Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,963 ratings
843 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 26, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP
Apr 18, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 841 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By Jean C L

May 2, 2020

The instructor's lessons are very concise and well-planned. Concepts were easy to understand and execute. I had no programming background but I can still say that the teaching style proved to be effective :)

By Diego E

Oct 19, 2020

By the end of this course, you should have no problems in creating basic functions and sub-routines on VBA. The screencasts are very helpful and the exercises complement the learning process in a great way.

By Alfredo E

Jan 12, 2020

Really useful course! Very good for learning how to record macros and interpret the vba code. Very nice and looking forward to part 2. Professor Nuttelman is very good and CU boulder is lucky to have him!

By Andreas C

Apr 5, 2020

Really good course and good examples and assignments. For me as a Economics guy it was really challenging but possible to solve the Assignments and I am looking forward to Part 2! Keep up the good work.

By Gleason W

Aug 4, 2018

The course is very informative. Absolutely recommend it to anyone interested in learning VBA. I had no previous VBA or coding knowledge and was able to understand and complete all the work.

2 thumbs up

By Reginald P L

May 14, 2018

Love it! Worth it! Even though I already have a background in VBA, I still learned a lot especially in Week 5. Assessments are challenging but doable. Materials are explained and demonstrated properly.

By DIEGO F R A

Nov 12, 2020

Lo unico malo del curso es que al explicar la programación solamente copia y pega código, lo que acorta los videos, haciendo que el proceso de imitación no sea tan cómodo, pero eso es todo. Muy bueno

By Marcelo S V

Jan 19, 2020

Great course!! For a Part I it introduces you to useful functions and ways to approach different kind of problems. Challenging course but reasonable with low algebra. Exactly what I was looking for.

By Nian L

Aug 7, 2019

It's a great classes. Material is well organized and Charlie kept me engaged with clear instruction, good examples and assignments.

I have learned a lot very efficiently from this class. Thank you !

By Ravindu W

May 18, 2020

This course is awesome! goes from basic to expert step by step and it has great activities and tutorial videos and also provides great quizzes and assignments to mark our grades. I'll give 5/5!

By Ayoub A I

Mar 7, 2020

The course is very structured, and helped me understand the concepts of the VBA/Excel.. I want to thank all of you for the work you are doing so that you help us, thank you thank you thank you.

By Ngoc M N

Mar 2, 2020

i highly recommend this course as the content is new and the questions are designed to be challenging but not difficult. It is an excellent introduction course to VBA or programming in general

By Juan F S M

Aug 15, 2020

Excelent and well planned course! If you are an engineering student, I highly recommend you take this course, as VBA fully exploits the potential that Excel has to propel your career forward.

By Maxim V

Apr 11, 2020

This course provides a great foundation for working with VBA, it really enhances your Excel skills. I highly recommend everyone to take this course, and am looking forward to starting Part 2!

By Siting H

Oct 27, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. From Week 4 onwards it's quite challenging. Really appreciate the active engagement from Dr. Nuttelman and other moderators on the forum who gave excellent advice.

By Eduardo A G M

Dec 31, 2020

I'm gonna start my career and I found this course as a nice and clever way to learn vba. I highly recommend to do week five that is as optional. This is an excellent work, see you in part 2.

By Asim M

May 10, 2020

The course is of great learning for those who wants to excel in excel deep and deep. It can help in simplify most of our daily work. Course is really easy for engineers and science students.

By Kayla M

Oct 24, 2020

The course is definitely challenging. I am an engineering graduate but it did not come easily as I expected. Good exercise for the brains though and the lessons were taught systematically.

By Leonardo S

Feb 11, 2018

Very nice introduction course for VBA excel learners. Charlie is a very watchful and kind teacher. It really helped me to start fulfilling my dream of making some original codes by myself.

By Om V

Nov 29, 2019

An excellent course that starts with the basics and ends with some really advanced topics and concepts. Superb for anyone who's in a hurry to learn VBA but also desires to learn in depth.

By Philipe D

Apr 11, 2020

Great course for anyone interested in Excel/VBA, especially engineers. There is a lack of course materials I must say, sometimes the spreadsheets that are worked with, were not uploaded.

By Dimitrios A

Jul 30, 2019

I enjoyed the course really much. The course material was interesting and to the point and i really feel that i earned a much deeper understanding of VBA than the one i had since now.

By Rossmary J P

Apr 13, 2018

I really learned a lot in this course. I could start using right away what i've learned in real life problems. And it challenged me to discover new tools in excel and vba. Thank you!!

By MAROUANE M

Sep 9, 2019

A very usefull course for those who want to make things automatic and saving time. The course approach VBA basics step by step. With time, you start mastering great things about VBA.

By Sandeep K

Mar 25, 2018

Amazing Course. Only one suggestion, input more real life related coding examples and methods because one may not be using too complex formulas but need VBA for reducing the efforts.