Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Finance by University of Pennsylvania

3.9
stars
445 ratings
130 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn the basic fundamentals of corporate finance. Based on the pre-term qualifying courses for Wharton MBA students, Professor Jessica Wachter has designed this course for learners who need a refresher in financial concepts, or for those who are learning about corporate finance for the first time. You’ll identify foundational concepts in corporate finance, such as NPV, Compound and Simple Interest, and Annuities versus Perpetuities. You’ll also learn how to apply the NPV framework to calculating fixed-income valuation and Equity, using hypothetical examples of corporate projects. By the end of this course, you’ll have honed your skills in calculating risk and returns to optimize investments, and be able to assess the right set of financial information to achieve better returns for your firm....

Top reviews

DT
Jan 18, 2021

It was an Amazing journey learning with Coursera & University of Pennsylvania!! I went back to my school years and I remembered back my Algebra, thank you so much!!

SM
Aug 21, 2021

the professor speaks very clearly. Not withstanding I have a question. Is there anyway to ask a question on this venue?Not withstanding I have a question.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 132 Reviews for Fundamentals of Finance

By Kay R

Apr 11, 2021

Horrible teaching materials and lecture., and instructor is horrible. COuld have been professional in presentations. More than 80% information lacks clarity . Lecturer comes up with quick calculations with no explanations. Overall i could not stand it after first session and going to cancel. The material is not well presented and hand written, too slow and total lack of clarity. Instructor could have atleast used ppt slides to present and keep things clear.

By Suli Z

Jan 22, 2021

I learned a lot of financial terms and concepts, such as NPV, annuity, YTM, HPR, ROE, and IRR. At the same time, I also learned how to compare and select two investment activities with different conditions. This course helped me a lot and expanded my knowledge.

By Sjouke R v d B

Feb 20, 2021

Excellent taught course with difficult quizzes, brought me a lot of extra knowledge and financial skills. You might need some extra books of material to finish the quizzes. I enjoyed this course very much.

By SUNNY M

Aug 22, 2021

the professor speaks very clearly. Not withstanding I have a question. Is there anyway to ask a question on this venue?Not withstanding I have a question.

By Darlene M

Apr 3, 2021

It is really challenging and fun to be able to finish this course. Thank you for this opportunity.

By Maurice K O

Jul 4, 2020

great introductory course for finance. the course materials were also very helpful

By Jacob M

Feb 2, 2021

This is a great introduction to the fundamentals of finance course. Professor Wachter is very clear and concise in her lectures and examples. The provided lecture notes are a great supplement to the recorded lectures.

The only negative thing about this course is the quiz, specifically how it is graded. There were numerous problems in multiple quizes that marked the correct answer as being incorrect. Or the answers required too many decimal places of precision to be marked correct. Ex: inputing .12 instead of 0.1200 would be marked wrong. This is stupid and an unnecessary hassle. Perhaps this is an issue with Coursera itself and not the course itself, but either way it should be addressed.

By Jatin R

Jan 16, 2021

This was a fantastic course, that was taught extremely well by Professor Wachter. I really learned a lot from the short videos and in-depth explanations and wonderfully detailed topic notes at the end of each section. The only improvement I would suggest is showing the correct answers on the quizzes and having ready explanations, instead of making us guess what the answer is, without reason as to how we get those answers.

By Anistya R K

Aug 23, 2021

well explanation. Kinda hard for beginner, but because I have learnt about it in my mother language I can understand about it. Other things that might help you to finish this course by talking with another participant in discussion forum. I hope this could help you guys for finishing the course. Good luck :)

By Tetiana N

Jun 26, 2021

The course was quite confusing. Some lectures were good, nice pace. general idea explained well. But then quizes are so out of context. frazing is very strange, very demotivating. Students had to discuss not the lectures/info but trying to solve tests together. This is not ok for learning.

By Utkarsha B

Sep 30, 2021

the course was good but the content lack detailed explanation of some terms and detailed explanation of examples properly. some quiz question were same as the example discussed but the answer was ultimately coming wrong. i wont recommend this course for beginners in finance.

By Adeer S

Jan 1, 2021

Quizzes are very messy i.e. some questions are worded confusingly, some fields expect a percentage answer where the answer is actually supposed to be a numerical one, otherwise the course content is an 8/10.

By Rubi R B

Nov 25, 2021

The teacher is very knowledgeable but sometimes passes some topics too fast and its hard to grasp the concept and the idea. The quizzes are not according to the classes that are given.

By Ann K

Jan 30, 2021

There should have been many more examples and the quizzes after you submit them should should you the correct answer and how it was obtained.

By Senthil K S

Jun 13, 2021

Lectures and material were not self sufficient - i had use other videos and books to learn the content

By Matthew C P

Nov 23, 2021

I believe there is a wealth of knowledge here, but the execution of presenting and teaching is not up to snuff. If this is a fundamentals course, then the materials should break down the terminologies and calculations in a more thoughtful way. I hold advanced personal finance designations including the CFP(r) certification; without any prior financial knowledge this course would be extremely hard to follow in my opinion. The positive of this course is that there is some great information that can be useful for those who want to learn.

By Pedro S

Feb 22, 2021

Hi,

there seems to be errors in the quizes. This is a source of pretty terrible doubts as to how one should apply the equations correctly.

The lectures and notes are quite good though, and this course is a pretty decent starting point to the path of knowledge in finance.

However, if I were responsible for the course I would be ashamed of falling short, as it does, when it comes to the correctness of the exercises in the quizzes.

By Kβ

Jun 17, 2021

Explanations are too complex. The same things could have been explained much simplier. Some concepts are tested in quiz although not properly explained in the course. And the hand-written lecture notes are not the best idea either.

By Kaitlin T

Mar 5, 2021

First quiz of this course asks you to work backwards from the principles that you are taught without prior instruction on how to do so.

By Tactician

Jul 31, 2021

It states beginner, but the lecturer does not explain the concepts involved at all

By Shauna W

Jul 14, 2021

A lot of the questions on the quiz are not covered in the readings and videos

By Julia B

Feb 22, 2021

Didn't love you don't end up seeing all answers/explanations on quizzes.

By Sai T

Apr 29, 2021

It isnt at a beginner level. Dives too deep without proper introduction

By Andres L R

Mar 23, 2021

Its not well explained.

By Ryley H

Nov 9, 2021

The instructor is knowledgable, but terms are not well-defined in the course. Difficult to pick up for people unfamilar with finance. I think there is a disconnect between what the audience expects in the course based on the marketing and description about the course and what is actually delivered