Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
2,518 ratings
542 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC

Dec 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM

Feb 22, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 535 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Paul J M

Dec 18, 2015

A clear, if fairly basic, introduction. The lack of discussion forums makes it a fairly sterile experience.

By WesamAbdallah

Oct 01, 2015

I'm still not completed the full course but i can say it's good course and very awesome Instructor

By Zhuang W

Mar 28, 2019

Very simple and basic explanation of Finance concepts. Good for beginners without any background.

By 黃揚策

Sep 11, 2015

Thanks a lot!

Financing is really large field! But it is a little too cramming for me...

By Constance B

Jan 17, 2016

A very quick overview of finance. Good review of fundamentals but not a lot of depth.

By Zachary K

Jan 21, 2016

Not a bad overview but overall far too shallow to be of significant worth on its own.

By Erlend D S

Sep 23, 2015

Very very simple. Recommended if you need a fast and simple introduction to finance.

By Roberto T

Feb 26, 2016

It was a bit confusing to understand the topics and try to learn them by heart.

By Nehal A A H

Oct 01, 2017

it needs more explanation for the subjects, instead of just so many headings.

By RAFAEL S

May 19, 2016

I've missed at least one practical exercises on each module.

Overall is good.

By Minhaz I K

Dec 10, 2016

Very basic overview of the topic. Did not meet my expectations.

By Yasmeen D

Dec 10, 2015

It is very useful for someone with only basic finance knowledge

By Helder F

Oct 26, 2015

Simple and fast.

Try to put more difficulty on the quizzes.

By Danilo A E

Jan 25, 2016

Basic stuff.

Good choice of subjects.

A little too short.

By Olabimpe S

Apr 16, 2017

Easy to follow and understand.

Actually interesting..

By montserrat s

Feb 07, 2016

it was very simple , but i expected more content

By Sunil G

Sep 27, 2015

Good content for a short duration course.

By Seho J

Mar 13, 2016

hard to understand for me

By Ibrahem A M A

Jul 21, 2017

Isn't beginner-friendly.

By Mohamed M

Aug 18, 2019

need more examples

By NANDHINIE M

Feb 13, 2020

found useful

By Sourav S

Jul 26, 2017

Good

By Nart A

Oct 25, 2015

First noticeable thing is that the instructor doesn't convey competence very well. He lacks the practical examples to explain the principles more efficiently. The result for me was that, although he chose not to go deep, the principles weren't as clear, memorable or relevant as I think they could have been.

I did learn a few useful things of course, but it was a disappointment in general.

By Janarthanan B

Oct 05, 2015

Please include exercises for computing the ratios and the valuation methods. In-video questions would have helped more. The quiz does not actually test the understanding of the topic in-depth. There can be some external readings suggested - resources that help us get more understanding on the subjects discussed.

By Deleted A

Feb 11, 2018

ROE = Net Income ($1,280) / Shareholder's Equity ($3,062) = 42%, not 43%. Your mistake in the assignment causes me to be given 0 points.