Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
17,272 ratings
4,016 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

IH
Mar 9, 2021

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

SK
May 9, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 3,982 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Dylan W

Mar 29, 2020

This was an incredible course. I learned a lot about financial markets and the more intricate systems of the financial systems that are so essential to our everyday life. Mr. Shiller was a great orator and I genuinely found this course intellectually stimulating and helpful. I'm so glad I was able to have this opportunity to reinforce my studies and better prepare myself for my future.

By Dan P

Sep 25, 2020

Dr Shiller seems as genuine as he is esteemed. I'm glad to both learn about financial markets, and that there are people like Robert Shiller and Georgia Keohane out there advancing finance for the public good. I also like the desktop and smartphone Coursera features such as adjusting playback speed, advancing to a particular portion of the transcript, and the quiz/assignment feedback.

By Hannah D

Sep 18, 2020

Great course if you are looking for an introductory finance course. Financial markets is definitely a value for money course. I learned a lot about financial markets and appreciated that Professor Shiller emphasizes the good side of finance which is to help reduce inequality. Thanks to this course and to Professor Shiller, i have a clearer vision of what i would like my career to be.

By Juan A

Aug 6, 2020

El profesor Shiller ha sido un guía espléndido para el entendimiento de los mercados de capitales. No solamente ha sabido exponer de buena manera los principales conceptos técnicos sino que también nos ha dejado un mensaje importante: preocuparnos en llevar a las finanzas a un siguiente nivel, donde podamos ser estrategas en aplicarlas generando el bien común. Muchas gracias Profesor.

By Emily B

Nov 6, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course—chock-full of information and great for people trying to get a lay of the land. Professor Shiller is wonderful, too. Definitely recommend as an introduction to the financial landscape and to get a wide range of information (maybe not for you if you want to specialize in one issue, though I assume that's clear from the course description and syllabus!).

By Luis C A H

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed the course. I'm sure the best Financial Markets' course on Coursera. Intensive and very rich in content. I have learned about Financial Markets from professor Robert Shiller. He is an amazing teacher, his enthusiasm and style make it a pleasure to watch; his expierence as a financial professional could give you a different perspective on how modern financial economies work.

By DANIEL D

Jun 6, 2020

This was an excellent course due to its human capital and the entire team who provide the knowledge and experience to generate meaningful learning for many people through this financial markets course, and this contributes to improve not only on an intellectual level but on a social level encouraging critical-analytical thinking. thanks to Coursera, Robert Shiller and the whole team.

By Karla L R M

Jul 27, 2020

I am extremely grateful with this course and everyone involved! I had a great time, I learned a lot and I am happy that now I am not so lost financially talking and that I can understand a lot of important matters that I will need in my future life. I promise I will always maintain these knowledges present in my day-to-day life and I will share what I know to make a better society.

By Schreihans G

Jun 1, 2019

I really liked the course, even though it very much focused - especially in the housing part - on the US-American view. I would recommend to also have a look on the housing markets and the problem solving capacities of other countries. I am from Vienna, Austria and the city of Vienna addresses the housing issue very well and as well manages to remain the world's most liveable city.

By Mary A G

Jan 25, 2021

This course forced me to think of Financial Markets differently --that it's a culmination of mathematics, art and psychology and it could be an instrument to promote the public good. Robert Shiller's instruction is critical, he challenges his students to analyze the financial systems relative to its historical accounts that brought economic expansion and (sometimes) deterioration.

By P O

Jan 19, 2021

This was the perfect introduction to the world of finance for someone like me, a novice in this field. Robert Shiller is a pragmatic, forward thinking and mindful voice in the world of finance. The course is easily digestible, highly informative and a pleasure to learn useful knowledge that I can take forward and use in the real world. Thanks Coursera, Yale and Robert Shiller .

By Bedros C

Nov 6, 2020

I literally enjoyed every minute of this valuable course especially that it was given by the best professor ever Robert Shiller. It was a great honor and pleasure to listen to Professor Shiller's ideas and his outstanding way in exemplifying hard definitions and even formulas to simple and everyday practices. Thank you Yale and Coursera for such a beautiful valuable experience.

By Samarov D V

Feb 27, 2021

That was one of the best course ever. Thank you so much for creating it and sharing your knowledge! That was absolutely helpful for me because I didn't have any previous economy background but I could understand quite well the concepts explained. I firmly recommend this course, it is must know of our every day life that can help us extinguish financial illiteracy in the world.

By Dhanya N

Mar 25, 2020

I loved this course. As an undergraduate student with a very limited understanding of financial markets, this course was a great introduction and covered all the key concepts. The workload is very manageable, and Professor Shiller is extremely engaging. I am very grateful for the opportunity to have learned from such a renowned economist. I highly recommend Financial Markets!

By Chiara C

Dec 13, 2020

The course was found to meet my expectations. Professor Schiller introduced us with mastery and profound knowledge in the topics of finance, making us understand the evolution of the times and the need to return to finance for man. I thank the professor, Yale University and the University of Catania for giving me the opportunity to explore these issues, with a look overseas.

By Ada A K

Sep 21, 2018

A huge thank to Professor Shiller for his beautiful work and kindness, to Yale University for the unbelievable opportunity to study in, to Coursera team, great platform and worldwild proximity, for your desire to help and to give opportunity for better life in broad sense and for letting me the opportunity to be a student for free. Thank you again! Best wishes and good luck!

By Till B

May 12, 2020

Really enjoyed this curse providing a comprehensive introduction into the world of finance. Professor Schiller is a great lecturer who is capable of explaining complex theory in a precise and understandable way, sharing interesting insights from his vast experience in this field. Fully recommend taking this course for everyone, not only for people engaged with the matter.

By Martin Š

Jul 21, 2018

Great course to deepen your knowledge about financial markets and gain insight how things are in the States which is very helpfull if you are a foreigner and are being taught only "local" stuff. Mr. Schiller is very easy to listen to and may be very similar to your gramps which you might have lost in early age same as I did. Too bad this course has to end. Will miss this.

By Gandharav M

Mar 7, 2021

One of the Best Course for Financial Knowledge with History knowledge on how it evolved. Some things are missing in this course which is how a Trade Lifecycle Works. that's really important for a Student to know. I am a Business/Quality Analyst in an Investment Bank. Soits really important to know that for an Interview and for Background. otherwise the Course is amazing.

By Anupriya A

Jun 4, 2020

A unique course of Risk and Portfolio Management, with not just learning about Stock Markets and managing risks but how to analyse and reduce it by covering the history of stock market understanding the contents behind markets being bearish and bullish. Prof. Shiller made me understand all the concepts by giving relevant and experienced examples in almost all the topics.

By Paul F G

Sep 8, 2017

This was a most excellent course, interesting and very well taught. It's not often you get unfettered access to a senior lecturer and a Nobel Laureate at that. Professor Shiller is amazing as a straightforward, unassuming yet immensely knowledgable expert and teacher on a fascinating subject that not enough people understand or even know much about. Take this class!

By Rommel E

Jul 27, 2020

Incredible course. Over my expectations. Professor Shiller made it all easy to understand. Interviews were just great, and I feel I have received more than a course, a lesson for life trough those interviews. The dynamic of the course was great, videos, examples, translation, etc, what a great way to learn!!

Thank you Professor Shiller, Yale and of course: COURSERA

By Tomiwa A

Jun 26, 2020

This is a course everyone needs to take regardless of your field or specialization. This breaks down the financial markets and the players and other key concepts in traditional and modern day finance as it relates to our daily activities. I strongly recommend this course to all who are thinking about starting a career in finance or willing to enhance their career.

By Dwight H

Jan 13, 2021

I was pleasantly surprised with the in depth coverage of the American financial system and the banking system. Well presented in a friendly manner with Professor Shiller.

The discussion groups were interesting and the light hearted approach to material and the financial markets was a refreshing change to other economics courses I have completed. Bravo. Well done

By Hector M T G

Aug 30, 2020

I was entirely new about to finance. Robert Shiller is an absolutely terrific teacher, he makes all the concepts intuitive and easy to grasp, whenever he missed touching ground in an explanation Harun Gupta (the teaching assistant) clarifies the further. I am very confident that I have gotten a good grasp of basic financial concepts (and maybe some not so basic).