Chevron Left
Back to Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
stars
894 ratings
317 reviews

About the Course

Learn the mathematics behind the Fibonacci numbers, the golden ratio, and how they are related. These topics are not usually taught in a typical math curriculum, yet contain many fascinating results that are still accessible to an advanced high school student. The course culminates in an explanation of why the Fibonacci numbers appear unexpectedly in nature, such as the number of spirals in the head of a sunflower. Download the lecture notes: https://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/fibonacci.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/VWXeDFyB1hc...

Top reviews

BH
Oct 28, 2020

Great course concept for about one of the most intriguing concepts in the mathematical world, however I found it on the difficult side especially for those who find math as a challenging topic.

JR
Jul 12, 2020

Someone has said that God created the integers; all the rest is the work of man. After seeing how the Fibonacci numbers play out in nature, I am not so sure about that. A very enjoyable course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 311 Reviews for Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

By Jade I P N

Aug 16, 2020

I was seeking for an interesting course for learning something new, this course taught me that. It was so fun.

By Christophe S

Apr 29, 2019

Thanks for this wonderful course, Jeff. Those Fibonacci are amazing. I hope you will give us even more MOOCs.

By Daniel W

Jun 13, 2021

Fantastic course. Engaging throughout with challenging exercises and fascinating content. Highly reccomended.

By Fiona S

Mar 6, 2018

I fear maths but this was a really interesting course and very well explained. I'm a little less scared now.

By Bruce E

Oct 7, 2020

This course made math fun! Concepts were explained and and "homework assignments" illustrated the concepts.

By Omar E G C

Jul 26, 2020

The course is very well structured, and is really helpful as an introductory course to geometry and algbera

By Jose R F

May 26, 2020

Nice course and very interesting knowing some little more about this incredible matter that is mathematics.

By Phyllis H

May 2, 2020

Very interesting and well presented course. It was, however, rather more difficult than I had anticipated

By Mathematician S

Aug 13, 2020

Its a very interesting course. I encourage people to take this course to enjoy the beauty of Mathematics.

By Lars O

Feb 15, 2020

Fun course and very interesting. I would definitely take another course like this from Professor Chasnov.

By Francois O

Mar 5, 2020

Very neat course on the well-known Fibonacci numbers and Golden ratio accessible to non-mathematicians.

By Sachini D

Jun 17, 2020

This course is really nice and it gave me good knowledge about Fibonacci numbers and the golden ratio.

By ANNIE C M S

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent Course. Awesome Presentation by the Professor. It will be very useful to me. Thank you, Sir.

By Pericharla A V

Oct 11, 2020

An interesting, enjoyable course which is usually not taught in schools, or universities to anyone!!

By Andrew M

Jun 23, 2018

Very clear exposition, interesting and fun. Accessible to anyone interested in maths and patterns.

By Chavah T

Feb 13, 2018

Excellent! One of the best classes I've seen on Coursera. Very interesting and lots of fun.

By Krishnachandran V N

Jul 3, 2021

G​reat course in recreational mathematics. Enjoyed every minute of of it. Thanks professor

By Deleted A

Jan 8, 2021

very fun! I hope it's gonna help when I will start to learn in a university in the feauter

By Uma J

May 10, 2021

I enjoyed and learnt easily because by the expert Instructor of this course. Thank you

By Midhun K T

Sep 11, 2020

Class is exactly good. I really like the method of way of teaching. I like it so much.

By Deleted A

Sep 9, 2020

Good! thank you for helping me learn fibonacci I hope you have a good day thank you:)

By Fahmidha.A

Nov 8, 2020

It was interesting and I had fun playing with numbers. Lecture was clear and good.

By Arsenio P

Aug 30, 2020

I loved the course, there is a lot of material to learn, and the professor is great

By Amal P S

Apr 26, 2020

Great teaching style and made me enjoy the cource.Our professor was great loved it.

By Anurag O

Aug 22, 2017

A great introduction to Fibonacci numbers and how they relate to the golden ratio.