Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
27,378 ratings

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

BK

Invalid date

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

SK

Invalid date

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 6,082 Reviews for Financial Markets

By salauddeen s

Dec 23, 2018

VERY GOOD COURSE. I ENJOYED A LOT

By Alkın K Ş

Dec 13, 2021

Kind of outdated

By Adrian J C

Jun 23, 2020

Considering it is a beginner level course in Coursera, it's not really an introductory course. I find it somewhat predominantly behavioral finance, and most of the concepts were not well-defined or explained. The available downloadable powerpoint lectures aren't that meaningful. Lectures involving mathematical formulas were not even explained with sufficient effort, so you end up researching about it yourself. Prof. Shiller is an awesome lecturer, but there were times when I didn't understand what he was talking about at all. It feels a bit more intermediate, so the good thing about this course is you acquire some advance concepts in finance and Prof. Shiller has really shared some wonderful insights about finance during Salon discussions. Honestly speaking though, if you're looking for something really fundamental about Finance then this is not the course for you. You are better off taking Finance and Capital Markets at Khan Academy. Otherwise, a non-credit course certificate from Yale sounds good too, I guess.

By Panagiotis K

Mar 26, 2021

Generally it is a good course. It provides you with so much knowledge about everything you need to know about finance. Althought the process of gaining and understanding it is a bit difficult. The videos are so long and many times have so many info that you cannot keep up. The information is there but it is hard to write down and understand what he tries to explain and after that take a test that is more demanding. For someone that is not into economics it may seem hard but if you know some stuff then can help you improve

By VS S P

Apr 14, 2020

Most of the description was about the back story of the topic and the ending was abrupt without a proper wrap-up. This was a little off-putting since the Rating of the course was quite high. The professor is good and his speech is quite clear and composed which is the reason for the 3 star rating.

However, these mixed feelings have thrown me into a dilemma whether to purchase a certificate or not.

By Mirko T

Oct 28, 2017

I really would like to put 5 stars on this course, to premiate the quality of prof. Shiller's lessons.

But i can't do it because many (too many) lessons were without subtitles, and for a non-english learner this became an hard annoying obstacle. I payied so much money for this and i've been very disappointed when i found so many lessons which i can't understand.

By Shariq Z

Oct 13, 2020

This course covers a lot of concepts. Although, all the concepts are not fully described. It also contains mathematical portions which were not described properly. Overall, I am satisfied with the course contents but you have to study and explore a lot after learning concepts covered in this course because they are not explained deeply.

By Yunqin Z

Aug 31, 2019

Topics are good. However the slides are not very well organized and include terminologies unexplained. Math and statistics touched in this course may be too fundamental for those who have a engineering/sciences background.

Principles/Concepts: 5/5

Math/statistics: 3/5

Slides & materials: 2 of 5

By Radu L

Aug 4, 2020

I'd say it's overrated. Very US-centered (I did not know). The quizzes were quire arbitrary, some questions were completely irrelevant, in my opinion. Very little math, unfortunately, and the bit that was there was barely put to use or to the test. Meh, I had higher expectations.

By Jose A N F

Feb 5, 2022

It was a good course overall, you will learn a lot of basic concepts about finances, the only bad think is that it can be a little boring sometimes for non-American people when they talk about USA history of finances, which covers around 30% of the course.

By Tùng P

Jul 28, 2021

I believe this is a useful course for the American as well as people who are of developed countries. However, the principles provided by the lecture does not apply to developing nations such as Vietnam.

By sarah b

Apr 22, 2024

Good course. A bit out of date. No reason for a peer review final project. They need to remove this and replace it with a standard test that can be auto graded as the course is so old.

By Jonathan D W

Jan 11, 2024

Outdated and imbued with puffery and excess verbiage. It is clear the professor has been steeped in academia for so long that the potentiality for real world analysis through relevant correlation is retarded to a point of complete discontinuity. I respect that this course makes you think; it is hard to accept that this course experience seems like it is comprised of 80% excess and 20% valuable information... and yet, perhaps my ignorance is showing.

By Armen K

Aug 24, 2020

By all my due respect, it was hard to follow the instructor.

The vital and important pieces of information were lost during the lectures due to confused and spontaneously mixed speeches. The lectures was not constructed properly to go from stating a theory, then presenting arguments and then coming to a conclusion.

Nevertheless, I completed this course with a higher grade thanks to my previous university education.

Sorry, if I may seem to be tough.

By HESHAM A H

Feb 5, 2024

My problem is that this course seems like it was cut from an older, much larger course... Most of the videos are taken out of context without an introduction, and most of the information is not explained. A tiring and useless course for beginners... One day I will be more advanced in the scientific subject and go back and review the course again.

By Karl B

Dec 1, 2021

Wish I read the reviews before I started, Yeah, super incoherent, Assignments often reference material, not yet covered, poor production value and super hard to follow. However, I do have a genuine interest in the financial markets and this course did provide SOME value.

By Mari P

Mar 4, 2022

It's hard to make senses of all the narrative because it's poorly edited; you feel you're missing chunks of information. And it's definitely not appropriate for true beginners.

By Rees

Jan 14, 2021

There's no nice way to say this, I'm sorry: the instructor is not a good public speaker. He may be wonderful one-on-one, but it is painful to listen to him lecture.

By Joshua B

May 9, 2023

This course has a peer-reviewed assignment which is a huge problem for the students as they have to wait a long time for someone to review their submissions.

By Sattam B

Dec 11, 2021

I personally didn't find it for beginners as it says.

By Anh N

Apr 11, 2024

so boring. hard to follow

By Cattaneo R

Feb 19, 2023

It seemed to me that from the introduction this was supposed to be a course that would introduce people to the financial markets and, as they say: "anybody could appreciate, not only people that are super interested in economy". I was expecting first week lectures to be something like: what is the financial market? etc. then i was surprised to see that the first lecture is "stress tests", which then turned out to be a very specific argument.

I totally respect the professor and i admire him for his works and his knowledge but to be fair when i was listening to his lectures i felt exactly like when i was doing University (Engineering) and listening to some old professor blurting out random stuff about a certain topic, assuming that everybody knew already most of the stuff he was talking about and not giving any explanation whatsoever, without following any logical scheme that could make you feel like you are slowly mastering a topic, and constantly make digressions that only them could understand.

I vividly recall the unsatisfactory feeling after every lesson and the dread of having to do an exam...

Now i may be acting too impulsive and be totally wrong, maybe the lessons from week4 on will be amazing and i would learn a lot, but still the first impression is very important and, to be fair, for me was a total disappointment.

I think you can find better explained information in some youtube channels or just ask chatgpt

By Barbora I

Aug 5, 2023

The professor seems like a very nice person, however the course is not structured properly. The info on the course page indicates that there is no previous experience necessary, however the course does not clearly explain the basic concepts of the financial markets, nor some of the math/data involved. For this reason, the lectures are hard to follow. Additionally, there is no clear structure to the lectures themselves, they just seem to be excerpts of longer lectures but they do not follow any particular order and do not follow up on each other.

By Kerry M

Aug 18, 2020

I can't access the quiz 5 and beyond. I'd really like to continue, and to complete the quizzes. I'm finding it difficult to troubleshoot. It says that "the session will be unlocked when the session begins". When I click on the quiz it asks me to "reset my deadlines". (The deadline for the quiz is 7 Sep so I have time.) When I click on "reset my deadlines" the message is "Something went wrong. Please try again." That's been happening for over a week. I'm losing time. arrghghghgh .

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kerry McGovern

By Alin T

Aug 12, 2021

I haven't even finished the first week because it wasn't a bearable experience for me as a learner. The videos have 0 continuity, most of them are just snippets from a face-to-face course in an auditorium that aren't even cut at a sane point, they just... stop. Some clips reference concepts that aren't even discussed until later (or at all). I had high hopes going in, time to search for something else.