Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,440 ratings
977 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP
Apr 18, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 982 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Aeriel N S

Jun 22, 2018

The course was a great refresher for me since I haven't used VBA in quite a while and everything was clearly explained. Although at first I was overwhelmed since some of the examples were leaning on formulas, I was still able to understand all of it because of how Charlie explained everything in an easy manner.

By Werner V

May 11, 2020

A good course for both the novice as well as the more familiar Excel user. It was fun to delve into a bit of coding and problem solving using VBA. It is a must for Excel user who have unique calculations and problem solving scenarios and wish to automate tasks or even simplify it for everyday users!

By Andrés T R

Feb 25, 2020

I've learned a lot from this course. It gains in complexity with each week, but after struggling and trying to get the correct answer, you feel great and you know that you have learned new skills that are really useful for various situations, specially to solve problems with different perspectives.

By Thi T N

Dec 21, 2020

This code opens my mind, i need to improve and learn more than what I see on slide. Maybe because i am not professional in IT. But anyway, now I can write code and understand some loop, code that other people do. Your quiz and assignment are not easy to pass. They need a lot of effort.

By Haydn S

Apr 16, 2019

Great course. Well explained and easy to follow. Some of the assignments could be a bit more specific in what is required (e.g. calling a function within another function - rather than writing out code in the second function). But all things considered, highly recommended.

By Ryan

Jun 13, 2019

Great course. Week 4 is particularly more difficult than the preceding sections. The VBA cheat sheet is very useful for Weeks 1-3, but could be improved to help explain different For Loop structures and common errors when building a For Next Loop. Thank you Dr. Nuttelman.

By Rajesh S

Feb 18, 2018

This course is OK for Part 1. I think it would be better if the course was more focused on programming. That is, I would have preferred that the course have more content related to vba syntax. (Perhaps this is in Part II, which I am not sure that I'll take.)

By Gone A K

Nov 19, 2020

The instructor and the course is excellent. The only con is that are no practice exercises (for example SAS course by SAS has good number of exercises). It would be perfect if sir could include some exercises in between the screencasts.

By MengGim Y

Dec 4, 2020

Well, for this VBA part 1. You can learn some basic knowledge on the VBA and I believe those are quite useful for certain level of problem solve especially, it help to solve some problem(required repeated action).

By Andrej K

Aug 4, 2021

Very good course to learn fundamentals of VBA programming, and wake up the desire to learn more about the topic. Week 5 is too much for mathematics and little practical implementation into non-engineering fields.

By Paul F C

Oct 29, 2020

i really loved this course. Some of those concepts need a lot of practrice to deal with them.if i were the teacher i would 've given more excersices, maybe optional excersices ,to not scare those lazy students.

By Salvador R M

Aug 27, 2020

Excellent course for beginners trying to learn a new way to work in Excel with VBA. The subjects are well explained and the assignments have the adecuate difficulty to reinforce the information learned

By Grégoire P

Sep 8, 2019

Very good teaching by Prof. Nuttelman, who explains new notions very clearly. On the improvement side, I would perhaps suggest adding a few exercises to vary a bit the problems students have to solve.

By Rodolfo P L

Feb 22, 2018

The screencasts are very clear and concise but the assignments were too easy. I would suggest adding some assignments related with finance (e.g., bond calculators and portfolio optimization problems).

By Ingrid F

Sep 21, 2018

the course was very informative and helpful.

However, it would be easier to concentrate on VBA if people who don't use mathematical formulas that much would not have to deal with maths that much.

By CHAN, B K

Aug 2, 2018

Relatively easy, I cleared 3 weeks within 2 hours, and completed the whole module in less than 3 days. I did not spend more than 5 hours each of the 3 days. The honors exercise was interesting.

By Evan M

Mar 29, 2020

I like this course. Very helpful. But, the quizzes are "tricky" meaning the content is not too hard, but the questions are tricky. The assignments are very good, much better than the quizzes.

By BADARI P

Dec 10, 2020

What I liked most is the way your skills are tested using the assignments. Real brain crackers. Every skill that you have learnt through the course is tested in the assignments.

By Sabarish A

Feb 8, 2020

The course content was pretty awesome but when searching for help no one came up to help me. Was hard to find help, I was lucky somehow I was able to get the assignments done

By Xueying W

Dec 29, 2019

Not MacOs user friendly. No warning about computer system in course introduction. No specific answer for assignments. No Grader file for Mac. As a Mac user I feel distressed.

By VICKY D P

Aug 26, 2020

A lot of practice is required to understand the syntax , concepts, usage of them at right place. Instructor was very helpful , course being nicely outlined .

Thanks!!

By Nikoline M

Sep 20, 2019

Very good introduction to VBA, however ever a bit math heavy for someone working in business, and haven't used algebra since college. Would still recommend.

By Laura L G A

Jul 1, 2021

Very helpful, the instructor starts with the basics so pretty much everyone interested in VBA can finish this course, no matter his or her background

By Sumeet D

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent course overall, very mathematical though. Most people will be intimidated by equations with logarithms, exponents and square roots etc.

By Angelos L

Mar 1, 2020

Very easy to understand, extremely useful, basic level, need a bit more focus on more difficult examples! Generally: absolutely fantastic!