Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
10,707 ratings
2,448 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In the United States alone, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. Research by Burning Glass Technologies and Capital One shows that digitals skills lead to higher income and better employment opportunities at a time when digital skills job are growing much faster than non-digital jobs. In this second course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the Essentials course. Intermediate Skills I will expand your Excel knowledge to new horizons. You are going to discover a whole range of skills and techniques that will become a standard component of your everyday use of Excel. In this course, you will build a solid layer of more advanced skills so you can manage large datasets and create meaningful reports. These key techniques and tools will allow you to add a sophisticated layer of automation and efficiency to your everyday tasks in Excel. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Prashan and Nicky will guide you through each week (and I am even going to make a guest appearance in Week 5 to help you learn about my favourite tool in Excel - shh, no spoilers!). Work through each new challenge step-by-step and in no time you will surprise yourself by how far you have come. This time around, we are going to follow Uma's trials and tribulations as she is trying to find her feet in a new position in the fictitious company PushPin. For those of you who have done the Essentials course, you will already be familiar with the company. Working through her challenges which are all too common ones that we encounter everyday, will help you to more easily relate to the skills and techniques learned in each week and apply them to familiar and new contexts....

Top reviews

RZ
Jun 5, 2020

Wow, I have no word to say about this course. Its video content, Structure is awesome. The tutor is good. Week assignments and quizzes are always ready to make our practice and make concept permanent.

CM
Aug 22, 2020

I love this course a lot! Thank you very much for this course. It is easy to understand and follow. The practice challenges are so fun to do. Looking forward to the next course in this specialization.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,444 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

By Pasan P

Jul 12, 2020

Excellent course where I learned new Excel formulas, techniques and applied it to business spreadsheets. I learned a lot about using slicing tools such as (LEFT, MID, CONCAT) and enjoyed diving into Pivot tables to solve various questions.

By Nguyen T T H

Jun 2, 2019

I really like this course. Even though I have been working with Excel for a while, I don't know many tips to facilitate my daily task. Thanks to the course, I can broaden my Excel skills and feel confident to apply it efficiently at work.

By Andres B

Apr 1, 2019

Easy way of learning how to deal with large datasets of data. It has given me a lot of confidence to face future challenges at work. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to get more experience with this excellent software tool.

By Zack H

Sep 2, 2020

This course is very important and thanks to all of coursera and teams. I have learned alot from this course. From consolidating to pivot table and pivot chart, all are best for excel users. I will cerntainly, enroll in the next course.

By Elise E

Nov 17, 2018

I have learned entire areas and methodology I never knew was possible, regardless of my many years of using excel. This course is going to save me so much time and provide powerful functionality to my reporting and spreadsheet design.

By Chintan M

Apr 4, 2020

I just love the way you guys teach. It is really a great effort! Only one request, if you could provide a bit detailed solution for the Advanced Practice Challenge. The course contents and everything is really awesome! Thanks a lot!!!

By Jenny L

Sep 21, 2019

I find this course very helpful. Content is nicely organised, and the explanations are very easy to understand and follow. Also, the course provides lots of exercises for you to practice the skills learned from the videos and readings

By Steve G

Oct 15, 2020

A great course. I think many long time users would learn something new whether it's formulas or features that they have never used or ones that they have but weren't using in the most effective or efficient way. Would recommend this.

By Christophorus S

Aug 4, 2020

This is a great course to understand Excel more deeply. The explanations using real-life cases are easy to follow and the lecturers often provide more than one way to do something, which triggers students' initiative to explore more.

By David A

May 27, 2020

Great Course

This course will help you understand the power of excel. For new user is a great way to learn the tools that Excel can give you, and for the regular user it will be a great way to update your skills with the new features.

By vvs m k

Apr 15, 2020

Very systematically and gradually introduced the concept and practice sessions and quizzes so that skill improvement is visible and we become more confident. Also wonder what excel can do and we have been missing all the time so far.

By Sotiria G

Oct 10, 2020

The course was very challenging and everything is explained thoroughly by the tutors.

In addition the final assessment helped me to think the subjects that were covered through the course in order to solve all the relevant questions.

By Jessica S

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent course. Focused and practical, but with enough tantalizing hints of the power of mastering Excel that you want to keep learning more! Enjoyed the format of the practice challenges (though I wish they were more consistent).

By Dan R

Jun 18, 2020

This course is very stimulating, you learn everything step by step and built on what you learnt in the previous course. I want to discover more about amazing features of excel so I am looking forward the next level, intermediate 2.

By Parikshit D

Jun 4, 2020

Really good course. I was not aware about the lot of functions available in the excel. This course will surely help me in my office work. Now i am looking forward to complete the Intemediate II course and then advance excel course.

By Colin B

Oct 15, 2019

Amazing course. I can't speak any more highly of it. The tools learnt are invaluable and have already saved my hours, days, weeks worth of time in Excel. I highly recommend for everyone! Provided you've already done the Essentials.

By Manish K

May 30, 2018

This course worked like a knowledge pool for me. I have learnt a lot of new things here. The content of the course is good and covered good details. Thank you for sharing your views and knowledge with us through this online medium.

By Rishav A

Jun 1, 2020

excel skills intermediate shows what looks to you through those tabs. there is so much more to explore and learn. i thank coursera team for developing such an enriching module on excel. i highly recommend this course to everyone.

By 1807911

Aug 25, 2019

AMAZING COURSE, i thought i know most of the things about EXCEl before taking this course, but i was wrong!. this course showed me lots of features and tips that are very useful. EXCELLENT Course, i recommend every one to take it.

By Phina N

Sep 3, 2020

This course was more challenging than the first. However, the structure and delivery of the program motivated me to go on. I loved every second of it because it pushed me to new limits. Thank you! See you in Intermediate II soon.

By Hans G Q

Oct 22, 2020

An Excellent Course! I learnt useful tips an never got bored with the practical challenges and quizzes. You always learn something new. I found very interesting Consolidation topics as well Tables, PIVOT tables and Pivot Charts.

By Lorenza P

May 16, 2020

Super well designed course! Videos are easy to understand and not long and boring. Assignments and exercises are structured in such a way that allow to fix ideas and help to remember every new feature. Highly recommended course.

By Ivy Y

Oct 8, 2020

Love this course! Thanks to Nicky, Prashan and other instructor I've learned a lot of technique of using Excel! Definitely recommend this course for everyone! See u guys in the Excel Skill for Business: Intermediate II course!!

By Bharat P

Sep 19, 2020

What a superlative course. So much about Excel that I was unaware of from consolidation, to tables, to how NOT to always use the concatenation function... how to manipulate with unpredictable characters... All just wonderful!

By Alaktham A

Jul 22, 2020

Really Clear and straight forward, awesome teachers lots of materials for practice, and sharpen your skills. I'm definitely more confidant with using excel, moving to the intermediate II. highly recommend the 1st two courses.