Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate II by Macquarie University

4.8
stars
6,596 ratings
1,513 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In this third course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will delve deeper into some of the most powerful features Excel has to offer. When you have successfully completed the course you will be able to Check for and prevent errors in spreadsheets; Create powerful automation in spreadsheets; Apply advanced formulas and conditional logic to help make informed business decisions; and Create spreadsheets that help forecast and model data. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Nicky, Prashan and myself will guide you through each week. As we are exploring these more advanced topics, we are following Alex who is an Excel consultant called in by businesses that experience issues with their spreadsheets....

Top reviews

CH
Nov 7, 2020

This was a lot of fun, challenging, and very practical. I was able to start implementing the new skills I learned at work after each learning module. Can't wait to take the advanced course! Thank you!

AS
Jun 24, 2020

The course material and assessments were just right and very useful. The course is well structured and the instructors explain things so neatly that there are no doubts left after watching the videos.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,517 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate II

By Liviambranco@hotmail.com

Feb 11, 2019

The course is great and the concepts are easy to understand. It added all necessary skills businesses require. However, it would be nicer if there was more practice material, even if not for grade. Just so who really wants to practice more have more materials offering different situations in which you can apply what we just learned. That is the reason for the 4 stars, needs more exercises to help in the process of refining skills and a deeper understanding of the concepts. Thank you for this opportunity.

By Markus K

Jul 14, 2019

Getting trickier, and there were some frustrating aspects with broken workbooks in Week 1 and in the final examination regarding mistakes depending on earlier decisions and sorting which didn't work.

Macros coverage is a bit too superficial. It won't enable users to make use of them without frustration, at least that is what I suppose.

Still, a very helpful course, especially the combination of Macro Recording and Scenarios was a WoW-Effect in the assessment.

By Jen

Jan 29, 2019

This course was very powerful and well-taught. I learned a lot! I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 because, as a Mac user, I had to pause the course and do a fair bit of Googling to figure out how to do certain things on the Mac version of Excel. They gave a disclaimer earlier in these courses that they were showing the PC version only, but it was frustrating to have to take so much time to find other sites to show me how to do something on the Mac version.

By LUIS N R V

Oct 17, 2020

This Course is really useful , you learn a lot, the test makes you practice and learn a lot, I learn a lot and the necessary information from almost all the weeks except from the Week 6, I don't really learned what is a macro and how to develop one, you need to show a little introduction and what its suppose to use this for. the week 6 is different from the others, but if you want to learn excel, this course is for you, is perfect, don't doubt it.

By Phyllis C

May 15, 2021

I learned a lot from this session, but it was not without its challenges and gaps. It was difficult for me given that I was not already familiar with some of the tools presented, previously. I am thankful for the resources that are available online and within the class to help in the learning with examples and better explanations, quite frankly. I am a bit nervous about taking the advanced class even though I have already signed up for it.

By Jahranga B

Jan 22, 2021

Good Overall

Some practice challenges can leave newbies following along with the course feeling a bit defeated. More diverse in practice scenarios need to be provided in the videos.

Course transparency is needed, "this course requires XX hours of additional study using external sources for those wanting in-depth understanding".

Accounting for student version accessibility is limited.

If you have the opportunity the course is worth it.

By Alisha N

May 23, 2020

The course was going great until I reached the last lesson for macros! They should create a supplementary video for people who are using excel on Mac to teach basic relative referencing coding as we do not have the relative reference button (which in itself is an annoying thing to spend hours trying to find only to figure out that it doesn't exist in Mac). Apart from that last lesson the course is great.

By Clyde L M V

Oct 21, 2020

Really informative and lots of tips/tricks included. It's just a matter of my one sent feedback regarding on question 7 of the Final Assessment of C3-W4, regarding on the correctness of cell H2 - which I strongly believe that it doesn't need correction since H111 is only at fault, but when I answered it - it prompted me that it was incorrect; I just need a further explanation why was it incorrect.

By Jhony O

Jul 6, 2020

Best program of Excel Skills ever, in this specific course there were some video that made no prashan or nikki a man i think so that wasn't as the same level but still cool, there a few of lessons that can we improve at the same level of the rest of the program. But it's doesn't take you off the congratulations for such a wonderful teaching technique. Grettings from Medellín, Colombia.

By Theodoros B

Sep 5, 2020

The course was really good.

I learned a lot of tools and techniques that can make my excel work way better , easier and even automated. There were two things that i did not liked. One was the fact that the theory about macros (a super tool) and VBA editing was lacking and second in some assessments i would prefer to have a number format example when a number was requested.

By Mohammad O B S

Jul 18, 2020

This course was a tricky one. Especially the macro topic made it much more trickier. Nevertheless, I am grateful to Almighty Allah and happy that i have reached the end with a satisfying score. I look forward now to completing the specialization with just one more course remaining. I can already guess how hard it is going to be, but i am ready for it.

By Fangmin L

Oct 25, 2020

Very good course covers many important tools that are often used in working environment. But there are not many instructions in practice solutions, or the tests will cover something not introduced in the videos. So, it's sometimes very difficult to figure out the ways of doing them and I have to search more sources from YouTube or other channels.

By kamalakannan

Aug 7, 2020

Great Course! I have completed 3 courses in this specialization.This Intermediate II is great challenging as it has macros in Week 6,which takes more time for me to understand. I have learned many new concepts in this Intermediate II,mainly VLOOKUP,Error checking,Scenario Manager,Goal Seek and Data validation,Overall, it is a challenging course.

By Andrés T R

Sep 1, 2019

This is a great course to keep improving at Excel and know lot's of new things which are going to be useful to work with everyday. Nevertheless, I think that some lessons (specially practices) could be improved in order to be more helpful to the students and easier to understand. Overall, I think that this is a great course to keep improving.

By Jean W

Aug 31, 2020

Overall good course. However, it can be more detailed by introducing the limitations of the functions and formula as some limitations only show during Practice Challenge and Assignment which puzzles the course participants and results in long-time research. 30% self study and research is needed based on current course design

By Shruti S

Aug 4, 2020

The course is very helpful for people with basic excel knowledge. The course helps discover the gem features of excel like solver, macros and a lot more which can take your excel skills to the next level. The assignments and quizzes really makes one work hard adding on to the benefits of availing this course

By Dhanush B

Sep 18, 2020

Great course!! Truly helping in my day to day works and thanks to Mr Prashan sir and Ms Nicky ma'am for such a crystal clear explanation through out the course. The practice video after each video makes a perfect practice and as usual practice makes permanent. Thank you so much for such an amazing course.

By Aakanksh M

Apr 20, 2020

While teaching Complex formulae it would help to also show how this can be done using the Fx tab, this makes things alot easier.

Also the MACRO chapter is pretty ambiguous and i still havent completely grasped the use of it. If we could add a couple more videos to fully explain the same it would be helpful

By Mamdouh F

Sep 7, 2020

This course is quite well organized and contains the kind of information that every person wants to use Excel might need. I quite recommend it because it provides the material in concise videos and then examine learners' understanding through quizzes, practice challenges and assessments.

By Travis C

Aug 3, 2019

This course jumps from fairly simple to very complex. Some of the test and practice questions have a way of being very confusing to understand at times which tends to be very frustrating. Still, you have to weigh the bad with the good, and I still believe this course overall is solid.

By Muhammad N F B M Z

Oct 25, 2020

This course helps student to improve their excel skill. By properly learning excel skill, i am able to utilize it for my daily work. However, some of the course material is not adequate as student had to find out other source outside content syllabus to solve assessment questions.

By Urja

Mar 22, 2020

This was a difficult course but learnt a lot of new tools and techniques that would make data management more easier. This course teaches more advanced skills that you would not learn on your own. It definetly is a hard course, but one you get the concepts, it is a benefit course.

By Gabriel M d M

Jul 23, 2020

Week Challenges, in general, were not as well structured as in the previous courses. It might have occurred because the Intermediate II course does not really fit the six weeks model. Either way, I enjoyed a lot of the things I learned and they will be very useful in the future.

By Douglas C

Nov 17, 2018

There was an incorrect Final Course Assessment grading on question 9, leading to two additional incorrect answers. Annoying. Also, they need to emphasize that BEFORE a Table is created, create Names Ranges for all the columns - otherwise problems (at least in Office365)

By Kuruvilla A

May 22, 2020

Very Comprehensive with lot of Case Studies. However the Macros section needs to be covered more in detail with more examples. That part seemed a bit rushed and also need to cover examples of copying data from another sub-sheet for the Macro and how does the same work.