Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,392 ratings
960 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

JH
Apr 2, 2020

Very good course with clear examples throughout to help you develop. The online format of the course is great as it allows you to pause and work through the activities presented at your own speed.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 968 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Tam N

Jul 4, 2018

The instructor is very concise and effective in communicating the coding concepts to the audience. The ma

By Valerie T

Aug 12, 2020

This course is really fun and the professor taught really well. His lesson structures are easy to follow

By shraddesh

Sep 5, 2019

Excellent course content for beginners, course design is perfect which enhance the learning. Big thanks.

By Lucas B

Jun 7, 2018

I have always looked for a practical, intuitive way to learn VBA. This is a great opportunity for that!

By Lindsay C

Jul 10, 2020

THE BEST COURSE I have ever taken on Coursera. Great teaching, fair assignments, I can ask for no more.

By Sathvik G

Jul 28, 2021

Excellent course.! Course Instructor is fabulous in teaching all concepts meticulously and in detail.

By Ankur B

May 22, 2018

Great course to learn the basic of VBA so that one can build on it later in whichever field one goes.

By Juan D G Q

May 23, 2019

Muy buen curso, se enseña el manejo de VBA con lógica y con aplicaciones a problemas de la vida real

By Ramez H

Apr 26, 2019

I am a Mechanical Engineer. This course helped me a lot with better using excel to perform analysis.

By serena p

Sep 1, 2018

I loved this course. Very easy to follow but I have the content I was looking for to get me started.

By Rui C

Jul 11, 2018

It was a well-explained and balanced course. Several concepts will be important in my future career.

By Grant L

Jun 8, 2018

Awesome course to give you the skills you need to feel comfortable and confident in using Excel/VBA.

By Kalu A S H

Aug 10, 2021

this is an excellent course with a good guidance. I really passionate to study the second part too.

By Miguel A

Jan 10, 2021

Muy bueno aunque la tarea de la semana 5 se me dificulto mucho, temrine el exámen peor no la tarea.

By Yayamaha

Oct 18, 2020

Really helpful for solving real life problems. Most practical programming course I have ever taken.

By ALOK S

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent explanations with lots of challenging exercises. I learnt a lot in this course.

Thank you.

By Che X

Dec 9, 2018

very clear instruction and easy to follow.

covered many topics of VBA, very useful in my daily work.

By Marcelo F

May 5, 2018

Great course on VBA! Very didactic and approachable for someone with basic/intermediate VBA skills!

By Tianhang H

Aug 30, 2021

I'd say it's a pretty good course for a basic understanding of VBA with practical skills obtained.

By Hua T

Feb 12, 2021

Even though it is really challenging but it is also very interesting. Will look forward to Part 2.

By Roshan S

Jan 3, 2021

It was amazing learning. I recommend to enroll in this course before digging deep into next level.

By Sharan K

Apr 25, 2020

Loved the course! Looking forward to completing the other 2 courses in the specialization as well.

By Badarinadh V

Feb 28, 2020

Excellent instructor- very methodical and at a correct pace of teaching - not slow not fast for me

By Osmar S

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent for starters with some math knowledge! The course helped me a lot in real cases at work.

By Stavros P

Jun 8, 2019

It was a really useful online course, very targeted and safisied. I will definitely attend part 2