Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Finance by University of Pennsylvania

3.9
stars
444 ratings
130 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn the basic fundamentals of corporate finance. Based on the pre-term qualifying courses for Wharton MBA students, Professor Jessica Wachter has designed this course for learners who need a refresher in financial concepts, or for those who are learning about corporate finance for the first time. You’ll identify foundational concepts in corporate finance, such as NPV, Compound and Simple Interest, and Annuities versus Perpetuities. You’ll also learn how to apply the NPV framework to calculating fixed-income valuation and Equity, using hypothetical examples of corporate projects. By the end of this course, you’ll have honed your skills in calculating risk and returns to optimize investments, and be able to assess the right set of financial information to achieve better returns for your firm....

Top reviews

DT
Jan 18, 2021

It was an Amazing journey learning with Coursera & University of Pennsylvania!! I went back to my school years and I remembered back my Algebra, thank you so much!!

SM
Aug 21, 2021

the professor speaks very clearly. Not withstanding I have a question. Is there anyway to ask a question on this venue?Not withstanding I have a question.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 132 Reviews for Fundamentals of Finance

By Ronan D

Mar 29, 2021

explination was not very good for a new person

By Soumarup P

Jun 8, 2021

This was a good course in Finance

By Facundo G

Apr 15, 2021

Really helpful

By Duy P

Aug 20, 2021

Very good

By Zhenghe W

Jan 6, 2021

It's good

By Yin M

Mar 10, 2021

Honestly speaking, my experience with this course wasn't great. Reasons are the following: 1) The content of each class was actually not much. However, because the professor spoke so slowly I had to pay extra effort to focus and make the association of different topics in my mind (maybe it's just me; but if you are also easily drained by slow talking, this is going to be a problem with this course). 2) The reading materials in week 3 was misplaced as the content in the materials would only appear in latter videos. 3) A lot of frustration on the quiz - as many students reported rounding effect leading to wrong answer. And there was no support on solving the problems unless someone else published their solution in the forum... And in the case of this class, few were still active on week 4.

By Gideon S

Jun 2, 2021

This class has a number of shortfalls. Without sounding too harsh and while offering the utmost respect, Professor Wachter seems better for suited for research than teaching. Every quiz was filled with pitfalls. The discussion forum certainly mirrored this sentiment. Students often asked why she didn't address certain concepts, making the video lectures appear incomplete or inconsistent. In her defense, she included plenty of material that we could access offline. However, her responsibility in providing a needed coherence among her videos was sorely lacking. Sadly, of all the online coursework I have had, I felt that this class was the least formative.

By Arthur Y

Jan 5, 2021

I really think it is on par with a real Penn education. The professor was very knowledgeable about the subject yet the one thing I had a major problem with were the quizzes. Very little support structure to help you improve on the quizzes. And it was very hard to pass them because there was no feedback available. Additionally, the decimal points are confusing and how to round them correctly took a lot of time.

By Nikita K

Apr 23, 2021

The course itself is very "messy". Even though he main topics are covered but it feels like everything is done in a hurry without any proper background information like why, when and what for. Definitely, 4 weeks of this course is not enough. Fundamentals of Finance should set up a good basis of knowledge as it will be getting harder and harder, but it fails to do so, in my humble opinion.

By Nikolai K

Aug 25, 2021

It has very good videos and notes but very confusing nonetheless. You need to do your own research and wont find the answers in the notes or videos. It would be great if they explained the test from each week at the end since im not really learning anything from my mistakes. Anyways great course definitely not for beginners

By Aigerim K

May 31, 2021

The material covered on the videos is clear and easily understood. But there is a whole Week 5 (which is ungraded), which contains important topics, which are not covered by the lecturer on the videos. There are many pdf files in the end that are not straightforward to understand from just reading them.

By Michael B

Jul 17, 2021

The content of this course was very advanced and mathematical, but I did not feel like the course design was very student-friendly. Some concepts I had learned previously in another university, so that helped a lot. But for a complete beginner to finance, this would have probably received lower stars.

By marx m

Feb 10, 2021

I enjoyed the course thoroughly, I did find at times the Lecturer being too vague on some of the methods, purely because I found some of the questions in the quizes were not covered to the extent I would have understood them faster.

By David G

Mar 4, 2021

Good course only gave it 3 stars because of the multiple technical issues when taking the tests which was frustrating at times to say the least. Otherwise instructor is good and the notes are great study aids.

By Johanna J

Nov 29, 2021

The quizes were extremely difficult in comparison to the rest of the course and the hints on how to answer the questions were misleading and caused me enter in the correct answer in the incorrect format.

By Vaishnavi B

Sep 18, 2021

The lectures were not very comprehensive. In addition, there seem to be quite a few errors in the quiz questions, which create a lot of confusion.

By Ty D

Oct 31, 2021

I am certain this is a good course, but no way is it a Beginner level. I was overwhelmed in the first 5 minutes.

By Agung B S

Sep 26, 2021

Kurangnya soal case yang berat sehingga bagi calon murid baru akan sangat kesusahan memahami.

By Eeshan M

Mar 15, 2021

more real life examples (as in quizzes) should have been explained in the module

By Sourav K

Jun 22, 2021

The content is very nice but the explanation in the videos is not good at all.

By Yiqi J

Feb 7, 2021

Understand basic concept of corporate finance but not very in-depth.

By Yunjong G

Jul 31, 2021

Nice supplementary materials but the lecturer basically repeats them without much contextual explanation to provide more insights or reasons.

By Jeremiah C

Jun 18, 2021

very solid information but its not really a audit if they make you sign up to take the quizes. Loved this app but then they made this...

By Samantha A

Oct 1, 2021

Good information, somewhat hard to understand when based solely on lectures and notes. Wasn't a very enjoyable course.

By Nicholas N

Sep 1, 2021

Lectures were definitely not enough to cover quizzes