Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,430 ratings
972 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

JH
Apr 2, 2020

Very good course with clear examples throughout to help you develop. The online format of the course is great as it allows you to pause and work through the activities presented at your own speed.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 979 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Asim M

May 10, 2020

The course is of great learning for those who wants to excel in excel deep and deep. It can help in simplify most of our daily work. Course is really easy for engineers and science students.

By Dale A L

Mar 15, 2021

Well done, thank you. I had a very limited understanding of loops in programming. After this class, I feel much more comfortable with understanding and designing effective loops and more.

By Kayla M

Oct 24, 2020

The course is definitely challenging. I am an engineering graduate but it did not come easily as I expected. Good exercise for the brains though and the lessons were taught systematically.

By Leonardo S

Feb 11, 2018

Very nice introduction course for VBA excel learners. Charlie is a very watchful and kind teacher. It really helped me to start fulfilling my dream of making some original codes by myself.

By Om V

Nov 29, 2019

An excellent course that starts with the basics and ends with some really advanced topics and concepts. Superb for anyone who's in a hurry to learn VBA but also desires to learn in depth.

By Philipe D

Apr 11, 2020

Great course for anyone interested in Excel/VBA, especially engineers. There is a lack of course materials I must say, sometimes the spreadsheets that are worked with, were not uploaded.

By Abel J S S

Apr 4, 2021

Es un muy buen curso para iniciar, si estás familiarizado con algo de programación resulta muy fácil de asimilar. Sin embargo, aunque no lo estes, la explicación es buena y entendible.

By Arzam

Mar 9, 2021

It was just amazing! the sequence the level the assignments everything was aligned perfectly. It gave me a sense as such, me who knew nothing will master every bit of this application.

By Dimitris A

Jul 30, 2019

I enjoyed the course really much. The course material was interesting and to the point and i really feel that i earned a much deeper understanding of VBA than the one i had since now.

By Rossmary J P

Apr 13, 2018

I really learned a lot in this course. I could start using right away what i've learned in real life problems. And it challenged me to discover new tools in excel and vba. Thank you!!

By MAROUANE M

Sep 9, 2019

A very usefull course for those who want to make things automatic and saving time. The course approach VBA basics step by step. With time, you start mastering great things about VBA.

By Sandeep K

Mar 25, 2018

Amazing Course. Only one suggestion, input more real life related coding examples and methods because one may not be using too complex formulas but need VBA for reducing the efforts.

By Limax C

Apr 25, 2021

Excellent Course for Chemical Engineers who are interested in Equipment Design field. Learn Part 2 & 3 as well. Will make you the king of Excel!! I mean I feel so just after Part 1

By Matt J

Jan 22, 2019

Great course with good examples. Would like more forums to discuss with others. Maybe a general forum that anyone can join would be nice - not dependent on which course you are on.

By Dmitry K

Aug 13, 2018

What a wonderful practice-oriented course! As an economist/financier I would love to have experienced more field-specific assignments, but I guess that's a bit too much to ask for.

By Aaditya G

Apr 15, 2021

One of the few online courses where I was actually challenged and motivated to learn rather than just gather certificates for a resume. Exceptional course structure and guidance.

By Pavel V V

Apr 25, 2020

I fully recommend this course if you are looking to upgrade your knowledge of Excel and make your work/life easier using this application. This is exactly what I was looking for.

By Bhagi M

Jul 30, 2019

This class was informational and fun with challenging moments. Some of the math went over my head, but the live examples in VBA kept me grounded and going. Can't wait for Part 2!

By Hawra A S

Feb 12, 2018

This course is a mandatory to every engineering student. lots of engineering problems can be studied and solved using the techniques taught in this course. I highly recommend it.

By CLAUDIO A D S

Aug 26, 2020

Excellent course, with clear explanations and practical exercises showing the utility of VBA in real situations. The lessons are well structured and sized to facilitate review.

By Viet T

Sep 26, 2019

I absolutely like this course, It's so great and helpful, especially for a beginner like me. Thanks, Mr. Charlie Nuttelman from University of Colorado Boulder and Coursera.org

By Muhammad U U H

May 30, 2021

This course helped me gain some VBA skills which will definitely prove useful. Thank you for providing this opportunity to learn a new skill during quarantine of pandemic 2020

By Meti

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent introduction into the VBA world ! There is a very good combination of theory , examples and questions which helps strengthen the understanding of the logic behind.

By ANDRES A A G

Aug 13, 2019

Powerful course. It allows to understand how to start in VBA world in order to keep dipping it in your mind, thinking how you can apply this knowledge in you work. Thank you!

By Alerik E C R

Oct 27, 2020

A good introduction on what Excel can do. Also helps in debugging errors when programming using VBA, creating macros, and overall problem solving. Excited for the next part!