Chevron Left
Back to Financial Planning for Young Adults

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Planning for Young Adults by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
stars
506 ratings
127 reviews

About the Course

Financial Planning for Young Adults (FPYA), developed in partnership with the CFP Board, is designed to provide an introduction to basic financial planning concepts for young adults. The FPYA course is organized across eight separate modules within a 4-week window. Topics covered include financial goal setting, saving and investing, budgeting, financial risk, borrowing and credit. Because financial planning is such a personal topic, you will be encouraged to define your own financial goals and objectives while we discuss concepts and provide tools which can be applied in helping you reach those goals. Within each module, you will view a combination of traditional lecture style videos along with video vignettes that introduce financial topics for discussion among participants. The video vignettes provide a unique and exciting component to this course. Each vignette introduces a real-world scenario where financial decisions must be made and financial planning concepts can be applied. You will be challenged to think critically about each scenario and decide how you might come to a resolution if ever faced with a similar situation. Finally, the course also includes material throughout which is focused on career opportunities in financial planning, including video interviews with actual CFP® professionals and other professionals working in this exciting and growing career area. The final module in the class is devoted to the topic of financial planning as a career....

Top reviews

DH
Dec 20, 2020

What a wonderful introduction to financial concepts and the world of personal finance. If you take this course, you will learn something new every week and will not be disappointed!

SS
Jun 21, 2020

I really enjoyed the course throughout its duration, the teachers are easy to understand even for a non-english (I'm Italian). I look forward to put the skills I've acquired to use!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 128 Reviews for Financial Planning for Young Adults

By NWEKE C S

Jul 15, 2020

it was am interesting class

By Alyssa L

Dec 18, 2020

This course is awesome. =)

By YOGITA B

Jan 30, 2021

Extraordinary course.

By Antonio K

Jun 22, 2017

Thank you so much!

By URAJ S

Jun 14, 2017

Wonderful course!!

By S S

Jul 12, 2020

highly satisfied

By Jiaqi W

Feb 3, 2021

useful courses

By Fajrin S C

Jun 18, 2020

Great course!

By Kasidis S

Jan 30, 2021

Recommended!

By Ahmet A

Jan 27, 2021

Great Course

By Hind S

Aug 23, 2020

very helpful

By Shubham A

Jun 14, 2020

Its nyc.

By deepali g

Jun 15, 2020

Useful

By Aloke G

Apr 3, 2020

Thanks

By Christian G d S L

Aug 26, 2020

Great

By Bianca Y R O

Feb 19, 2021

Good

By Mehedi H B

Jan 29, 2021

Good

By Adele c

Jul 29, 2020

good

By GABRIEL J E

Jul 7, 2020

good

By Mohammad k

Jun 13, 2020

..

By SUMED M

May 16, 2020

i

By אלינה ש

Feb 13, 2021

The course gave the basics of financial planning to those who are just stepping in the world of adulthood and are in need of this valuable information. The lecturers were professional and managed to explain the material in a clear and concise way. I enjoyed the peer rated assignments as it motivated me to keep learning and kept me interested and engaged with the material. I wish to be a way to receive notifications from peers in a forum- so the discussion of a topic would flow. Often, I would engage in a conversation and wouldn’t receive a response. Finally, although all the modules were interesting, I think the investments modules were not as relevant to the basics of financial planning as budgeting and credit, on which I would have like to get more insight. Overall, the course was deliverers in a great way and it surely helped me get a sense of financial management! I’m thankful to everyone for their contribution to the course.

By Jared C

Jun 11, 2020

A very good introductory course, especially for young adults. Most experienced individuals will likely have a lot of the knowledge presented. If you have an interest in Financial Planning and want to know what it is about I recommend the course. If you are fixing to graduate and start your work career then I recommend the course. If you are someone that likes financial planning, has read multiple books on the subject, and always looking to learn more about it the material may be already known by you.

By Oshshepkova P

Feb 22, 2021

I think that this course might be useful for kids as the information is really basic. The first week, maybe the second might be helpful (you are given an example of a balance sheet, a way to create a financial goal), other weeks are just to get a hint of the concept of credits, investing and insurance. If you ever read a book about finance or watched videos, that course is not for you.