Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
19,035 ratings
4,378 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

SK
May 9, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

JC
Aug 19, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 4,392 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Akash K

Jul 1, 2019

It was a really a great opportunity to be a part of this course, which ultimately enhanced my skills towards finance and its related concepts.

As mentioned before at this very moment i wish to send my love and support to Prof. Shiller for his contribution to the entire course session, Yale Management, and the entire Coursera team for there support and guidance

Thank you,

Regards: AKASH KURIEN

By Carol B

Oct 26, 2020

The class was awesome, I wish I could take more of Professor Shiller's classes, he's so knowledgeable and that really comes across in his lectures. For someone that is not a finance or economics major, this class has really shed light on many little intricacies of different financial markets and risk management. I really applaud Shiller and his team for sharing this class with the masses.

By Mangesh S R

May 6, 2020

The good thing about the course is it takes you through several topics and historical facts which one might not find on the internet easily. The Course is quite good but they have not mentioned the reading material as pre-requisite beforehand which they should include since some topics require previous knowledge. It was me who saw the available resources later after completing the course.

By Brandon C

Mar 11, 2020

Prof Shiller has created a thorough yet concise overview of all the major financial markets out there while providing well thought out solutions to a variety of important economic issues. Shot with a mix of lectures, small groups, and coffee shop chats. You feel like you're at Yale learning alongside everyone. Refreshing and doable. You're bound to learn something useful from this course.

By Jagadabhi R g b

Sep 11, 2020

I can say it is one of the most useful courses out there, for starters looking to start somewhere or what to pursue in finance you will get a clear picture by the end of the course. It covers all that is required and you will learn a lot more than you can think of and Robert J Shiller is an amazing teacher and his sense of humour is just great. Very interactive from the start to the end.

By Rocío M T

Aug 7, 2020

I enjoyed this course because It's easy to understand although I don't have too much knowledge about Financial Markets. It is a course that helps you to get into the very importance of Economics in the world and the view that it's not just about making money but about putting that knowledge at the service of Society. I recommend it if you want to have a different but very realistic view.

By PLN R

Apr 13, 2019

Just fabulous course! Professor Shiller does an amazing job, explaining the basics of finance! I completely recommend the course to every single person, irrespective of their background, to help get bird's eye view of the basic financial terms and tools! Helps you understand why finance is essential, not only if you have taken it up at graduate or undergraduate level; but is life indeed.

By pm s

Oct 30, 2020

I was astounded all the way to have Professor Shiller on my vritual Classroom teaching me all these weeks.

There are no words to qualify his knowledge, and devotion to pass knowledge, to try to understand why things that are so important in our lives happen, all arround our small world, all connected to Financial Markets. A human point of view, plain facts, and hard science, all in one.

By Devesh B

Oct 16, 2020

This course by Yale University and professor Shiller is not only great for those who want to understand the basics of complex financial world but also for those who want to brush up their concepts, to those who want to explore about so many unheard aspects of finance. Of course the course being a bit long requires patience but at the end of the day it is extremely well put and thorough!

By Facundo C

Mar 6, 2021

What a magnificent course! Professor Shiller is a genius. He managed to open my mind regarding finances, emphasizing the social aspect of the issue and covering each and every topic related to finance in general. I am very grateful for having had the opportunity to do this course. Without a doubt, a before and after in my academic life. Thank you very much Coursera and Yale University!

By YASSINE K

Oct 2, 2020

Un excellent cours concernant les marchés financiers. Les thématiques abordées sont détaillées et décortiquées par le Professeur Robert Schiller.

Le cours aborde de nombreuses notions, allant de la Finance Comportementale aux bulles spéculatives, en passant par les mécanismes de passage d'ordres...

Le Professeur Schiller transmet son savoir avec beaucoup de passion. J'ai adoré ce cours !

By Dylan W

Mar 29, 2020

This was an incredible course. I learned a lot about financial markets and the more intricate systems of the financial systems that are so essential to our everyday life. Mr. Shiller was a great orator and I genuinely found this course intellectually stimulating and helpful. I'm so glad I was able to have this opportunity to reinforce my studies and better prepare myself for my future.

By Dan P

Sep 25, 2020

Dr Shiller seems as genuine as he is esteemed. I'm glad to both learn about financial markets, and that there are people like Robert Shiller and Georgia Keohane out there advancing finance for the public good. I also like the desktop and smartphone Coursera features such as adjusting playback speed, advancing to a particular portion of the transcript, and the quiz/assignment feedback.

By Hannah D

Sep 18, 2020

Great course if you are looking for an introductory finance course. Financial markets is definitely a value for money course. I learned a lot about financial markets and appreciated that Professor Shiller emphasizes the good side of finance which is to help reduce inequality. Thanks to this course and to Professor Shiller, i have a clearer vision of what i would like my career to be.

By Juan A

Aug 6, 2020

El profesor Shiller ha sido un guía espléndido para el entendimiento de los mercados de capitales. No solamente ha sabido exponer de buena manera los principales conceptos técnicos sino que también nos ha dejado un mensaje importante: preocuparnos en llevar a las finanzas a un siguiente nivel, donde podamos ser estrategas en aplicarlas generando el bien común. Muchas gracias Profesor.

By Emily B

Nov 6, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course—chock-full of information and great for people trying to get a lay of the land. Professor Shiller is wonderful, too. Definitely recommend as an introduction to the financial landscape and to get a wide range of information (maybe not for you if you want to specialize in one issue, though I assume that's clear from the course description and syllabus!).

By Luis C A H

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed the course. I'm sure the best Financial Markets' course on Coursera. Intensive and very rich in content. I have learned about Financial Markets from professor Robert Shiller. He is an amazing teacher, his enthusiasm and style make it a pleasure to watch; his expierence as a financial professional could give you a different perspective on how modern financial economies work.

By DANIEL D

Jun 6, 2020

This was an excellent course due to its human capital and the entire team who provide the knowledge and experience to generate meaningful learning for many people through this financial markets course, and this contributes to improve not only on an intellectual level but on a social level encouraging critical-analytical thinking. thanks to Coursera, Robert Shiller and the whole team.

By Karla L R M

Jul 27, 2020

I am extremely grateful with this course and everyone involved! I had a great time, I learned a lot and I am happy that now I am not so lost financially talking and that I can understand a lot of important matters that I will need in my future life. I promise I will always maintain these knowledges present in my day-to-day life and I will share what I know to make a better society.

By Schreihans G

Jun 1, 2019

I really liked the course, even though it very much focused - especially in the housing part - on the US-American view. I would recommend to also have a look on the housing markets and the problem solving capacities of other countries. I am from Vienna, Austria and the city of Vienna addresses the housing issue very well and as well manages to remain the world's most liveable city.

By Mary A G

Jan 25, 2021

This course forced me to think of Financial Markets differently --that it's a culmination of mathematics, art and psychology and it could be an instrument to promote the public good. Robert Shiller's instruction is critical, he challenges his students to analyze the financial systems relative to its historical accounts that brought economic expansion and (sometimes) deterioration.

By P O

Jan 19, 2021

This was the perfect introduction to the world of finance for someone like me, a novice in this field. Robert Shiller is a pragmatic, forward thinking and mindful voice in the world of finance. The course is easily digestible, highly informative and a pleasure to learn useful knowledge that I can take forward and use in the real world. Thanks Coursera, Yale and Robert Shiller .

By Bedros C

Nov 6, 2020

I literally enjoyed every minute of this valuable course especially that it was given by the best professor ever Robert Shiller. It was a great honor and pleasure to listen to Professor Shiller's ideas and his outstanding way in exemplifying hard definitions and even formulas to simple and everyday practices. Thank you Yale and Coursera for such a beautiful valuable experience.

By Samarov D V

Feb 27, 2021

That was one of the best course ever. Thank you so much for creating it and sharing your knowledge! That was absolutely helpful for me because I didn't have any previous economy background but I could understand quite well the concepts explained. I firmly recommend this course, it is must know of our every day life that can help us extinguish financial illiteracy in the world.

By Andrea V

Jul 29, 2021

The course gives some introduction to classic topics of finance but it built on ideas, insights, innovations of social finance and hence is not a technical course. This was a wonderful surprise as the internet is full of difficult courses about financial modeling and then it allowed me to rethink finance and reason about the most important issues and challanges in the future.