Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
1,229 ratings
343 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 343 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Luc T

Oct 22, 2018

Great introduction to Programming within Excel.

By Kennie N H

Oct 23, 2018

I think the course did a good job introducing VBA, and the optional week 5 was surely worth doing! It not only taught you a few new methods, but it provides you with the opportunity to create a workbook automating calculations with ease for a user.

By Han D

Oct 26, 2018

This course is great for those who want to pick up skills in Excel VBA. It is very informative and explained well by the instructor. Even though the whole course is more focused on the mathematical problem solving, I can still relate the content to my business working environment. Highly recommended.

By Siting H

Oct 27, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. From Week 4 onwards it's quite challenging. Really appreciate the active engagement from Dr. Nuttelman and other moderators on the forum who gave excellent advice.

By Xueying

Oct 28, 2018

Awesome Course !

By Johannes H

Oct 28, 2018

Great presentation of very useful content. Makes it easy to understand. Good balance between theory and practical examples. Sometimes the math might be intimidating, but it's just a little part of it - except you try out the honors.

By AKPENE A

Oct 30, 2018

QUITE GOOD BUT NOT RELEVANT TO MY CAREER

By andres f o

Oct 30, 2018

Se aprende muchisimo. Es muy bueno.

By Diego A Q

Nov 09, 2018

It's a good introduction to Excel VBA if you are completely new to it. Week 4 and 5 are certainly more intense. Basic mathematics (not so basic at week 5) are required for this in order to have a lighter experience, although I suppose people with mathematics affinity are the ones who do this kind of courses.

Anyways, I definitely learned a lot doing this course. As I work everyday with excel but never tried anything with macros, I have been kind of limited to use excel's full potential. I would actually like to continue with part II.

By Ali S

Nov 18, 2018

Excellent! This course is able to provide a perfect balance between teaching the basic skills and providing challenging problems to test your skills

By Meenu S

Nov 21, 2018

Brilliant course content and delivery. Specially love the assignments and grading methodology !

The app makes it remarkably easier to learn "on the go".

By Aleksey

Apr 22, 2018

Great course! It was really fun to do all the challenging tasks it offers!

By Vivek B

Mar 24, 2018

This course is brilliant and Charlie Nuttleman is an excellent instructor. This is a must take course for all interested in taking their excel skills to the next level. I only wish he had put up some lectures notes

By Chia C L

Jun 23, 2018

Awesome! Take it if you uses a lot of excel in your work or even study!

By Roberto M P F M

Jul 02, 2018

Useful, good pace, easy to learn, perfect!

By Flore D

Mar 10, 2018

I found the course extremely interesting. I ha

By Hendrik K

Mar 11, 2018

Learned much more than expected, thank you. Well presented

By Toshiaki K

Jun 24, 2018

If you get used to Excel, this course is perfectly for you. I am non-native, yet can grasp what the point is clearly in each term. One thing I want to recommend you is to learn the shortcut key combination firmly at first, like Alt+Tab, Alt+F11, Space to start the play, F5/F8 to run or step through, otherwise it might be tough to keep up with its speed in case you rely solely on your mouse.

By Gina K

Jun 26, 2018

I really have learned a lot! The class is demanding enough, but not overwhelming. Mr. Nuttelman is always available to help - via email or in the discussion forums, which is much much appreciated. He helps with hints to understand the topics and assignments better.

By Caesar N

May 19, 2018

Thank you!

By George W

May 06, 2018

This course got me started quickly in understanding VBA for Excel and coding subroutines and functions with the first lecture. I had tried self-teaching by purchasing a book and got discouraged, but Charlie's screencasts and examples are very helpful!

By Nicholas L C

May 21, 2018

As someone who knew nothing of VBA going in, this course was a great introduction to the material. I look forward to taking part 2 of the course.

By Elizabeth R

Jun 03, 2018

This course was absolutely outstanding!!!

By Hakim B

May 26, 2018

Very well-thought! Thanks teacher

By Juan R

Jun 04, 2018

Excellent information and challenging content. The course was very useful and showed me an interesting alternative to be more productive with Excel. I have a Mac and if you want to take this course you absolutely need to borrow a PC.