Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
17,321 ratings
4,029 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

JC
Aug 19, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

IH
Mar 9, 2021

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 3,997 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Dhruv B

Jun 25, 2020

Prof. Shiller is exuberantly amazing!, I mean got to learn a lot from this course, although I was a bit into finance already, still learned a lot of unknown things, his way of teaching is really good, specially the chat sessions, I loved the course, highly recommended!

By Rahul Y

Aug 16, 2019

Professor Shiller provides an amazing introduction to Financial Markets through this course. His experience in the field of Finance makes this course invaluable. The course focuses on teaching why finance is an essential part of human lives and how it drives economies.

By REGRAGUI A

Oct 15, 2017

An interesting and entertaining course about the basics of finance and financial markets. A good introduction to those who wants to discover this great world. It is an easy access course even for people who don't have deep knowledge in finance and financial calculus...

By Rajeswari.M

Aug 30, 2020

I am Prof. Rajeswari.M working in Loyola college at Chennai. I belong to a commerce background and I wanted to learn new concepts in finance. Really I learned a lot about the market situation and market functioning Financial Market is really a good and useful course.

By Wollfgang A

Oct 6, 2020

Es un gran curso, que requiere esfuerzo para entender la terminología financiera, pero con un poco de esfuerzo los resultados son excelentes.

It's a great course, requiring effort to understand financial terminology, but with a little effort the results are excellent.

By Antonello N

Jun 8, 2020

A very good course introductory course to finance. I have managed to follow the lessons very well even without any formal background in economics. Prof. Shiller is engaging and manages to explain some of the most alien concepts in finance with clarity and brilliance.

By Pablo T M

Jun 2, 2020

Great course with a great professor. The first lessons may be seen confusing sometimes if you don't have a financial background. I would recommend this course to have an overall idea of how markets work and understand they are not as perfect as we think the might be.

By Anand B

Oct 14, 2020

This course on Financial Markets is a good primer for anyone even for seasoned pros to sit back, look at a bit of history of how the markets got here as they appear today. A must course for all market enthusiasts. Professor's rendition is awesome and quite engaging!

By Sanchit G

May 19, 2020

The professor teaching this course is the best and the course layout is pretty awesome. It covers all the topics and is taught in a very interesting manner containing examples from day to day life. It encourages us to look at the people side of finance and economics

By Jesus R

Aug 10, 2020

This is one of the best courses I have ever seen. It's complete, extremely practical and Dr. Shiller explains every detail with great examples and interesting anecdotes. For any person willing to understand financial markets comprehensively, this course is for you.

By Davi F C

Aug 8, 2020

I could understand more about the financial markets after this course. Professor Shiller really knows how to engage and explain all the quirkys in the financial markets and how to deal with them. There are important features that I can understand after the classes.

By D'Arcy C

Jun 2, 2020

I enjoyed all of the course, the video platform and easily referable text made the course easier to navigate. I would welcome more calculations related to finance and financial valuations ... am now looking at next course options with those skill sets. Thank you!

By Marcos A d J

Jan 22, 2020

This is a great course, I work in the capital markets and doing the course I could learn a lot of theories and new concepts that sometimes it is difficult to learn only doing daily tasks, really enjoined the course and the time spent on it was really an investment.

By ABHISHEK S

Jul 17, 2020

Its one of the best courses on Coursera. It gives us a fundaemental knowledge of financial market. Prof. Robert Shiller has done an amazing job and kudos to the course designing team as well. A wonderful course even for those who are from non-economics background.

By Aditya C

May 7, 2020

This is a really good course, especially for beginners who would want to learn the basics of finance. It covers mostly all the aspects of finance. Also, Professor Shiller is a fantastic teacher and I would definitely recommend this course to everyone.

Best wishes,

By Siddhartha S

Oct 28, 2017

Cool course! Wish I could submit assignments without paying, I did that with other universities on this website, they're trying to make money from poor students ofcourse but content is pretty cool. Just audit it for free, no one cares about the certificate anyway!

By Chandra P S

Jun 4, 2020

This course provide a perfect study to revise and improve my understanding of finance as an MBA post-grad. The instructor very aptly make us understand the main philosophy behind the financial concepts as well as their fine application in the real world markets.

By Yugesh R

May 27, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and was extremely satisfied by Prof Shiller's lectures. The chalk talk helped to expound on certain ideas or financial lingo that seemed challenging to understand at first. Kudos to the team and hope to take another class by Yale!

By Hanumant K

Sep 15, 2019

Professor Shiller is a great economist and a great teacher, his broad knowledge and way of teaching is simply superb. I wish I had professors like him in my college. Nevertheless this course felt like directly sitting in the yale classroom and learning from him.

By Mellul J

Mar 10, 2018

robert shiller is a very good teacher

the course is complete

thank to coursera i have learned so many things with this video even if i am working in finance there are some important points to take in account

thank you yale and coursera for this amazing experience

By Emmanuel E V

Jan 17, 2021

I really think this course covers a wide scope of financial issue that goes beyond what people expect to see in any finance related course and hope to take a deep dive into another chapter of this wonderful course again or any related course in the near future

By Ejay W J

Aug 20, 2020

NO WORDS CAN DESCRIBE HOW HAPPY I AM JUST THE FACT TO ADQUIRE THOSE KNOWLEDGE AND THE POTENTIAL TO BECOME A BETTER PERSON AND ALSO HELP OTHER TO FULFILL THEIR DREAMS ITS MIND BLOWING TO ME.

THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN I'M TRULY GRATEFUL FOR YALE AND COURSERA FUNDATION

By Jesus F

Jul 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the opportunity to be a part of Robert J. Shiller's lectures. I'm excited by the possibilities and opportunities that a platform like Coursera can create. I have no doubt this new method of education will serve many across the world. Thank you!

By Anit K B

May 29, 2020

Absolutely loved the course! Very informative, fascinating and thorough. Prof. Shiller has been extremely engaging and has simplified even complex concepts for the learners. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking to expand their understanding of Finance.

By Hiba M

Oct 16, 2018

Professor Shiller explained all concepts thoroughly and precisely. He was able to carefully untangled the intricate, interconnected webs of the stock market, the global economy, and governance. I would wholeheartedly recommend this course to any peer who asked.