Essentials course. The instructors are awesome, the material is easy to understand, and the exercises help to learn all those wonderful Excel features.

Highly recommend this course for everyone who is familiar with Excel basics. Better to take the 1st course in the Specialization though, makes the whole experience even better.

By GARY B

Jul 31, 2020

I took another Excel Course on Coursera put on by PWC. I find that this course by Macquarie is better for my needs. The examples, challenges, and quizzes reinforce concepts and lead to better proficiency. The workbooks associated with the course all work as intended which was not the case with the PWC course. This is an excellent course in content and execution.

By akram o a

Sep 22, 2020

I recommend any person want to learn excel take this course because very useful for me and give me a lot of information about use worksheet I will learn more about excel because this app very important in work if I go any interview ask me if I can work in excel or no. videos wonderful and brilliant teachers use an easy way to learn.thanks all teacher for helping me

By Efren M

Aug 6, 2019

Great talented instructors, in the final test needs to be more specific in the last two questions because it could be confusing whether to keep the filter for the second pivot table or not. In terms of the content and everything else it is a wonderful class. I admire the teaching skill of Professor Nicky in particular but Mr Prashan and Dr. Breyer are awesome too.

By Sarah D

Jun 7, 2018

Amazing course. I am an advanced excel user however I am learning something that I didn't even know existed in excel. I am also learning new ways to do things I have done numerous times before. I am really happy that Macquarie University through this course shows us several different ways to achieve a given results. How I wish I had taken this class in college :-)

By Nathalie S

Nov 4, 2021

Every topic is broken down and explained thoroughly with plenty of visuals and assistance. This is a really great course for anyone who is looking to expand their Excel knowledge. The course is very well organized, easy to follow, and there is plenty of material given to practice and apply what you are learning as you go. I would recommend this program to anyone!

By Kristina P

May 19, 2020

This specialization features the best classes I've ever taken on Coursera. Prashan and Nikki are both fantastic teachers who work you through things step-by-step, and the constant practice challenges and small quizzes ensure that you get a chance to practice and retain the information taught. I seriously cannot recommend this class or specialization enough!

By Cameron T

Jan 5, 2018

Exceptionally well done. Great topics, pace, and just the right amount of information in the videos to guide the learner through the quizzes and ensure that you experiment and figure it out before progressing. Fantastic, and all hugely beneficial to any business person. Living without this knowledge for the past 15 years of work has been an incredible waste!

By Hawwa L H

Aug 28, 2020

Amazing course! I love how the course is structured. The videos, practice challenges and quizzes are a really quick way of cementing new knowledge. I would undoubtedly recommend this course to everyone looking to learn Excel in such a professional and academic way. I admire the teaching skill of Professor Nicky, Mr Prashan and Dr. Breyer. They are awesome!