Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,643 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP

Apr 19, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 748 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By serena p

Sep 01, 2018

I loved this course. Very easy to follow but I have the content I was looking for to get me started.

By Rui P M C

Jul 11, 2018

It was a well-explained and balanced course. Several concepts will be important in my future career.

By Grant L

Jun 09, 2018

Awesome course to give you the skills you need to feel comfortable and confident in using Excel/VBA.

By Ya-Chuan M

Oct 18, 2020

Really helpful for solving real life problems. Most practical programming course I have ever taken.

By ALOK S

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent explanations with lots of challenging exercises. I learnt a lot in this course.

Thank you.

By Che X

Dec 09, 2018

very clear instruction and easy to follow.

covered many topics of VBA, very useful in my daily work.

By Marcelo F

May 05, 2018

Great course on VBA! Very didactic and approachable for someone with basic/intermediate VBA skills!

By Sharan K

Apr 25, 2020

Loved the course! Looking forward to completing the other 2 courses in the specialization as well.

By Badarinadh V

Feb 29, 2020

Excellent instructor- very methodical and at a correct pace of teaching - not slow not fast for me

By Osmar S

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent for starters with some math knowledge! The course helped me a lot in real cases at work.

By Stavros P

Jun 08, 2019

It was a really useful online course, very targeted and safisied. I will definitely attend part 2

By Abhishek K

Dec 30, 2018

Very good course, hope to get more courses on generating charts and formatting reports using vba.

By Sebastián M R

Sep 16, 2020

Really didactic, fun, clear, concise and interactive. Really liked the course and learned a lot!

By Fajar T A ( A

Sep 04, 2020

Would recommend take the week 5 lectures, The goal seek and solver techniques are really helpful

By Huong L

Sep 28, 2019

The instructions are clear and the course content is very good. The instructor is also very nice

By Nataly P

Sep 14, 2020

Amazing ! I really learned how to use this information in real problem solving! Really helpful!

By victor r v m

Oct 21, 2018

Great course with a lot of examples and assingments ! The better part is that you do it at home

By ILAN S

Sep 22, 2020

The course is robust and chalanging. The execrsises force you to think and activate your mind.

By Edmundo G D L S

Jul 16, 2020

Great course!, Charlie makes the material easier even if you are not a native English speaker.

By Azar J

Jun 02, 2020

Excellent beginner course for VBA. Very clear explanation and compelling hands on assignments.

By Cesar A

Feb 21, 2020

Great class. The teacher is very clear and thorough. Objectives are clear and straightforward.

By Matt K

Apr 15, 2018

The best part is I can apply the skills learner here right away! Will definitely take part 2.

By Chandrashekar S

Oct 12, 2020

Good course for Finance - be it equity, fixed income , real estate, or international markets.

By Steven G

Sep 03, 2020

Great course to quickly learn basic VBA and problem solving solution in Excel. Heavy in math.

By Benitez L A

Sep 02, 2020

Es un curso espectacular para comenzar a resolver problemas comunes programando en Excel/VBA.