Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
3,897 ratings
810 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC
Dec 14, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM
Feb 21, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 799 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Nguyễn V H

Dec 25, 2017

Usefull

By BHAKEY S S S

Aug 23, 2020

GOOD

By Abdirahman A M

Oct 24, 2017

G

o

o

d

By JinHee L

Sep 27, 2016

dull

By 정 진

Apr 15, 2018

g

By Wesley R

Jul 3, 2017

-

By Pierre

Mar 5, 2017

G

By Narayan M

Jan 3, 2017

.

By Lee B

Mar 8, 2021

The introductory content is all there but some of the material is missing -- the lecturer refers to worked examples, tools to play with and alternative formulations which I could not find anywhere on the system. It also was not clear to me how to ask questions about the construction of some of the terms used, which made it feel like I was not really on a two-way course but rather just in receipt of some stuff. In weeks 3 and 4 the video and transcript starts to jump around a *lot* -- given the rate at which new calculation terms are introduced in these weeks, it makes them very difficult to absorb. The peer reviewed assignment is very good and more worked examples to do at home would be very useful.

By Jim R

Mar 31, 2021

It was a good high-level overview, but I felt it was missing some critical details, such as, when calculating the DuPont triangle, one key factor is calculating shareholder equity. Still, the course doesn't callout that you need to use the average shareholder equity to get the calculation correct. The good news is, I researched on other forums and found that out before doing the coursework, and I'll never forget it now!

By Sanjeev S

Jan 2, 2016

This is a good course to introduce the novice to financial terms used in common place.

But in my opinion, the instructor could have a gone a bit further, explaining about Markets, Stocks, Bonds etc.

Types of transactions involved.

Maybe its expecting too much, but still, just a suggestion

By Giacomo P

Feb 5, 2016

Quick and easy. But I would have liked more examples. For instance, how NPV and IRR actually works on Excel. Luckily, I have some prior knowledge of the subject, but sometimes it was not so clear for a complete beginner.

By Samantha A

Oct 22, 2015

A solid overview of accounting and finance for the non-financial professional. I have 0 finance and accounting experience, so I valued how broad this course was and I imagine it's a good primer for more in-depth courses.

By CAMILO B G

Jan 2, 2017

Adequate course for non-professionals in finance, although I thought they were going to explain many more themes.. to short for my expectations and excesive for the price.

By Aarushi I

Sep 23, 2015

It could be more elaborated. In the 3rd week, there was more equations and hurry to complete the topic, i think. But all in all good. It gives you a brief idea of finance.

By James I C

Oct 27, 2015

The presenter is good and knowledgeable, but the information is barely skimmed over and there isn't any real opportunity to learn. A few worked examples might be good

By Jennifer H

Jun 23, 2020

It was great in the beginning but became a little boring later on. However, content was good on most part though I would recommend adding a few more basic topics.

By Malik M

Dec 15, 2015

Good introduction to Finance and Accounting concepts for those with no background in either field, even as students. I liked the valuation module the most!

By manish R

Jun 22, 2020

IT IS THE GOOD COURSE FOR UNDERSTANDING THE BASIC FINANCIAL CONCEPTS BUT SOME WHAT CONFUSING ASSIGNMENT IN PEER GRADED

PLEASE LOOK AT THE QUERY

THANK YOU

By Nikii M

Feb 28, 2019

Good for those looking into learning more about basic finance. I found it was not my cup of tea, but i did learn a few new concepts that i can use.

By Deepak K B

Feb 12, 2016

The course gives a brief but concise overview of Finance. It would have been better if some more concepts and case studies had been incorporated.

By Nicolás M

Mar 10, 2021

The contest is ok, since it provides a general view. Practical examples in Excel would have been great, for determining ratios, cash flows, etc.

By Darsh N S

May 9, 2020

COULD BE MUCH BETTER IF THERE IS NOT SUCH A WEIRD PASSING CRITERIA FOR COURSES AND THE FACT THAT YOU CAN ONLY USE IT ONCE EVERY 8 HOURS

By Ankur R

Apr 13, 2020

Simple,quick needs a little bit prior info and more suited for professionals who have some kind of business knowledge but not necessary

By Kalea C

Aug 14, 2015

This course was quick and simple. I enjoyed the definitions and monetary examples. I would have more quizzes and harder questions.