Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate II by Macquarie University

4.8
stars
6,612 ratings
1,515 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In this third course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will delve deeper into some of the most powerful features Excel has to offer. When you have successfully completed the course you will be able to Check for and prevent errors in spreadsheets; Create powerful automation in spreadsheets; Apply advanced formulas and conditional logic to help make informed business decisions; and Create spreadsheets that help forecast and model data. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Nicky, Prashan and myself will guide you through each week. As we are exploring these more advanced topics, we are following Alex who is an Excel consultant called in by businesses that experience issues with their spreadsheets....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 24, 2020

The course material and assessments were just right and very useful. The course is well structured and the instructors explain things so neatly that there are no doubts left after watching the videos.

CH
Nov 7, 2020

This was a lot of fun, challenging, and very practical. I was able to start implementing the new skills I learned at work after each learning module. Can't wait to take the advanced course! Thank you!

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,522 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate II

By Benjamin A R S

Jun 30, 2020

good

By Mohammed F G

Jun 29, 2020

GOOD

By MdWaliul I K

Jun 21, 2020

Good

By Karuna P

May 22, 2020

good

By Nitin J

May 9, 2020

Good

By Jason D

May 5, 2019

A+++

By ALLA E B

Oct 1, 2018

شكرا

By Ronaldo F N C

Jun 22, 2020

tyy

By Vijaya L J

May 6, 2020

gud

By Esther B J F

Oct 22, 2021

ok

By Joshua F

Dec 5, 2020

--

By eman a r

Feb 28, 2020

💛

By Anugraha S

Aug 26, 2018

:)

By ADITYA G

Sep 19, 2021

5

By Luis F A B

Jul 3, 2021

.

By LIASKOS A I

Aug 12, 2020

s

By Mustafa H

May 4, 2020

.

By Lillian B

Aug 16, 2018

I

By Jaco B

Aug 13, 2018

E

By 沈嘉慈(Ka S

Jun 6, 2018

l

By Rudolph G

Sep 6, 2021

While I think that the curriculum organization of this course is quite good, excellent, in fact, I find that the explanations and instructions given for the increasingly more difficult functions and formulas and actions on Excel just are not sufficient, at least not for me. I need more explanation, more examples and illustrations, less speed and quickness when talking and demonstrating, and more focusing on the difficult aspects and not repeating over and over again the basic actions that surely we did learn.

But, all in all, I still find this latest course to quite good and useful. I blame myself as well as seemingly not being able to learn the material as quickly or competently as I needed to. One reason for this could be my age, which is 64, soon to be 65, and this could be a good example that demonstrates that the learning process for new subjects and material does slow down with the advent of increasing age.

By James G

Mar 31, 2020

Coverage of the material in the training videos was not as thorough as the preceding Excel courses offered by MacQuarie, but this is in part due to the range of material covered is broader in scope and more complicated. I am learning on the Excel for Mac platform and there are a number of operational differences between the Mac and Pc platforms. These differences were mentioned more specifically in earlier courses, but this series does not provide very much information about Macs. The differences are significant enough that the material provided by the instructors was not sufficient alone for me to complete some of the assignments and tests, nothing I couldn't find with web searches, but just saying - that is why I gave 4-stars whereas I gave the earlier courses 5-stars. Still very good, but not without additional work and a certain amount of frustration to complete the coursework.

By Ferry P

Jan 21, 2018

Like the other two courses: Essentials and Intermediate I, this was also a well-structured, well-explained course with quizzes, practice assignments and end of week assessments next to a full course assessment. This course contains quite some new - advanced - Excel functionality, so it will take about 4 hours per week instead of 2, especially in some weeks. The final test has 30 questions of which 1-2 tricky ones. To do the test well, it took me more than 2 hours (incl. re watching 2 to 3 videos).

The last week on macros was a bit less developed. It gave an introduction and I still had many questions when I did the practice assignments (this prevents me to give a 5 star rating). I think macros need an additional advanced course, not just a short intro. In the end, I learned a lot. Thanks a lot to the developers and the lecturers. Up to the advanced course.

By Heather P

Oct 16, 2020

If you're a Mac user, it gets much more difficult because the focus is on more and more Windows only features. Great features and functions to learn that will support you in business. However, when you get to Week 6 and learning macros, some information is skipped or glossed over, which is frustrating. I was very excited about learning macros and I feel like I know very little still. I wish the instructors had spent more time in the final week and provided additional videos (or taken 2 weeks to go over the content). This was one of the reasons I was very excited to take this course and I still feel like I need to go to YouTube and watch a beginner's course on macros. Overall, the other 5 weeks were well done (I had to switch to a PC) and will continue to practice, practice, practice.

By JUDITH B

Feb 9, 2020

This was a phenomenal course. I learned so much that I can use in my daily work providing accoutning solutions. I absolutely loved the Data Validation, Lookups, Index, Match, Data Modelling, and the manipulation of Macros using buttons, etc. The only reason I cannot give all 5 stars is that it is time to update the workbooks. They appear to be relevant to a time when the current year was 2017. Also, there was a feature in Macros that could have been better explained, namely the fact that Relative reference setting can be toggled on and off during macro creation. This is not an intuitive conclusion. Otherwise, the lectures are great, the toolboxes are very helpful and the exercises and assessments are extremely useful.

Thank you.