Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
27,406 ratings

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

EM

Invalid date

This was really a great experience. A course taught by a valued teach. Enjoyed it all the way though I would have liked more mathematical and theoretical models. But then where do you end in a MOOC ?

BK

Invalid date

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 6,086 Reviews for Financial Markets

By yoraisi t

Jun 5, 2022

Maravilloso bendicGracias a todo el valioso, talentoso y digno equipo que acompaño en esta interesante travesía del conocimiento necesario de; Mercados Financieross y todo lo que incluye, agradecida por extender esa valiosa hasta mi humilde persona y país Venezuela. Agradecida por esa incentiva a quienes deseamos tener probidad en lo que emprendemos. Especialmente me siento complacida por el honor de haber logrado mi certificado de la maravillosa casa de estudios Universidad de Yale connecticut. Sobre todo por haber sido guiada por tan insigne, talentoso y humanista Profesor Robert "Bob" Shiller", me siento orgullosa de haber formado parte de sus estudiantes. Muy feliz y especial por su esfuerzo al incluir sabiamente "sensibilidad y humanismo" en un campo tan complejo respecto a la capitalización, que a veces endurece el alma. Bendiciones y reitero mil gracias a todos.iones a todos

By Mirko V

Jan 10, 2024

Many thoughts crossed my mind to write a proper review for this course, and after a long time spent thinking, the most appropriate comment is a simple thanks. This course has completely overcome all the expectations I could have had. It provides the required knowledge to understand - and be effective in - our societies and gives the proper tools to increase decision-making quality, both for personal and work-related situations. An honorable mention goes - without a doubt - to the great Professor Robert J. Shiller. What a charismatic and passionate teacher; he can transfer, through a single video, the intense interest he nurtures in Financial Markets. Beyond the meaningful improvement this course brought to my professional and private life, it revived the inner flame for knowledge. I could never be more satisfied and thankful. Thanks, Coursera. Thanks, Mr Shiller.

By Jincheng T

Jul 15, 2023

The Financial Market course provided by Prof. Robert J. Shiller is highly recommended for individuals seeking to establish a strong foundation in the field of finance. This course, suitable for both university students and early-stage young professionals, offers a comprehensive understanding of how the world of finance has evolved into its current state. One notable aspect of this course is its extensive coverage of US financial cases, which allows learners to delve into interesting stories and gain valuable insights from localized examples. As a recent graduate planning to embark on a career in finance, I found this course immensely captivating and enlightening, as it expanded my knowledge and perspectives within the domain. For those particularly intrigued by the historical aspects of finance, I strongly endorse taking advantage of this course on Coursera.

By Adnayeva G S

Oct 15, 2020

It’s a good online course in Finance that I have never learned before. I have gained the basic knowledge of financial markets and their applications in reality. Absolutely right, finance is not just about making money that I thought before joining in this course, and as a popular opinion as well, it is more than that, it has much more meaningful. This course has brought to me the necessary skills to make more rational decisions in my life, in my future career, I think. It’s also helped me to realize how I should work in this sector to serve the right purposes, to make the people living around me to be better. And it’s true that educational finance is very important to everyone. Professor Robert Shiller is an amazing teacher, many thanks to Professor Robert Shiller and Yale’s Financial Markets Course team. I highly recommend taking this course!

By MINHAZUL A

Oct 4, 2020

It’s a good online course in Finance that I have never learned before. I have gained the basic knowledge of financial markets and their applications in reality. Absolutely right, finance is not just about making money that I thought before joining in this course, and as a popular opinion as well, it is more than that, it has much more meaningful. This course has brought to me the necessary skills to make more rational decisions in my life, in my future career, I think. It’s also helped me to realize how I should work in this sector to serve the right purposes, to make the people living around me to be better. And it’s true that educational finance is very important to everyone. Professor Robert Shiller is an amazing teacher, many thanks to Professor Robert Shiller and Yale’s Financial Markets Course team. I highly recommend taking this course.

By furkan b

Sep 27, 2021

Kurs gerçekten faydalı. Finansın temeli nedir ve finans dediğimizde ne anlamalıyız gibi konulara değiniyor. Bir takım finansal araçların nasıl çıktığına, amacının ne olduğuna, tarihsel gelişimine değiniyor. Bu kurs finans öğrenmek isteyenler için temel nitelikte bir kurs. Özellikle finans demek kolayca para kazanmak demek değildir diye öğretmenimiz vurguluyor. Bundan dolayı, bu amaçla kayıt olmayınız. Finans öğrenmek istiyorsanız bu kursu alınız. Size finansın tarihini anlatıyor. Tabi, bir tarih kursu da değil. Sadece bilmeniz gereken kısmı anlatıyor. Ufuk açıcı bir kurs. Finansın ne kadar önemli olduğunu ve insanlığı buraya kadar getiren en önemli şeylerden biri olduğunu anlıyorsunuz. Hoca da espirili sevecen bir adam. Zaten bu kursu verebilecek sayılı insanlardan. Muhtemelen bu gibi bir kaynağı dünyaca ünlü üniversitelerden alabilirsiniz.

By Pradumn A

Nov 23, 2020

To utilise the unproductive weeks in this semi lock-down period I subscribed to this amazing course named "Financial Markets" by Prof. Robert Shiller, Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University & a Nobel Prize winner. This course was well equipped starter kit to understand how Financial Markets work & how Human Behaviour is Influenced by Finances.

This 7-week long course explained every founding stone of Financial Markets. For an instance I never knew there is something like "Representativeness Heuristic" which means "Tendency to see patterns in what is really random walk." Now this is what we learn from a Nobel Prize winner.

I would love to express my gratitude to Prof. Robert Shiller & Yale University and of course Coursera for narrowing down to the very basics and to educate people worldwide with the best of your teachings.

By Marc W

Jul 2, 2020

I think that Professor Shiller's presentation of finance was informative, innovative and insightful on the level you would expect from a Nobel prize winner. I did find it cryptic to deal with his information on the democratization of finance because of his contrasting view of the nature of human intelligence, i.e. that some are smarter then others. I realize that this view of an individuals intelligence is currently en vogue at universities. Without going into so much detail, I personally applaud recognizing the dilemma of supporting universals in the treatment of humankind collectively, while perhaps having a realistic assessment of limits. Being said, I also feel that this broad based course gave me enough of an overview to modern finance to hold a steadier course in my business career and personal life. Thank you Professor Shiller.

By Davidson M

Jul 9, 2024

Rating: ★★★★★ The Financial Markets course by Yale University, taught by Robert Shiller, is outstanding. The course structure is well-organized, progressing from basic to complex topics seamlessly. Instructor: Robert Shiller, a Nobel Laureate, is a brilliant thinker. His ability to make complex concepts accessible adds immense value to the course. Classroom Sessions and Interviews: The inclusion of classroom sessions and interviews adds a personal touch, offering practical insights and real-world applications. Assistant Contributions: The assistant's well-timed interruptions and explanations provide clarity and keep the content engaging. Overall Experience: This course is a must for anyone interested in financial markets, combining excellent structure, expert teaching, and practical insights. Highly recommended.

By Mar G A

Aug 5, 2018

It's a very insightful course on financial markets. Prof. Shiller is amazing. His knowledge and experience in the financial markets is truly amazing. He tells you the history and etymology, and the practical application of financial theories. I especially liked how the course included other finance industry leaders like Robert Ferguson, Lei Zhang, and Georgia Keohane. You get a different perspective of finance and how it has helped and shaped different regions and sectors of the society. I have so much appreciation with finance, before I thought it's just about making money, but it's only a part of that. As Prof. Shiller said, finance helped people's lives to become better, manage risks, and most importantly:

"Poverty is substantially due to unmanaged risks."

-Prof. Robert Shiller

By Danny J

Mar 30, 2021

This course was fantastic. It provides a general overview of various financial markets, but also delves into the finer details required to understand the subject matter. Dr. Shiller's expertise is part of what makes this course so beneficial. He draws on real world examples throughout the course and speaks directly to what's important about each lesson. The way the class is structed was also refreshing. There are traditional lectures, but then there are also segments where Dr. Shiller answers questions from his students, which made it a lot easier to digest. I plan on continuing my finance education now that I've completed this course, and I wish there were more classes exactly like this one available. Much respect to Dr. Shiller and Yale for providing this course for free.

By Arjun L

Apr 23, 2020

A well organised course taught by an esteemed figure in the field of finance. I was told to not under-estimate the abilities of Prof Shiller in making me understand the fundamentals and expert opinions of finance and boy was he right. It covers not only the stock market but every possible financial market that exists for the individuals to invest in and borrow from. It showed me how many avenues to raise funds or invest funds in are available that i didn't know about. This course made me even more eager to begin my career in Finance, which I hope to do so by 2021. Hopefully one day I will get the opportunity to meet Prof Shiller personally and discuss the ongoings of Finance at the time and I am sure he will have some interesting points to share, even then.

By Patrick F M C

Dec 8, 2018

This course was a very good introduction to finance. I was already involved in this market and this helped me to deeply understand the terms that I usually was involved with. This course helped me changed my focus of finance and how it can actually be used to benefit society and not just individuals. Robert Shiller is a very exceptional and entertaining lecturer. I found myself very interested into all the subjects and his explanations. Would definitely recommend the course for people who have basic knowledge of finance since this will really enhance what they already know. For new comers to the financial world, this course is very good although they will have to do research of their own to fully understand everything, which in my opinion is a good thing.

By Mehmet G

Aug 11, 2022

This course helped me refresh my knowledge of financial markets. The emphasis is on application of finance theory. Prof. Shiller covers almost all aspects of finance without getting lost in detail and theory. He also underlines the social responsibilities of finance people as hid did in his Yale graduation speech and his book: Finance and the Good Society. The course covers 18 lessons but each lesson contains 3-10 minute modules, making it easy to follow at one's own pace. Regular short quizzes help reinforce the learning. As an experienced finance profoessional dedicated to continuous learning, I think it is a golden chance to be able to take this course from Prof. Robert Shiller. Sincere thanks to Coursera and Prof. Shiller of Yale University.

By Jiaju L

Nov 16, 2020

Very useful course, comprehensive insights into financial settlements. Under a relay atmosphere, talking about different causes by using most general academic terms, so lots of straightforward simplification of the obscure conclusions by apply to various situation. Consistently stating rigorous words, many aspects connected past history to today’s more advanced and tech-developed society. Professor Shiller is a great economist also a experienced lecturer, such high quality course are just about to attract into the study of this financial world and give me “puzzles” to think and elaborate, also try to judge the rationality of all human beings and any state-owned organizations. I’m looking forward a further study and journey with Prof Shiller.

By Donald A

Jan 19, 2020

He puts forth a solid set of ideas, well-proven, well tested. He does not follow Fads, nor teach Fads. There are new, small-cap companies all over thew world. He focuses on the large, giant-size features of various markets, and profitable investments. He uses a balanced approach to teach a very large subject. All investments are subject to some risk, but wild, pure speculative plays into gold coins or hedge funds carry a much higher degree of risk (danger) than others. His systematic and holistic approach of teaching the fundamentals puts the new investors feet on solid ground. He gives us a clear mind to use Mutual funds (or Balanced funds) to make money with moderate returns (and Low risk) methods, with discipline and confidence.

By Ofiaeli D

Mar 1, 2023

This course was really helpful as it helped me understand some concepts that were unknown, also it has armed me with insights as to the different aspects of finance which would potentially lead to me making better decisions both for myself in the future and also to help better the society.

I want to appreciate Professor Shiller who took his time to teach this course and break it down in ways that made it interesting and easily understandable. it actually felt like I was in a physical classroom and it was a wonderful experience.

I recommend this course for anyone who wants to deeply understand the financial markets and also want to learn ways that they could do good for themselves and society using various financial vehicles available.

By Phil W

Sep 24, 2022

I feel very lucky to have seen Professor Shiller lecture via Coursera and think that the students that have met him and have him as their mentor are incredibly lucky. His lecturing style is so friendly and easy going that you can't help but want to listen to the next part in the 'financial story'.

One thing worth mentioning is that the level of Math required for this course is not basic, it requires a good knowledge of Algebraic equations to fully understand the formulae described by Professor Shiller to work out true values of companies etc.

That said, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this course to anyone interested in how the variety of financial markets are working around us and how they affect many different areas of their lives.

By Jose T V

Oct 6, 2020

After completing my masters, and thanks to quarantine I had some spare time to dig into a financial markets course. It is just what I expected, I truly enjoyed the classes and I think it is a really good quality course as it introduces the topic of finances and completely passes through its subtopics. It is a course that gives a good overview of the system, the current problems and gives good real life examples which can be related to. Topics are explained in a easy to understand way. I actually wanted some more deeper knowledge but for people trying to figure out the financial system or to get to know what finances is about this course rocks, with that being said I must give it 5 stars since it is a course well done for beginners.

By Felipe G

Mar 27, 2024

Esse curso foi muito importante para entender o mundo dos mercados financeiros, como funciona a parte financeira, as finanças e economias comportamentais, a fim de compreender o funcionamento real dos setores de títulos, seguros e bancos. Os ensinamentos dão uma visão geral de ideias e métodos para promover o gerenciamento de risco e o empreendedorismo, com a finalidade de tornar a sociedade em um lugar melhor. Fico muito honrado por ter feito esse curso com um professor tão sábio, que com suas aulas, abriu meus horizontes para os mercados financeiros, me dando muito conhecimento não só para esse tema em si, mas como são as pessoas que investem neles e o que podemos fazer para ajudá-las a fazerem boas escolhas.

By Million K

Aug 30, 2020

I attended the course from Ethiopia, where the government is drafting the first capital markets regulation. This course played a significant role in my understanding of the financial markets. Now I am no more foreign to the concepts of the capital markets and I can easily read and understand newsm views and events in capital markets. I highy recommend this course to those who plan to be part of the wider financial markets world. The professor has emmense ability in explaining the concepts of financial markets in very simple and day to day language. I had no language barier in attending this course as the professor was so simple and down to earth in explaining the course. I found this course to be invaluable.

By Maria A N S

Jun 27, 2020

4 words. I LOVE THIS COURSE. For me, it's truly an eye-opening experience. When I first enrolled, I hardly know anything about the financial market industry, but after taking this course now I can finally engage in discussions related to finance and I can actually voice my opinions. I also love how Professor Shiller teaches this course, I can immediately notice how much he mastered the field since week 1.

I also appreciate the chalk talk session very much, the students' questions successfully represent the voices inside my head. I hope other courses adapt this chalk talk session, that would be really helpful.

Thank you Professor Shiller and Coursera for keeping me productive while in quarantine!

By Thirupathi N V

Dec 13, 2020

Fabulous course in online education. From a knowledge prospective, II have learned about financial markets. Mr. Robert Shiller is one of the best economist and Nobel winner also. I strongly believe this course is useful day to day financial market activities in global market perspective. A lot of areas of modern financial were covered and many advanced economic examples also. Mr. Shiller talks about the historical economic context and given modern economic theory examples. Yale University is ranked #11 in Best Global Universities. I'm so glad I participated in this course. It was definitely time well spent, and I believe it adds immense value to anyone looking to understand Finance.

By Adeola O

Mar 10, 2018

This is a very great course. Before i took this course i had very little knowledge about the financial markets. Professor shiller has really opened my mind to the world of investment banking. I am going to pursue a career in Investment banking and Prof. Shiller has laid a perfect foundation for me.

The lessons were concise and interesting. The quizzes did a great job of testing my knowledge.

I am also very grateful to the Financial markets Coursera team for granting me the opportunity to take this course at no charges whatsoever. I got a financial aid and I'll be forever grateful to the team. Thank you guys!! I love you!! May God continue to grant all your heart desires!!

By KRISHNA K M

Apr 9, 2024

"Robert Shiller's Financial Markets course on Coursera is an absolute gem! Shiller's expertise in economics and finance shines through every lecture, offering a comprehensive understanding of the intricacies of financial markets. His ability to simplify complex concepts makes this course accessible to learners of all levels, whether you're a novice or an experienced investor. The blend of theory, real-world examples, and practical insights equips students with invaluable knowledge to navigate the dynamic landscape of financial markets with confidence. Highly recommended for anyone looking to enhance their understanding of finance and make informed investment decisions."