Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
27,436 ratings

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

IH

Invalid date

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

BK

Invalid date

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 6,096 Reviews for Financial Markets

By David O

Aug 30, 2017

How often do you get to learn from a world leading expert and Nobel Laureate?

My background is in engineering & tech, so I've been looking for some good materials to broaden my mind around financial markets (beyond common investment topics like stocks, bonds, etc) and peek under the covers of what makes our economy tick in a digestible and fun way.

I got way more than I hoped for with this course- the videos were very well put together and I enjoyed the deep dive sessions with the students as well.

Professor Shiller is a great storyteller and that makes the course intriguing, it feels more like a really good novel that's hard to put down once you get started!

By Rafael P d S

Mar 1, 2020

The reason I started to study Financial Markets was the connection to Mathematics. I decide to take this course instead of reading random posts from various websites on the subject. I special thanks to Professor Robert Shiller for changing mine overview on the meaning of Finances, It was an honor and in the end, I felted like I was a 'real' student in is class.

I have learned that there is more in Financial Markets than profit, for example, their “true” purpose our society-development.

That said, I 100% recommend this course and last but not least thank you to coursera for the well-designed and user-friendly platform.

Keep challenging yourself!

Rafael da Silva

By Matías Z P

Aug 17, 2020

Muy buen curso, el profesor es entretenido, explica varias temáticas y se pasa el tiempo rápido aprendiendo, me sirvió para complementar las otras nociones y cursos de finanzas que había hecho. Lo único que faltó, material complementario. no tener que pagar por él sino que gratis, como cualquier otro curso, ese aspecto se debe mejorar.

Very good course, the teacher is entertaining, explains various topics and spends time quickly learning, it helped me to complement the other notions and finance courses that I had taken. The only thing missing, supplementary material. not having to pay for it but free, like any other course, that aspect should be improved.

By Oscar Z

Jun 14, 2020

Excelente curso, los contenidos están muy bien concebidos e hilados.

El profesor Schiller tiene una capacidad increíble para transmitir el conocimiento y para explicar con simpleza conceptos avanzados de finanzas y macro-economía.

Personalmente viví una experiencia mágica con el curso, siempre a la expectativa de los nuevos conceptos por asimilar.

Agradezco infinitamente a Coursera por permitir a latino américa y al mundo acceder contenidos de tan alta calidad y a maestros del prestigio y trayectoria como Robert Shiller. Realmente es esta una forma de democratizar el conocimiento y contribuir a hacer de éste un mejor mundo para todos.

Infinitas gracias

By Sam A

Mar 8, 2019

Financial Markets is a very resourceful and comprehensive introductory course for neophytes. I think it emphasizes the the different "pillars" and fundamentals notions of modern finance but mostly, describes the bigger picture : the roles finance can play in societies and for business. This course is also interdisciplinary and covers equations, basic statistics and psychology. It is also filled with examples drawn from history, showing how finance met the challenges growing societies had faced for centuries.

I have now grasped , in an overall manner, what finance is and I sure would like to drill down on this subject. Thank you Professor Shiller !

By silverace08

Jun 7, 2020

thank you for sharing this course online for free: it was really informational in educating the lay person on important financial concepts that run the world, with extremely relevant, historical, real world examples, it was an intrigue to listen to professor robert shiller, who is a boss, his philosophy on life, the world, and on finance is quite inspiring, combined with his humility, humour, and humanistic values, on making financial markets accessible for all to understand in practical terms - if it was not for him i probably would not have been able to finish the course, the diverse range of material drew me in, but his enthusiam kept me going

By Michael H

Jun 20, 2020

A brilliant course and introduction to Finance. You can tell a lot of care has gone into making this course and to improve financial education at an affordable price. It has really made me think a lot more about the financial tools available and how they can be used to solve problems in everyday life. Could not recommend this enough and everyone should read into this course to understand the basics of how the world works.

Huge thanks to Professor Shiller for taking the time to do this course and the bonus interviews at the end (also worth a watch). I'll definitely be taking what I learned from this course and applying it to ideas and engineering.

By Marcin L

Aug 12, 2017

Professor Shiller is an inspiring person with immense knowledge and great personality (down-to-earth, positive, encouraging ethical and socially-responsible attitude). The course itself is comprehensive, well structured and gives historical background to the theoretical concepts, which helps to better comprehend the reasoning behind them. For me, it has propelled my interest in finance and motivated me to undertake new endeavors in the field.

If you were to take one online finance course, choose this one. Trust me, before I enrolled I had seen stellar reviews too, and the course has definitely lived up to, or even exceeded, my expectations.

By Irene H

May 23, 2020

This was a great introduction to financial markets. I have been a home owner and investor for a long time and have various forms of insurance but had never connected the dots before taking this course. It was interesting to hear how long some concepts have been around, eg. the rice trading markets of Japan. Also, the course went beyond what I usually associated with "finance", i.e. the world of business, and touched briefly on things like non-profits, cooperatives, and various ways to empower people who have limited access to financial advice, money or insurance. Many thanks to Mr. Shiller and Yale for an eye-opening learning experience.

By Richa A

Aug 21, 2021

Topics are explained very lucidly by the Professor. The recordings of in-depth conversations with the students clears all the potential doubts that may arise while learning about various topics. Though I certainly feel that there were certain aspects that could have been optional considering it is a course opted by learners across the globe, learning about US state regulations is a particularly futile exercise if one never plans to interact with the US market.

But overall, a superb course, kudos to Coursera, Yale and Professor Shiller for this making this amazing course available to us.

This could not have been any better!

By HEngin B

May 1, 2020

Dear Mr.Schiller,

I have really enjoyed this course and couldn't have waited to take exams. Your deep knowledge as well as commitment for teaching make all learning as an unprecedented experience that I have never had before.

As an individual I became your fan and surely will follow you in social, printed and all media from now on.

Again, it was my pleasure to be your long distance student, surely I will seek opportunities to meet with you personally if I visited New Heaven again. I want you to know that you have a new Turkish fan in this land who will be long time loyal to your teaching.

Regards

H.Engin Bilgin

90-5322948803.

By Dr C S

Nov 15, 2017

This course is one of the best online courses I have attended and I recommend it for everyone who has an interest in financial markets, no matter what background.

The courses is at phases pretty challenging, but so are financial markets and so you will get a realistic understanding of what investing means.

Professor Shiller is very amicable as a speaker and his strong focus on a 'real world' approach, ethical concerns and also the pitfalls of investing gives a lot of food for thought.

To make the course even better, Shiller and his team could recommend a bit supporting materials and literature for those who want to read on.

By XIAOXIA G

Jun 15, 2023

In the field of finance, theory helps us build financial instruments and systems. This tool system is like the engine of a car, there are many complex parts in it, and each part must be tightly seamed before it can function properly. However, there were bound to be problems when financial instruments were first invented. After many people, it took many years to practice and correct the problem, and then it was better and better. Eventually, there will be a sound set of theories. Finance is so important that you will find that successful rising countries generally have well-developed financial systems and institutions.

By Sara R

Nov 1, 2020

Me encanto el curso, creo que es moderno con las herramientas básicas para empezar a entender los mercados financieros y en qué consisten; fue un goce escuchar al profesor Schiller dar su cátedra. Gracias a Coursera por darnos esta oportunidad de escuchar una clase de boca de un premio Nobel.

I liked this course very much, I think its modern and gives you the basic skills to start to understand financial markets and what do they consist in. It was a real pleasure to listen to Professor Schiller give this class, Thanks to Coursera for giving us the opportunity to hear a course from the mouth of this Nobel Prize winner.

By Matthew

May 27, 2018

A course that builds strong foundations in financial principles. A lite foundation in financial theory is a suggested prerequisite, but the material is not overwhelming given the amount of readings, videos, and references. The best part about the course is the historical backstories of WHY financial principles and theories exists... many course simple explain WHAT they are, and how they're calculated. This course builds over hundreds of years to the present day and questions itself as it looks out towards the next 100 years. Highly recommended for anyone with even a budding interest in behavioral finance.

By Rishi M

Sep 5, 2020

Happy teacher day sir, Robert Shiller sir is a great sir and he taught very good his attitude is very good towards students and he is down to earth man he is the best teacher and person when he taught he give clear information about the points, it is my dream to meet this great teacher.. I have very happy that he taught me.. he is world to me, i have tell my friends that Shiller sir is a great teacher.. in this world very less people are left like a shiller sir who are very good and down to earth man.. I pray to good to help and give good health and life to shiller sir.. It look awkward but i love you sir,,

By Alex A

Jul 1, 2022

The Financial Market course lectured by professor Robert Shiller is an art of work, the Professor Shiller is so engaging. For those who are passionate about finance like myself, I am sure you will love it! The course is an invitation for thinking about developing tools in finance in order to optimize the quality of living for the whole society. When I started attending the course I could not stop doing, I was so addicted in a good sense that I got carried away by the course. Although I took the course in June 2022 and the course was given in 2016, it is timeless. Therefore, I strongly recommend it! 

By Fasil T S

Nov 19, 2022

wwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhathawwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatawwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwhawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwwawwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwwwwwhawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwwwwhatawwwhawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwwwwhatwhathawwwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwwwwhatwhatwhatwhawwwwhawwwhawwhawhatwwwwwwwhatwhatwhatwhatwhat a course!

By mbishibishi e

Jun 29, 2022

Save from digital currency, which is not discussed at all in the course, this is a fantastic 360-degree review of the traditional financial markets. Prof Shiller takes his students on a critical analysis of how people and financial institutions behave in the market. He examines different financial ideas and theories advocated and implemented over the course of the evolution of finance--why some failed and others appear to be doing better. And along the way, he offers crucial, eye-opening insights and advice to the layperson on personal finance in the increasingly complex financial markets.

By Juan C E P

Dec 27, 2020

Wonderful course on Financial Markets. I personally think the focus is on Financial Risk Management, which is great. I learned a lot and I am sure it will be very useful for success in my personal and professional life. I would appreciate it if you could update it and take us into account especially with the changes in the world economy that are warned with the global pandemic of SARS-2 (COVID-19) That we are currently living and that will definitely change the whole world as we knew it, especially regarding finances in general. Thanks to Professor Shiller for this magnificent course!

By ジョ ケイチョウ

Oct 12, 2023

Although I am a computer science major, I really enjoyed this course. Having curiosity about other fields, I took a course from Mr. Robert Shiller. The reason I recommend this course is to deepen your understanding of the fundamentals of finance by taking Robert Shiller's course, the history and development of finance, as well as the Q&A discussions with your partners. It is good for students who want to get started in finance. Personally, I think that the link content in the course is also very rich, and you have to read it carefully to realize the mystery of financial knowledge.

By Chris J B B

Jun 6, 2020

This course has taught me financial literacy. I have learned how financial markets work, how financial system, innovations, instruments, institutions function and perform their purpose in the society. I also learned the greater purpose of finance which does not only focuses on our self but on the bigger society. Everyone should engage themselves in financial activities because finance is not only for the rich. Everybody should be financially literate and learn how to manage their own risks not only for themselves but also to contribute for a better society and for the common good.

By Marco S

Mar 1, 2023

The course provides a broad overview of the financial markets and how they operate. In fact, the content covered in the course should ideally be taught in public schools, before people invest their money in any form, be it speculation, investment, or home buying. Since the financial markets and their trends are evolving rapidly, it would have been interesting to receive periodic updates from Mr. Shiller on the post-COVID situation. Overall, I have gained a lot from the course and would be happy to recommend it to others. Thank you for making this model accessible to the public.

By Beatriz C S

May 2, 2018

This course provides an overall vision about US's financial system mixed with basic financial concepts and it's an interesting introduction to behavioral finance. Professor's Robert Shiller lessons are clear, direct and unique.

The course is structured so that all the concepts are clear through a mix of lectures given by Professor Robert Shiller and more informal seminars with the students' discussions. The exams at the end of each lesson are useful to consolidate what has been learned.

I would recommend this course to anyone interested in getting to know the financial world.

By Curtis D

Feb 28, 2018

The course and Professor Schiller were both excellent! I am an engineer by training and I now realise how much I did not know about finance and how the world really works and what (finance) is gradually becoming more important in the global economy. This course provides a fundamental understanding of the financialisation and the financial instruments and tools that make our world better (options, trading, put-call, shorts, futures, banking, insurance, risk, crises, etc) and worse off, as well as the history behind these tools, market upsets, etc. etc. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.