Chevron Left
Back to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
1,055 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis. In this four-week course, we introduce Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI, three power tools for transforming, analysing and presenting data. Excel's ease and flexibility have long made it a tool of choice for doing data analysis, but it does have some inherent limitations: for one, truly "big" data simply does not fit in a spreadsheet and for another, the process of importing and cleaning data can be a repetitive, time-consuming and error-prone. Over the last few years, Microsoft have worked on transforming the end-to-end experience for analysts, and Excel has undergone a major upgrade with the inclusion of Power Query and Power Pivot. In this course, we will learn how to use Power Query to automate the process of importing and preparing data for analysis. We will see how Power Pivot revolutionises the actual analysis process by providing us with an analytical database inside the Excel workbook, capable of storing millions of rows, and a powerful modelling language called DAX which allows us to perform advanced analytics on our data. We will finish off by venturing out of Excel and introducing Power BI, which also uses the Power Query and Power BI architecture but allows us to create stunning interactive reports and dashboards. This is the third course in our Specialization on Data Analytics and Visualization. The previous courses: Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis and Data Visualization in Excel, cover data preparation, cleaning, visualisation, and creating dashboards. To get the most out of this course we would recommend you do the previous courses or have experience with these topics. In this course we focus on Excel Power Tools, join us for this exciting journey. Please note that Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI Desktop are only available on the Windows platform, so Mac users will require Bootcamp running Windows or a Virtual machine with a Window O/S. While Power Query is available as an add-in Excel 2010 and 2013, the tools have changed significantly, and this course has only been designed and tested for Excel 2016 and later. For an optimal experience, we recommend Office 365....

Top reviews

DT

Invalid date

This course is excellent. There are a few issues, but in the forum, you can find the answers. Exercises are perfectly prepared to understand all three tools.

VR

Invalid date

Very useful systematic teaching approach from pivot table->Power Query->Power Pivot->PowerBi. Step by step guidance with good explanation. Worth it.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 284 Reviews for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

By Tasnim B H

Sep 11, 2022

There are not enough words to describe how much I learned from the Excel courses offered by this university : well structured step-by-step courses , the instructor explains the intuition behind every step , perfect transition from one video to another ( no holes or concepts left unexplained ) ... I'm infinitely grateful !

By Bhargav S

Jul 19, 2021

Awesome course one can do at their own pace. The instructors are amazing, gives a good basis of the different functionalities one can use. I am already starting to build my own reports & dashboards. I will definitely recommend this course for anyone. Thanks a ton for making this course happen to instructors & their team.

By Achyuthan M

Aug 26, 2023

The combination of visual classes and practical exercises allows you to firm up the learning. Each practical file has everything you need to understand the respective topics. Special thanks to Ms. Nicky Bull for her excellent communication skills and her ability to cater to all kinds of learners throughout the course.

By Kay H

Sep 15, 2022

This is an excellent course for enhancing your excel skills and getting to know about the power BI. The instructor, Nicky, is an excellent teacher, who explains every step very clearly and in a good pace you can easily follow. Highly recommend to anyone who wish to advance their data analysis and visualization skills!

By Ana M

May 4, 2022

This course was so helpful for me, they explain everything about Power BI, Power Query and Power Pivot, and the excercises are really nice! The teachers are really good in all the topics that you are learning, and the process, step by step, they make all this process easier! you can answer all your questions about it!

By Bilal A

Feb 18, 2023

interesting and great course, it got my attention since day 1 I started with the specialization. however, with this course and amazing tutors, I have learned a lot of skills in Excel formulas, visualization, pivot tables, Power Query, Power Pivot, and Power BI. the course is amazing in the data analysis journey.

By Diego B

Apr 21, 2024

Amazing course. You will have the opportunity to learn POWER BI as well as its constituent tools, Power Query and Power Pivot. The soft transitions and the deep connections generated between those three tools, makes this course special. Once you finished it, you will be ready to create high quality reports.

By Martin V

Jun 9, 2023

However great you think you are at Excel. You're not. This course makes you as great as you think you are. Power Queries, Power Pivots, Power BI. All were known to me before this course but now I see the full potential and can start using these tools for excellent analytics, modelling, and visualizations.

By Ma C B

Dec 3, 2022

I resigned in 2019 and haven't done any of the excel activities since then. I took the course to get a refresher and learn more new things like the Power tools and Power BI. The course was laid out well and explained by the instructors! I feel like I built more confidence after the certification

By Muntader A

May 6, 2023

The instructors have done an excellent job of making the content engaging and enjoyable, which made mastering the material even more rewarding. I highly recommend this specialization to anyone looking to enhance their Excel skills and dive into the world of data analytics and visualization.

By Sarah H

Mar 5, 2024

I found the course easy to follow, and extremely useful. I wish I had done it ages ago. It's helpful to have work you're applying this to so you don't forget things. I pretty much managed to stick to the week by week guided schedule without the course feeling overwhelming/ like a burden.

By Susan G

Sep 20, 2023

I've been struggling to find a straightforward, basic intro tutorial for Power Query and Power BI on YouTube and the web. I could not find anything focused and at a beginner's level. This was perfect! Gave a great understanding of the basics of how queries, data models, and PBI work.

By Karthik M K

Jul 21, 2021

I'd no idea excel had so many powerful features. Thanks to Macquarie University and Nikita Bull for giving the opportunity to learn from this course. I am very thankful to the instructor, she's explained each step clearly and gave some helpful tips. It was really a great experience.

By Ramasubramanian .

Sep 10, 2023

Very nice courses are well explained by the instructor, where I am getting interested in test assignment given by the team is well good what we have learnt in the course, we must practise and attend the quiz, it offers me practise in power pivot and power Bi, thank you.

By Angelene V

Oct 12, 2023

The instructor was very knowledgeable and did a great job covering a lot of different functions of Power Pivot and Power BI. Went in depth on a lot more of the elements than I expected while still being interactive and not overwhelming. Easy to follow along and learn!

By Rafael M

Mar 25, 2023

Macquarie University has the greatest Excel and Data Analytics skills from Coursera. It's way better than Google's or IBM because has truly exercises to do and a perfect explanation for each scenario. I'm better professional for sure after I took those lessons.

By KHOO,Leslie

Jun 26, 2022

Just like the way Nicky Bull presented the whole course. Each sentence is well thought out and compact with knowledge and experience. Will recommend her to anyone looking to improve themselves in Excel Power Tools. She's among the best I've encountered!

By Marissa C

Mar 19, 2022

I loved how much you learn so easily in this course. This was a life changing course for me. I would recommend that you know terminology and basic excel functions before taking it. I aboslutley loved this course and have recommended it to others.

By Ana K V M

May 15, 2023

I learned too much from this course. There are only de basic concepts of Power Pivot and a veeeery basic course of Power BI but I think that if you are starting with this tools, and you don't know nothing about these, this course is a good start

By Dawood A

Jan 23, 2024

The course is for those who are seeking to gain knowledge about the Excel specially about the Power Pivot, and this is a great course for specialization, I recommend these courses certificates for all who are planned to be a data analyst.

By Omar T

Aug 10, 2022

One of the best courses I have taken online. The explanations are clear but the focus is on practice so very hands-on. I also like the assignments at the end of each week, the best way to practice what we have learned. Excelent course

By Nadia S I I

Jul 4, 2024

Great course, extremely useful if you are working with data. Very well organized and explained with good content. I've learned many valuable formulas and tools, and interesting and effective ways to visualize and show data.

By Deeksha P

Sep 7, 2022

The teaching sequence moves from Excel to Power Pivot to Power BI . The modules are informative and easy to understand, excecise files included helped a lot. I was able to use Power BI, Power Pivot at work after this course

By Linh V H

Dec 28, 2021

I got to practice a lot of powerful skills in Excel and Power BI. Thank Coursera Team and all the instructors from Macquarie University who took part in building this course for bringing about this great learning experience.

By MengGim Y

Jul 7, 2021

Good basic knowledge of Power BI. I will suggest who taking this, go and read about Power BI, and how PBI work. The best if you can the chance to play around with Power BI. This will help you to pick up this faster.