Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Finance Professionals by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,032 ratings
446 reviews

About the Course

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top reviews

KH
Mar 27, 2020

Great Course, Very solid start for those who are trying to enter Finance world.\n\nIt makes you love this field if you are not familiar with it and have no previous experience.\n\nGreat Job Professor.

RM
Aug 16, 2020

This is a very well designed course. Taking you through basics and in the end puts you in a real business scenario where you are expected to take a decision based on the tools and concepts you learnt.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 446 Reviews for Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

By Yujie D

Mar 9, 2021

well-organized course! experienced teacher! great insights from the practitioner within the finance industry!

By Elie A

Jan 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course as it simplifies the subjects and we build some excel sheets.

Thank you professor

By Nicolò R

Dec 28, 2018

I have found this course very interesting with easy to understand lessons. Great job and recommended course!

By Iwan S

Nov 1, 2019

This course is adding my knowledge regarding cash flow and basic finance for non finance department. Thanks

By Gautam S

Jun 18, 2019

The professor was excellent and the content was great too. Loved the course. Waiting to get more from RICE.

By Martin E

Nov 21, 2017

Very good video lessons and the general outline of the course was "just right" in both timeline and content

By Mounir S

Jan 26, 2021

I'm very proud and Happy, and I'm very grateful for Mr. James Weston and for RICE university and COURSERA

By Gauri S

Jun 28, 2020

This course is really good for the one's like me who are new to finance and want gain knowledge about it.

By JESSY W

May 30, 2020

Very useful knowledge for finance sector. Really a great exposure and expanding in the career milestone.

By rounak s

May 14, 2020

Amazing course ! Prof. James is having immense knowledge of Finance.

His delivery of speech is excellent.

By Alishan C

Nov 5, 2020

The instructor did a fantastic job of explaining technical concepts and made the course very enjoyable!

By Rajeev K S

May 20, 2020

A lot of Learning and analyzing about the basic of Finance to enhance my knowledge and understanding.

By Jordan T

Dec 16, 2020

It was great, I think some answers on final exam might be wrong but the lessons themselves were great

By Sawan S

Mar 20, 2019

Excellent course, gives a basic understand of the financial parameters used in day to day operations.

By BARIŞ T E

Dec 2, 2018

I gained insight in financial issues with the help of the course. It is practical and easy to follow.

By Hideki B H

Mar 19, 2021

Te ayuda a reconocer las formas básicas de finanzas para que realices tu propio proyecto de trabajo.

By Juan F R A

Nov 11, 2020

Well organized, easy to follow and quizzes and excercises are key to advance smoothly in the course.

By Justin T

Sep 10, 2020

Great course. The information was very relevant and the teacher presented it in an engaging manner.

By j

Dec 11, 2016

Awesome content and execution. Focused delivery and student-friendly approach. Highly recommended!

By Syed R D

Nov 20, 2019

Wisely & Nicely Designed Course. I Loved it...Now I am able to Involve in Deep Financial Matters.

By Liow T Y

Nov 9, 2020

Amazing course! Lecturer explained it very well and we got lots of theory and practical exposure

By Feichen Y

Jan 20, 2020

Clear courses with good talk with the practitioner. Didn't get the certificate because I'm poor

By Deepesh T

Sep 1, 2020

The instructor explained all concepts really nicely without going into much technical details.

By Pravaal S

Oct 3, 2017

Brilliant course. Does exactly what the name suggests. A quick revision of all the concepts.

By Jairo S R

May 24, 2017

Very good course! Awesome professor with great materials and exams to take. Totally worth it