Chevron Left
Back to Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
stars
840 ratings
297 reviews

About the Course

Learn the mathematics behind the Fibonacci numbers, the golden ratio, and how they are related. These topics are not usually taught in a typical math curriculum, yet contain many fascinating results that are still accessible to an advanced high school student. The course culminates in an explanation of why the Fibonacci numbers appear unexpectedly in nature, such as the number of spirals in the head of a sunflower. Download the lecture notes: https://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/fibonacci.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/VWXeDFyB1hc...

Top reviews

JR
Jul 12, 2020

Someone has said that God created the integers; all the rest is the work of man. After seeing how the Fibonacci numbers play out in nature, I am not so sure about that. A very enjoyable course.

BH
Oct 28, 2020

Great course concept for about one of the most intriguing concepts in the mathematical world, however I found it on the difficult side especially for those who find math as a challenging topic.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 289 Reviews for Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

By Kim R

May 28, 2020

Really enjoyed the enthusiasm and interest level of the professor. Math level was cumbersome at times, but overall gained an appreciation for these numbers and their beauty! Thanks for offering this course.

By Sophia R L

Jun 24, 2020

All topics were very interesting and I love that there were real life examples and history incorporated into subject. The course was engaging and the material was fascinating & useful. I learned a lot!

By Utpal B

Jun 6, 2018

This course blends the rational thinking of mathematics and the aesthetics of art in nature. Enjoyed it. Thanks Coursera and Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

By Catherine K

Mar 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Interested in the Fibonacci Numbers and Golden Ratio and was looking for more information, this was clearly provided.

By Isaak C

Sep 2, 2020

It is a great course. If more real life examples of Fibonacci numbers and the Golden Ratio can be illustrated, it will be more fun.

By Devashish N

Jun 24, 2019

Yeah, the course was fun and i knid of learned a lot of new stuff and I'm satisfied with that.

Good course to learn.

By Kush S

Jun 30, 2019

Good Course with practical examples and mathematics applied to derivation and understanding of equations.

By Chandrakant N P

Jul 4, 2018

It was very useful to enhance my knowledge of Golden ration. A very good delivery by Professor Jasnov.

By Roshni S

Aug 10, 2019

The course has given a deeper insight into the subject. It made me appreciate the subject more.

By Swetha S

May 29, 2020

It's really interesting and fulfilled!! Thank you so much for this course.

By E

Jun 29, 2017

Professor, thank you for sharing. Appreciate the opportunity.

By Ashwin K

Dec 13, 2016

Good course. More problems sets would have been great!

By Aditya h

Aug 10, 2016

More real world examples of Golden Ratio necessary

By AM

Sep 3, 2017

Give practical examples from history and nature!

By Rohan M

Aug 4, 2020

Interesting course with practical examples

By Jenshiyaa A A

Jul 6, 2020

It is really interesting to learn .

By Shikhar B

Nov 18, 2016

good course, to learn something new

By Brian W

Dec 29, 2016

Great course! A little short.

By Rahul M

Dec 29, 2019

Very basic and short course.

By Andrew P

Mar 4, 2021

Clear and interesting.

By Narendra P M

Jun 7, 2020

Enjoyed while learning

By Sravan G

Dec 8, 2016

great learned a lot .

By Truong Q T

Sep 27, 2020

interesting course

By KATIKANENI.TEJASRI

Jun 4, 2020

Very interesting.

By aswin s

Jun 5, 2020

good experience