Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,952 ratings
837 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP
Apr 18, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 834 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Ivan A G

Nov 30, 2019

This is an excelent course, and I learnt a lot about it . And I'm certantly sure that it will help me for my career

By Ahmed r

Jan 16, 2021

It is an amazing Course, Excellent explanation and Concentrated Dose of Knowledge

Thank you Dr. Charlie from Egypt

By Jitendra C

Apr 29, 2020

Since , i am from other domain. In spite of this , the course is quite user interacting. Thanks Charlie Nuttelman.

By Dhruv K

Jul 30, 2019

It has been really insightful and learnt a lot about VBA. Looking forward for Part 2 and Part 3. Thank you Charlie

By Andrés F G S

May 24, 2020

This course was very challenging, and allowed me to develop skills related to creativity and how I solve problems

By Willem V

Apr 28, 2020

Sometimes it took some time to solve the course assignments, but when finally successful it feels quite rewarding

By Levi G T

Jul 31, 2019

It's clear, it's fun, it's useful. Recommended for everyone, whether or not they have previous coding experience

By Manuel R G

Oct 30, 2020

Curso serio e interesante. Te hace pensar y trabajar, consiguiendo que aprendas. De lo mejor que he visto en VBA

By Armando L

Aug 16, 2020

Great course and challenging. Looking forward to keep studying these subjects.

Thank you so much for everything.

By Chun-Wing L

Dec 18, 2019

very good course structure, it really helped me to learn about VBA Excel in a very pleasant and accessible way!

By Tina B

Jun 7, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. I used VBA before, so could go through a bit quicker, but still very useful for me.

By Yuliia H

Jun 30, 2019

Хороший курс, очень продуманные задания и вопросы. К каждому по итогу дается детальное объяснение. Рекомендую.

By Luis A M G

Jul 3, 2020

Muy útil para cualquiera que estudie Ingeniería o carreras afines ya que permite sacar mucho provecho a Excel

By David R V M

May 2, 2020

It is a great course, very dynamic and useful for getting started with VBA. I'm definitely taking the part 2.

By sanketh k

Jul 28, 2019

Excellent, very understanding and very tricky questions to be very attentive even while watching hte videos.

By Carl E S I

May 10, 2019

A challenging course that will help you learn basic programming logic, language, and problem solving skills.

By Nicola S

Jan 5, 2019

Very instructive screencasts and assignments. Highly recommended to anyone using Excel/VBA on a daily basis.

By Parul S

Jul 23, 2018

After taking this course, one can save hours of wrangling with syntax errors and debugging.

Excellent course!

By Miranda C

Apr 13, 2020

Very well taught, the assignments and quizzes made sense with the material it was testing on. I enjoyed it!

By Dominykas J

Apr 6, 2018

Exceptional quality of the course with interesting quizes, interactive tasks and very responsive professor!

By Supitcha S

Sep 29, 2020

This course is super useful, everyone should try this. This help a lot when you do your job or for promote

By Celestine C Y R

Jul 8, 2020

Very interesting and the assignments are set at a reasonable difficulty level. I've thoroughly enjoyed it!

By AJAYI S J

Feb 1, 2020

Very good with very power insight into the world of VBA. This is best course on VBA the world need to see.

By Shi Z

Dec 21, 2020

Awesome course. The structure is pretty clear and the examples are great. Learned a lot. Thanks, Charlie!

By Tam N

Jul 4, 2018

The instructor is very concise and effective in communicating the coding concepts to the audience. The ma