Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,701 ratings
1,054 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS

Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

MV

Jan 18, 2020

Great course!! For a Part I it introduces you to useful functions and ways to approach different kind of problems. Challenging course but reasonable with low algebra. Exactly what I was looking for.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,065 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Krrish C

Feb 14, 2021

Great course to explore VBA

By CHIGURUPATI L N

Jun 21, 2020

This course helped alot!!!

By MICKAEL H

Nov 11, 2020

Tough but well explained.

By Balaram S

Jun 6, 2020

good content covered

By 刘诗语

Mar 2, 2019

It's really useful!

By Enrique L R L

Aug 19, 2020

It was very fun.

By Shaun T

Sep 1, 2021

A bit difficult

By Kanchangauri K

Aug 7, 2020

very useful

By Brent A K

May 29, 2020

good course

By Hasan Q

Jun 8, 2020

Good One

By ThiTTK

Jul 23, 2021

good

By Hugo M F N

Aug 20, 2020

Foi

By Ben T

Nov 24, 2021

Great course; would recommend, but it could be better

-Though anyone will benefit, it's not really designed for business folks looking to automate procedures.

-Could improve the production quality: why not use a flowcharting software and then distribute the week's flowcharts in a PDF?

-The quizzes after the screencasts ARE HORRIBLY FORMATTED. Because the quiz is tied to the video, you can only see small snippets of the question. It makes reading very difficult. It would be better to (as other courses have done) put the quizzes after the screencast as a separate section.

-Times are wildly inaccurate. A week may be listed as 4-5 hours, when the end assignment alone will take you 3 hours. If you're really intent on learning well and not being in a hurry, double your time budget.

-I LOVE the difficulty and challenge of the course. However, what I don't like is how uneven it is. The week end assignments, which again I enjoy, are such a step up from the lessons that it's hard not to feel unprepared.

-1-2 page handouts for each week would be great. Sometimes you feel like there's no thread between lessons or very little tying things together. Even a simple summary of what functions / statements / object classes we use that week would be great.

-I'm currently working through the 2nd course, and I'm a little disappointed in how little "meta-learning" there was: in other words, one of the most useful things to me would have been a more thorough review of the object model, the microsoft reference guide, and how to use that resource to tackle novel problems. As it stands, I feel like I don't have a systematic understanding either of VBA itself or how to continue learning VBA. (Admittedly this is a high bar!)

-I wish he would have covered a lot more of the basics: understanding all the parts of the VB Editor window. I still have to figure out what a lot of the windows / options do. Again, it really didn't feel like a very systematic approach.

Once again, thank you Coursera / Professor N., great course!

By Gian-Franco S

Nov 21, 2021

Generally, a great course with interesting videos, good explanations and helpful assignments. Only downgrade is due to the responses in the forum: I've had a question to an assignment because I was stuck there and didn't find any solution, so I posted my question in the forum. I didn't get an answer for more than 2 months now, I even wrote a message to the coursera-support, but they didn't manage to organize me an answer either. So, great course but if you need any help, it's very likely that you must find your answers elsewhere.

By Dakers G

Dec 22, 2020

Here's a key piece of information; the grader functions do not work if they and the completed starter files are not located on your computer's hard drive, and even then some folder locations return a failed message. There is no error checking in the grader function so as a student you don't know if it's your code or the grader that's returning error.

By Samantha G

Nov 3, 2020

There was zero instructor involvement. I am fine with paying for a course as long as it's at least partially interactive. Assign more instructors to courses to answer questions and assist students.

By Richard R

Apr 4, 2020

Section 5 is extremely long and should require more time. the assignments were difficult and unclear at moments. Did not know how to get help from professor.

By Ahmed A A E A

Jun 1, 2021

there are n​o material to apply with the instuctor and the course is hard, it should be simplified for the beginners

t​hanks

By Joseph J

Aug 13, 2021

Part 5 was impossible for non-engineers. Maybe I shouldn't have tried it but I attempted to go to the honors.

By OBRIEN E O M

Aug 19, 2021

En lugar de colocar problemas con mucha matematica deberia de profundizar mas en VBA

By Xin R L

Jun 19, 2021

The course is challenging for those who have no scientific maths knowledge

By Alvaro D

Aug 22, 2020

Too much emphasis in mathematical issues and too shallow in VBA techniques

By Ryan R

Jun 15, 2022

Three stars, 1 star for tests/assignements 5 stars for content 5+1/2

By Alessandro T

Aug 4, 2020

Too many examples on chemical engineering. It should more broad

By Amrane S

Oct 25, 2019

Missing some help when we blocked on the assignement