Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,025 ratings
860 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

JH
Apr 2, 2020

Very good course with clear examples throughout to help you develop. The online format of the course is great as it allows you to pause and work through the activities presented at your own speed.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 859 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Adrian V W

Dec 26, 2018

After having tried all the exercices by my own, I am now able to write some subroutines and functions in Excel, which is quite cool.

By Juan J S

Oct 8, 2019

Useful and full of examples. You will build your knowledge. To make it even better I would include more interdisciplinary examples.

By Gerardo O M

Oct 19, 2018

Muy buen curso, los videos estan muy bien explicados, y te da apertura para aprender, los ejercicios son retadores y de buen nivel.

By Pramod R

Aug 10, 2020

One of the most productive course i have ever gain chance to learn. Thank you Charlie and the team for providing this opportunity.

By Tammy G

May 21, 2018

Loved the class - lectures are short and to the point - assignments and quizzes challenge new skills - cannot wait to start Part 2

By Mohamed S B

Jun 19, 2020

the instructor is great and I enjoyed the way of assignments. it was a great start. I hope I will finish the rest of his courses.

By Abdul W K

May 16, 2020

Was a very helpful course, learned a lot of things from basic on VBA with perfect example videos. Hopefully could use it to work!

By 이승주

Jan 13, 2019

Wonderful course, well organized. I was a complete beginner to Excel/VBA, but I feel I have sufficiently understood the material.

By Heloisa N T

Jul 9, 2020

It is possible to follow the course even if you are not familiar with maths. I would recommend you are at least familiar macros.

By Michal P

Nov 4, 2019

Challenging but rewarding at the end. One of very few courses that teaches not only the subject but the actual thinking process.

By Jose P F

Jun 21, 2019

Excellent course, it provided me with lots of helpful tips to use in Excel and VBA. Can't wait to put this new knowledge to use.

By Santiago A

Dec 15, 2018

Un buen curso para aprender VBA desde cero y que pueden llevar las personas que incluso no tengan conocimientos de programación.

By Wei P

Jul 10, 2018

Very easy and clear to follow. A much better VBA introduction course than all the other similar courses I've ever taken. Thanks!

By Suren K

Nov 1, 2020

Excellent course for VBA learners, introductory, and yet not Too Easy. Good level of challenge. Looking forward to part 2 and 3

By Prajesh J

Aug 12, 2020

Its too tough course for non software skills person. but you can get it done by seeing and understanding screeencast.

Nice work

By Gokul S

Jul 28, 2020

Great Course... Instructor could have reduced the pace on certain areas like new data object or method insertion in VBA codes

By NATTHAPHAT K

May 1, 2020

This course is so great! Starting from zero knowledge about the VBA and now I am able to make some useful macros for my work.

By Raúl O L C

Nov 15, 2020

An excellent course, in which I learned a lot and I know that this will help me in my professional and personal development.

By saisuryasrinivas k

Jul 30, 2020

Great course. It is very informational. The way the instructor taught was great. Learned some new skills from this course

By Jhonners P E

May 16, 2020

Very useful course if you want to improve your Excel skills. It gives you new tools to solve problems. Fully recommended,

By Sam L

Jun 26, 2020

The course is pretty good, it is friendly and useful to freshman. I like the teching style of Charlie, he is very nice.

By David G N A

May 24, 2020

I loved this course. The lessons were so clear and the professor so good that I couldn't help but learn a lot of things.

By Alexander D

Apr 14, 2019

Great way to learn...I started from zero in VBA...now I have the tools to make my path and the basics to develop myself.

By Shilpi J

Mar 31, 2020

Excellent course for beginners. Its a quick introduction to VBA and has been pretty handy to automate repetitive jobs.

By Rockenjit S

Jul 18, 2020

Excellent content.. easy to understand.. first time I found such a course on VBA which helped me to learn from scratch