Chevron Left
Back to Feminism and Social Justice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Feminism and Social Justice by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
stars
3,025 ratings
820 reviews

About the Course

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top reviews

IS

Feb 12, 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

SS

Jun 23, 2020

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 828 Reviews for Feminism and Social Justice

By Layla V F C

Oct 19, 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso, se me hizo muy interesante el conocer todas estas historias y cómo han influido en nuestra actualidad para que pase todo lo que hemos presenciado.

By Candice H

Sep 28, 2020

Amazing course, I learn a lot in relation to Feminism and Social Justice that I was unaware about. Professor Aptheker was engaging and made me look forward to what's next.

By Bharti S

Sep 24, 2020

It was an honor to have access to Prof Bettina Aptheker's lessons. Her teaching is brilliant, nuanced and presented so simple that I wish I could have more such sessions.

By Maria A C V

Jun 28, 2020

This course helped me to be more aware of things that happen in my environment, I also have learned a lot of feminist history and the professor is really good explaining!

By Sanjana V M

Jun 18, 2020

The course went deep into Feminism, the different movements and concepts around it that I was previously unaware of. It gave me a more holistic approach to view feminism.

By Kenyatta D B

Apr 16, 2020

I found this course enlightening and riveting because it gave me a different perspective of historical events. I would and will be recommending this course to my friends!

By Latisha T

Sep 22, 2020

I loved the course .it was straight forward and the professor ms Aptheker is a strong brave heart dealing and also being part and taking part in history..great teacher..

By Galicia J

Jul 16, 2020

This course was so informative and easy to follow. I finished the course less than 2 weeks! The instructor

Bettina Aptheker was/is awesome! I wish the course was longer.

By Dano T

Sep 09, 2020

Excellent course, to know and become aware of the feminist struggle, and in relation to social justice, and how this concerns us all as a matter of collective struggle.

By Sorina G A

Jul 31, 2020

a very nice flow of information. it's very easy to digest the content and i like the selection. wish it was longer and might rewatch some of the lectures in the future

By Kelly F

Mar 12, 2020

I loved this course! It delves into the importance of social justice and an understanding of intersectional feminism as a movement for all oppressed groups. Fantastic!

By Beatriz T M

Oct 15, 2019

A course that everyone should take. Bettina is an incredible lecturer and storyteller. Couldn't be happier with my choice to take this course. Very thought provoking.

By Minh T N

Jul 27, 2020

as a woman, this course has made me feel much more empowered!! I've learned so much. I've learned about the events, the movements and so I have acknowledged so much.

By Farzana H L

Apr 21, 2020

Its really an essential course for knowing women right and Historical movement to establish all right. Really i learn a lot,gain a lot from this courses. thank you.

By MADHUPARNA R

Oct 14, 2020

It was a really informative course. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Course material consisted of a full length fim which made the course all the more unique and interesting.

By VELPULA S C

Sep 18, 2020

i like COURSERA. i like it a lot. i learned more about Feminism and social justice.Very interesting Film documentaries, wonderful Professor we got Bettina appthkar.

By Vitor K D

Aug 20, 2020

Great insight and powerful statements. Brilliant professor and helped me a lot to get to know a little bit more of the feminist movement history of, mainly, the US.

By Camila G

Mar 28, 2020

Me encantó! Es muy interesante entender que las luchas colectivas feministas se han y se dan en todas partes del mundo, sin depender en la raza, clase ni educación.

By Alma A V R

Jul 15, 2020

Me gustó muchísimo el curso, sobre todo la semana 1 y 2 ya que incluyeron una película con grandes relaciones culturales con México y me pude identificar un poco.

By Pragati P

Aug 06, 2020

This course was really very interesting and informative. Why don't we have professors like Mrs Bettina in our country? I just loved the way she explained things.

By Karina M N

Jul 12, 2020

Me gustó mucho este curso, conocí partes de la historia de las cuales no tenía idea. La profesora es muy buena explicando y te comparte ese sentimiento de lucha.

By britt a t

Jun 24, 2020

such an enjoyable course and i loved how prof aptheker presented the topics. my only real compliant is that i wish there were more weeks in the course to take :)

By Madhushree K

May 28, 2020

I would like to learn more about misogyny within oppressed communities and how they can be eradicated, which one ought to be tackled first and their correlation.

By Diana B d J N C

Oct 20, 2020

Fue muy interesante y dinámico, se ve la vinculación del feminismo con distintos temas que son de relevancia para todos. Te hace querer profundizar más en ello.

By Bea V

Oct 12, 2020

I really enjoyed Professor Aptheker's lectures! This is very much an introductory course as it raises more questions than gives answers, but I'm not complaining