Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
13,502 ratings
3,122 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In the United States alone, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. Research by Burning Glass Technologies and Capital One shows that digitals skills lead to higher income and better employment opportunities at a time when digital skills job are growing much faster than non-digital jobs. In this second course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the Essentials course. Intermediate Skills I will expand your Excel knowledge to new horizons. You are going to discover a whole range of skills and techniques that will become a standard component of your everyday use of Excel. In this course, you will build a solid layer of more advanced skills so you can manage large datasets and create meaningful reports. These key techniques and tools will allow you to add a sophisticated layer of automation and efficiency to your everyday tasks in Excel. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Prashan and Nicky will guide you through each week (and I am even going to make a guest appearance in Week 5 to help you learn about my favourite tool in Excel - shh, no spoilers!). Work through each new challenge step-by-step and in no time you will surprise yourself by how far you have come. This time around, we are going to follow Uma's trials and tribulations as she is trying to find her feet in a new position in the fictitious company PushPin. For those of you who have done the Essentials course, you will already be familiar with the company. Working through her challenges which are all too common ones that we encounter everyday, will help you to more easily relate to the skills and techniques learned in each week and apply them to familiar and new contexts....

Top reviews

OD
Jul 28, 2020

The length of the video lectures are just right and the numbers of exercises or quizzes are just right. Learned a lot of new things about Excel's functionality. A huge step from the Essentials course.

SM
Dec 3, 2020

Amazing course. I am amazed by the value provided by the instructors. The Pivot Tables in Week 6 is a must for everyone working with Excel. I am glad I chose this course over the other online courses.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,132 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

By Mohamed A E A

Dec 20, 2020

This specialization is a must for every person that uses Excel: no matter how long he's been using Excel during his career, no matter how much high a person thinks his level in Excel is, and no matter what his domain of work is (no need to be the business domain), This specialization teaches you how to master Excel with an amazingly simple but extremely efficient way of teaching.

By Michael A

May 2, 2021

This course is *not* as easy as *pie*, but it is unbelievably motivational due to its structure. Short videos, short and long challenges, and assessments are *hopefully* prone to internalize Excel skills to a good degree. Last not least the encouraging and friendly attitude of the instructors served me well and the last thing to say is: Thank you, this is well-prepared training.

By Angela S

Dec 20, 2020

This course was really challenging. I did not pass some of the assessments, but I stayed the course and persevered. Now I have my certificate. I am happy and relieved. Thanks to the presenters for delivering such a wonderful and relevant course at this time. Thanks also to the other participants who shared their knowledge, because I learnt some stuff from the discussions.

By Mamdouh F

Jul 26, 2020

Studying this course was really an amazing experience of learning and practice. The topics covered during the six week were comprehensive and challenging. I would undoubtedly recommend this course to everyone looking to learn Excel in such a professional and academic way. The team at Macquarie University has done an outstanding effort to present such an elaborate material.

By rambabu u

May 17, 2020

I feel very happy to choose this course , first of all thanks to faculty members to create a excellent course to the students as well as other members . and convey my gratitude toward bottom of the heart both the faculty members . in this course each and every week is interesting at the same time practical sessions are so good . it helped me lot to improve excel skills

By Candice S

Jan 28, 2019

Best Coursera course I've taken, with the following reasons: 1/ easy to digest, 2/ great demo, 3/ thoughtful practice (application of knowledge), 4/ clear narration with great visual support (the videos aren't only showing you a screenshot of the instructor's screen but actually zooming in here and there, student's can see clearly where they should click on). Just great!

By Rohan D

Jul 8, 2021

Yet another great course by Dr. Prashan and Nicky. No wonder it is one of the highest rated courses on Coursera. Fabulously explained all the new functions and got my hands into Pivot table and charts. I am excited to learn the new challenges awaiting me in the third course of this specialization. I highly recommend this specialization course to all excel learners.

By Fiona R

Nov 30, 2018

Outstanding course. This cleared up a lot about pivot tables for me, and although I have more questions, I will be able to work with pivot charts (new to me) and pivot tables with FAR more confidence. Thank you to the incredible professors and staff who compiled this course and to the TAs who furnished guidance - and the students who asked questions before I did. ; )

By Nataliya M

Jan 8, 2019

This a great continuation of the previous Essentials course. The instructors are awesome, the material is easy to understand, and the exercises help to learn all those wonderful Excel features.

Highly recommend this course for everyone who is familiar with Excel basics. Better to take the 1st course in the Specialization though, makes the whole experience even better.

By GARY B

Jul 31, 2020

I took another Excel Course on Coursera put on by PWC. I find that this course by Macquarie is better for my needs. The examples, challenges, and quizzes reinforce concepts and lead to better proficiency. The workbooks associated with the course all work as intended which was not the case with the PWC course. This is an excellent course in content and execution.

By اكرم ا - a e

Sep 22, 2020

I recommend any person want to learn excel take this course because very useful for me and give me a lot of information about use worksheet I will learn more about excel because this app very important in work if I go any interview ask me if I can work in excel or no. videos wonderful and brilliant teachers use an easy way to learn.thanks all teacher for helping me

By Efren M

Aug 6, 2019

Great talented instructors, in the final test needs to be more specific in the last two questions because it could be confusing whether to keep the filter for the second pivot table or not. In terms of the content and everything else it is a wonderful class. I admire the teaching skill of Professor Nicky in particular but Mr Prashan and Dr. Breyer are awesome too.

By Sarah D

Jun 7, 2018

Amazing course. I am an advanced excel user however I am learning something that I didn't even know existed in excel. I am also learning new ways to do things I have done numerous times before. I am really happy that Macquarie University through this course shows us several different ways to achieve a given results. How I wish I had taken this class in college :-)

By Kristina P

May 19, 2020

This specialization features the best classes I've ever taken on Coursera. Prashan and Nikki are both fantastic teachers who work you through things step-by-step, and the constant practice challenges and small quizzes ensure that you get a chance to practice and retain the information taught. I seriously cannot recommend this class or specialization enough!

By Cameron T

Jan 5, 2018

Exceptionally well done. Great topics, pace, and just the right amount of information in the videos to guide the learner through the quizzes and ensure that you experiment and figure it out before progressing. Fantastic, and all hugely beneficial to any business person. Living without this knowledge for the past 15 years of work has been an incredible waste!

By Hawwa L H

Aug 28, 2020

Amazing course! I love how the course is structured. The videos, practice challenges and quizzes are a really quick way of cementing new knowledge. I would undoubtedly recommend this course to everyone looking to learn Excel in such a professional and academic way. I admire the teaching skill of Professor Nicky, Mr Prashan and Dr. Breyer. They are awesome!

By Jitka S

Dec 25, 2019

I loved this course. Everything clearly explained, quizzies and assignments are very useful for training the skills.

Small warning for users who have non-EN Excel version: for certain tests, EN-Excel is necessary. I didn't notice any info about it before I have started the test - not so nice surprise. Not sure whether everybody can switch to EN-Excel easily.

By Gihan I

Feb 25, 2018

I was hesitant to venture into Intermediate 1 after completing the Fundamentals Course wondering how I would cope with more advanced learning on Excel. The Course material and the presentation has been so very good that I am absolutely enjoying going through the Intermediate 1 and look forward for completion of the Specialization.

Well done Prashan and team!

By Krishna C C

Apr 27, 2021

The teaching style is simply amazing. Learning objectives were clear and practical exercises really help to maximize learnings. Overall, a fantastic experience. Though I am not new to excel, I learnt many subtle aspects that crystallized my learnings in a very structured manner. Thank you so much. Looking forward to the next course

Regards,

Krishna Chaitanya

By Md. A M D

Jun 9, 2020

Your whole procedures are good except assessment. You should set your assessment with different options for different students, otherwise they can copy the answer from others or from you tube where they can meet all the correct answer & can easily overcome the course & get a certificate without practicing or opening workbook. After all thank you very much!

By Raghunath K

Jul 7, 2020

The best course for working practically in excel. One thing I would suggest to management that topics like trend line and R can be explained with more videos or lengthy explanation because I felt difficulty in clearing the topics due to my level of understanding. The course is best for the Intermediate level1 you can try and improve your skills with this.

By Sahil P

Mar 28, 2020

It is an amazing course with all the basics and intermediate stuff one must have in their portfolio. The speed of video, quality of quiz and the practise challenges are all amazing. I got a chance to learn skills like Pivot Table, Slicers and can now make a quick summary or report of large datasets in few clicks because of this course. Thank you Coursera!

By Noor U A

May 11, 2021

The content of course was great. The way it was communicated was simply marvelous. The content was such designed that most of the things can be grab in the first attempt, however, if there is any problem it would be cleared in second attempt or review. Thanks for both coursera and Macquare University for delivering great knowledge in a very friendly way.

By Boda M K

Jul 26, 2020

Very good course, I have already completed Essentials course and now I learnt many new things in this Intermediate-1 course, they explained it step by step so it is easy to understand. I learned Pivot tables, Tables, 3D Formulas, Linking worksheets, Linking workbooks, Named Ranges, Pivot Slicers and many more which makes you work more efficient and quick

By MOHIUDDIN K F

May 30, 2020

I always wanted to practice excel based on real-life scenarios. And at last, I found what I was looking for on Coursera. The course is designed neatly. If you go through the videos & practice all the attached files, then you can easily understand all the jargon of Excel. I am looking forward to Intermediate Excel II now. Kudos! to the honorable teachers.