Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Foundations by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
3,468 ratings
813 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn foundations of financial accounting information. You will start your journey with a general overview of what financial accounting information is and the main financial statements. You will then learn how to code financial transactions in financial accounting language. In the meantime, you will learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. You will then critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, you will finish the course with an analysis of accounting for short-term assets where you will go into detail on how firms account for accounts receivables and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand main financial statements and the financial information they provide • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work • Understand revenue recognition principles and how they impact main financial statements • Account for accounts receivables and inventories. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AD
Sep 3, 2017

Though I have been through Intro Accounting some 3 or 4 times through different classes and seminars, I still found myself learning from this detailed and straight forward presentation of information.

YP
Jun 6, 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 789 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Foundations

By Duro A

Dec 11, 2016

G

By Lee F

Dec 31, 2017

Very good overview of the material. Two things that can be improved: be more explicit that the textbook is really necessary. The information in the videos is not sufficient for the quizzes. Also, please show the correct answer and explanation in the quizzes for the items missed when the quiz is passed. It would be nice to know why an answer was wrong even if the quiz was passed.

By Andras I

Nov 7, 2019

This course is a good introduction to basic accounting principles. Overall it's well worth the time: the videos are a bit hasty and feel rushed to quickly explain the principles but if someone really goes through understanding the quizzes and especially the module cases, it will work much better. I would expect a little bit more balance, so I gave this course 4 starts only.

By Surabhi P

Aug 23, 2018

It was a wonderful course but the only problem is that whenever we have a doubt we dont have anyone who can give a correct answer, so I suggest that there should be a forum where we can post questions and teachers should address that queries weekly or any way that suits them else our doubts are left unanswered. I hope this way knowledge delivery of coursera will improve.

By Denys Y

Apr 12, 2020

Sometimes a more visual explanation is needed, so, could You, please, consider putting entries for the problem and the way-to-way steps onto one slide, if possible?

It used to be a sort of confusing talking about subresults in accounting, when you do not see the whole picture on the slide.

Anyway, it was useful and fulfilling course, thanks a lot!

By Luci W

Mar 5, 2018

great class overall- there were a few concepts that, although explained, could have gone a little more in-depth. on occasion, the quiz questions would be more challenging and involve a more complex version of a concept than the examples the instructor went over.

thank you!

By Ricardo M

Jun 23, 2018

The course is very helpful to introduce you to the basic one of the financial statements. I would have preferred more complex practical exercises in different scenarios to strengthen the achieved knowledge. On general sense the course is good.

By Vikas

Feb 13, 2021

It was really a great experience..even though I don't belong to commerce background still it was easy to understand and learn new things related to accounting Balance sheet, income statement, Inventory calculation methods LIFO,FIFO..

By alejandro f

Jun 17, 2020

hi i am from colombia and i understand a little english but i cannot undersand this teacher for his accesnt so i couldn't finish this course. I know that that this is my fault but maybe many students have the same problem as me

By Patricio J T F

Jun 18, 2017

Great course to refresh your basic accounting knowledge, it ain't a course of complicated exercises but module 4. Highly recommended if your already have a business degree and seeking to refresh your accounting understanding.

By Nicolas P

Sep 11, 2020

Some of the latter videos could have benefitted from concrete examples and the professor should use a whiteboard or excel sheet for going over problems instead of just talking out the problems. Otherwise a good course.

By David S

Nov 11, 2020

Great course that covers the basics of financial accounting. The speed was a bit higher than what I was expecting from an online course, but luckily I was able to rewatch some of the videos whenever I wanted.

By Pablo S T A

May 31, 2020

El curso tiene pequeños errores en la preparación de los ejercicios y tiene un enfoque totalmente centrado a la normativa U.S GAAP, lo cual no es malo pero debería ser informado antes de iniciar el curso

By Syed M K S

Dec 9, 2018

This the teaching method and course structure plus teacher is exceptionally. One thing i need to add i was expecting to cover all the basic accounting things please add more and cover more content

By Carlos A S S

May 20, 2020

It could be easier for students to have acces to a link with the support material (laws, USGAAP/IFRS, text books) in each video in order to verify and save the documentary support of the class

By Bhavika V

May 3, 2020

Loved learning and doing this course! It's a great learning oppurtunity for those who are not from a commerce background but would love to learn accounting. Thanks for this great course! :)

By Eden D

Feb 21, 2021

i really admire the way the topics are coverd and well explained with helping exercises ,i am glade i take time in this course much interest for more advanced courses with oktay

By FABIAN S

Dec 17, 2017

The course offered basic accounting training that was understandable and easy to remember. I would definitely recommend to others and would continue with other courses.

By HUNTER G B

Feb 5, 2021

I feel like I learned a significant amount, but the videos did not always help that much with the practice quizzes. I kind of had to guess and check my feedback.

By Ugochinyere m O

Jul 2, 2020

It was easy for me, the lectures were easy to understand couple with the transcript for each module, it just made it simple. Thank you for such a wonderful class

By JOHN J

Jun 2, 2018

Could use a bit more explanation of the formulas and methods for deriving some of the balance sheet and income statement items, but overall very good overview.

By Carolina R C

Jun 10, 2019

Muy buen curso, aunque sentí que falto profundizar un poco en los ejercicios ya que en los quices y/o parciales faltaba información para poderlos completar

By RORY C

Dec 27, 2019

I liked the course. There are some elements of FIFO and LIFO that I worked through, but I'm still fuzzy on. I look forward to the live sessions.

By Jonathan K

Mar 18, 2019

If there were interactive workbooks, that would solidify understanding and give practical application to the content learned in the module.

By REY I A M

Jan 1, 2020

Los estudios son interesantes, ya que se puede ver la capacidad de analizar la información y prevenir varias alternativas.